We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegan/Vegetarian Options!”
Review of The Beach Hut

The Beach Hut
Ranked #17 of 78 Restaurants in Ballito
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Ballitos Old Favourite, with new owners, owner managed and a new Head Chef. Freshly prepared breakfast and lunch from locally sourced produce. Enjoy the relaxed beach vibes while soaking in the sea air. Scrumptious food, friendly service and a relaxed environment. We are now AIR CONDITIONED! So join us to cool off, have a great meal, and a cold one. Our handcut chips are worth the trip and our pancakes are unofrgetable.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Vegan/Vegetarian Options!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

My fiancé and I are vegan, which makes it difficult sometimes hard to find restaurants that have options for us. Normally we have to order sides and create a meal. We were delighted to find that The Beach Hut had several vegetarian/vegan options, along with a vegetable sandwich and pasta. Both had loads of grilled veggies. The fries (or chips, like they call them in South Africa) were nice and thick, and my sandwich also came with a side salad. The portions were generous, the service was amazing, the price was great, and the decor is clean and fresh. It was great to have something different here… A wonderful addition to Ballito!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CynH525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    20
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best food this year”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

What a pleasant experience! Staff are friendly, decor is awesome and makes you feel right at home. Then, when you think it couldn't get better, your food arrives. Five star quality food, best rump steak I've had in a long time. Give them a visit, one taste and they'll be slotted right in to your regular date night schedule. Brilliant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballito
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A fabulous find...”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

A new little spot just opened...I'm wondering how long us locals can keep this little gem a secret? We went for breakfast....what a fabulously varied breakfast menu! Everything from traditional (bacon & eggs) to the eclectic (haggis & black pudding)...and all the good stuff in between! Fabulous coffee & a lovely display of fresh pastries, brownies & cakes... This has spot has been under various owners over the years...with the same old tired decor & offerings.....until now. It's amazing what a fresh perspective can do! The place was buzzing...despite only been open for 2 weeks. ..definately going to be on our list of places to go when we eat local!

Helpful?
1 Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Rock, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Magic little Cafe/ Coffee shop”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We spotted the Beach Hut Café on Saturday afternoon while we were looking for a sandwich and a glass of wine! We found the best spot in Ballito the waitress offered to pop to the bottle store to buy us a bottle of wine as they are still waiting for licence (no corkage) we ordered the most delicious sandwich home made bread, with salad and chips and beautiful homemade mayo. The food was perfect and what good value for money. We will defiantly be visiting the Beach Hut Café again and the décor is perfect.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SueStiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious experience in every way!!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This place is awesome value for money!!! Brekkies look incredible!!! We had a delicious lunch!! Phenomenal fish and chips and artisan bread toasted samies are a must!!! Very excited about this new addition to Balito!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoopsRodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Hut also viewed

 
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to The Beach Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing