We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Entirley Happy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greenlea Guest House
Ranked #11 of 79 Centurion B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My experience at Greenlea Guest house was rather unpleasant , very noisy experience day and night. The breakfasts also was very disappointing for a four star Guest House rating. The rooms were comfortable , but no bath, so when booking please ask whether there are rooms with baths.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Belinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianneRichards, Owner at Greenlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your review. Please keep in mind that our luxury rooms have baths and are away from the hustle and bustle of an operating owner run guest house. We appreciate your comments and will take it on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 96 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

It's a good place to get some work done after work, as it is very quiet and provides a decent internet connection. Furthermore, the host is very friendly and helpful and always up for a chat. After a few days it felt like a home away from home. For our next trips we will stay again at Greenlea, as it is ideal for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernhard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianneRichards, Owner at Greenlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Greenlea! Our aim is to make all guests feel at home and comfortable. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I really enjoyed my short stay at this place. I travel to Centurion quite a bit and I know where I will be heading when I am in town. The room is very generous with its courtesy bar fridge, fold away work area and refreshment station. Lovely comfortable bed for a good nights sleep and huge bath and shower cubicle.
The breakfast service could be improved. With the kitchen area being removed from the breakfast area I was not able to request some small things without shouting for someone downstairs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Obru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianneRichards, Owner at Greenlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for your review and positive feedback. We are looking forward to your next visit and will be sure to take suggestions into account.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Really friendly family run outfit. Enjoyed my stay and will not hesitate to return on my next visit to Pretoria. Helped me whenever I needed it without looking like they are being put out. Great coffee.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruaridhconnellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianneRichards, Owner at Greenlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to do a review and for the positive feedback. It is our mission to please our guests and no request will "put us out" or be too much effort. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We arrived at Greenlea after a long drive up from Port Elizabeth, and easily found the place with directions supplied.
Our first impressions were extremely favourable - An enormous, beautiful and tranquil mature garden with pool, a trampoline and a jungle gym with tree house for our two young girls to clamber on. We felt like we were in the countryside. The room was also top class . We had a room with private bathroom and terrace in the annexe away from the main house - an antique teak 4 poster bed for us, and Marianne arranged a spare bed and mattress for our two daughters in the same room. All of us slept extremely well. The room had a well stocked mini bar, a decent sized flat screen with satellite to watch the rugby and view straight out onto the garden to watch the children play - what more could one want?(Actually the free WiFi was a bonus as well!) There is a well equipped shared kitchen in the annexe and facilities to braii / have a big fire in a charming Boma in the garden if one wishes . A nice touch is also the take out menu provided which delivers from a variety of local restaurants if one is feeling lazy.
We took advantage of the breakfast the 2 days whilst we stayed - Nicely presented and served with a smile in the main house dining area. It was perfect for what we wanted - seasonal fresh fruit salad, a choice of several cereals and yogurts with unlimited tea and coffee, followed by bacon or sausage with eggs and toast.
The hosts themselves, Bruce and Marianne, couldn t have been more helpful in tips for local restaurants/things to do, or more accommodating in helping out where possible (eg we were granted a late check out at the last minute with no fuss when our departing flight time was changed for example) .
All in all a great experience.
Pros - Large well equipped rooms and bathrooms - all tastefully decorated yet modern, good cooking facilities if required, nice breakfast, the neighbourhood and villa are very secure, good privacy, charming hosts and the amazing garden/play area. Plenty of parking inside the complex. The photos on the website don t do justice to the surroundings.
Cons - Couldnt stay longer.

Room Tip: We only saw our room at the far end of the property from the main house but couldn t have asked for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jelly71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianneRichards, Owner at Greenlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at Greenlea! We aim to please our guests with warm, friendly service and facilities to match. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

As an international traveller, I was delighted to arrive at Greenlea and I couldn't have been more happier. From my greeting, to the gorgeous grounds and ambience, and a very comfortable and relaxing room, I felt immediately at ease and relaxed. I enjoyed the service, the ability to rest and even the chance to work (at odd hours due to time zones) and the privacy to do so. I thoroughly recommend Greenlea for any overseas visitor!

Room Tip: Ask for the front cottage area in the gardens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxV870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianneRichards, Owner at Greenlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for your valued feedback. Looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

A great location, beautiful apartment - nicely furnished with all mod cons,sat tv, internet access,well stocked fridge, beautiful gardens, with swimming pool, quiet and tranquil, very welcoming. A relaxing place to stay for business or pleasure

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianneRichards, Owner at Greenlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for your valued feedback. Looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Centurion hotels
0.7 mi away
African Pride Irene Country Lodge
1.8 mi away
Road Lodge Centurion
Road Lodge Centurion
#10 of 10 in Centurion
45 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pilgrims Delight B&B
Pilgrims Delight B&B
#5 of 79 in Centurion
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Route 511 Guesthouse
Route 511 Guesthouse
#23 of 79 in Centurion
9 reviews
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotels Pretoria Centurion
2.6 mi away
Accommodation at Van's
Accommodation at Van's
#1 of 79 in Centurion
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenlea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenlea Guest House

Address: 42 King Street | Irene, Centurion 0157, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Centurion
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Centurion
Price Range: $71 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenlea Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenlea Guesthouse eco-friendly accommodation offers a true "country escape" within the city. Eight beautifully furnished en-suite bedrooms overlook tree-tops and an abundance of bird-life. The guest house also has a conference venue/ executive meeting facility for a maximum of 10 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Greenlea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing