We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood platter yum yum”

The Galley Beach Bar and Grill
Ranked #15 of 88 Restaurants in Ballito
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Situated Right on The Beach.Specialising in relaxed Seafood dining.The Galley offers spectacular views of the ocean. Boasting 2 outdoor decks where one can sit and watch the dolphins go by whilst sipping on cocktails and eating wild KZN rock oysters , or for more formal dining sit in our main dining room with ocean views from every table .For the young at heart try our Long Board Oyster & Cocktail bar with juke box & large screen TVs. We are child friendly with a kiddies menu and play area & also pet friendly on our outside decks with a Canine Cuisine menu for our four legged friends. We are not a fast food Restaurant but a laid back Island Style Beach Restaurant where one comes to Relax and Enjoy the views of the Ocean whilst savouring some of The Best Seafood on The Beach.
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Excellent seafood platters. Food does take long, but they do warn u about the 1 hour wait...maybe order ahead!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rennnypenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galley B, Owner at The Galley Beach Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thanks for your great review.All our meals are freshly made to order hence the wait.Glad you enjoyed.Regards Mark & Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 314 of 376 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

This restaurant is on the beachfront and is a lovely setting for dinner on the verandah. The place was packed and obviously very popular. My husband had Calamari and I had a Chicken and Prawn Curry, which was tasty and not too hot. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal - the setting, the food and drink all made for a good night out. We will definitely go there again on our next visit to Ballito and will recommend it to our friends and family.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galley B, Owner at The Galley Beach Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thanks Jenny, glad to hear you enjoyed our hospitality and views.Regards Mark & Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Wow the food was excellent and the view breath-taking. Love it there. Its like you sitting on the beach.

1  Thank NevilleJacobsohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galley B, Owner at The Galley Beach Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thanks Neville, next time you are in Ballito try Jens new addition to our Menu , her homemade Pickled Fish.Regards Mark & Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

If you want to go to a place where you can chill for the afternoon, sip on your beer and have amazing snacks... try Galley Beach Bar and Grill. I don't give 5 stars out easily but the food was truly amazing, service was just as brilliant and the setting was a view from heaven. Give this place a try.. you won't be sorry (ph the chicken livers is a must)

1  Thank JoseDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galley B, Owner at The Galley Beach Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Wow Jose Thanks for the 5 stars. Being a Porra you need to try our new addition to our starters menu Jennys home made Crab Cakes with wasabi mayo and chiili dip. Would love to hear what you think of them . Regards Mark & Jen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The view of the sea is something that you cannot get at many other ballito restaurants .We tried the seafood platter and it was delicious,the presentation of food is not clumsy but beautiful and the waitrons were friendly and welcoming.For seafood it provides good value for money

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Flitz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galley B, Owner at The Galley Beach Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you so much.Our aim is to give our clients good service , good food and good memories. Regards Mark & Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Galley Beach Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to The Galley Beach Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing