We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting is kind”
Review of Stone Cradle - CLOSED

Stone Cradle
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disgusting is kind”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The food was soooo incredibly bad. The fact that any decent reviews have been received is only attributable to fellow South Africans (with respect) who don't know better. The sushi rice was under cooked, the salmon was so thin, a magnifying glass wouldn't have helped and the soy sauce was bizarrely thick, a bit like a muddy pool. The whole fish was RAW, the counter called 'cold tapas' had lettuce, olives, tomato, feta etc. FYI to the owners - this is usually called a salad bar. Every piece of venison I tried was so tough, it would have been better suited to a Hyena. The dessert had items like Sago which had the potential to glue your inners together. Horrible horrible. If you have something called a palate - stay away.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    43
    21
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were a party of 3 eating a-la-carte breakfast on the stoep on a winter morning. We ordered different omlettes with tea and coffee. The omlettes were very large and more then enough. My omlette was filled with small sweet tomatoes and on the plate was a balsamic vinegratte. It was absolutely fluffy and full of flavour. I has a askoek bread with it instaed of toast and it was a wonderful taste with the omlette. My friends had cheese omlettes with a pesto vineagret that were rich and flavourfull. The service was very good and friendly. The view was lovely. I will visit again. The bill was about R200 excluding the tip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jagluiperd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A More than Good Place”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We enjoyed our evening here, the buffet is extensive and caters for each taste. The home made beer tasted great....all in all a very enjoyable evening, even though the waiters was very slow, the service at the buffet is good!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MdVSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sunday Best”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Can never go wrong with a visit to Stone Cradle. The menu is so vast that you will take a year to have sampled the wide range of tastes. Always friendly and a wonderful place for the whole family.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Midgie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Buffet”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We recently went to the Stone Cradle and were very impressed by their buffet selection, which even included sushi. The food was good, and the service was impressive. The house wine and house lager were both very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Cradle also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing