We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishmonger”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fishmonger

Fishmonger
Ranked #3 of 153 Restaurants in Centurion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Premium seafood restaurant specialising in fresh seafood and sushi. We also cater for meat lovers and vegetarians
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fishmonger”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Excellent seafood and sushi
Friendly service
highly recommended
nice outside area
............................

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank riaan_dewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    20
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Have eaten there many times and its always enjoyable !”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have eaten at the Fishmonger many times, both with my wife as well as my 2 kids. The food is always good ! I have always eaten Sushi there, and to be honest the only reason why it is 4 stars and not 5 is purely due to the fact that they have not had any Tuna in the restaurant for probably 9 months, so when you go to eat sushi, you are seriously limited with regards to what you can have when it comes to sushi !

All in all, not too bad

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent in all respects”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I had lunch at Fishmonger yesterday and was once again impressed. This is a restaurant I visit regularly and definitely one of the best in Centurion. On this occasion I had a hake & calamari combo. Both the hake and calamari were just perfect. Presentation is good, though not as fancy (read pretentious) as you might find at some other restaurants. Portion sizes are generous and overall the place is fantastic value for money. Service is also excellent and one of the owners is usually available and constantly involved.

I've probably eaten at this restaurant 20 or so times and have never had a bad experience. I've tried a wide variety of items on their menu and the food is always just right. Decent size portions, perfectly prepared, just doing the basics exceptionally well.

My #1 tip for Fishmonger: Try the Kingklip Curry. It is divine.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Bulave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durbanville, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Menu”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

When i first came to the Fishmonger i was not impressed by the decor, but the menu and the quality of the food made up for it, a true gem in Centurion.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Carlos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good Food and Excellent Service”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

One of the outstanding restaurants in Centurion. A good menu with a wide choice with the main focus on fish and sushi dishes. The hospitality and service exceptional. From the moment that you arrive you are made to feel welcome by either Rosaria or Luis. Well worth a visit! Food prepared by their son Nelson Goncalves.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank knowtel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishmonger also viewed

 
Centurion, Gauteng
 

Been to Fishmonger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing