We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Reviewed October 29, 2006

We have just returned from one of our regular visits to South Africa and visited Durban for the first time. We were advised not to stay in the city and chose the Zimbali Lodge with the attraction of the golf course just in case my husband got bored!
From our arrival to our departure yesterday we can honestly say the service from the staff was excellent. They are efficient and extremely friendly and what amazed us was the fact that they remembered our names! The rooms are in lodges set apart which allowed privacy furnished in dark wood, nice shower and bath with Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries. Our room did not have a sea view (although you could see a glimpse) but the setting is truly tranquil and private. It was surrounded by beautiful trees and the sounds of the birds and wildlife was lovely, looking over the balcony yesterday morning a bushbuck was lying there quietly underneath our room - truly african. Each night the room porter would light the candle in the entrance of the room and leave rose petals and chocolates on the bed which was turned down. Personally we did not find the bed uncomfortable at all.
The restaurant food and service was excellent and the curry was delicious. Very unhurried and beautifully presented. We used the pool at the beach and found no problems with this or the complimentary shuttle bus to get there. When booking the hotel we had arranged a day tour to the Battlefields and on our arrival at the hotel they had already organised a packed breakfast due to our early departure at 6am.
Overall we would most definitely return and thank all the staff for such an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Makalolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 431 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2006

After the long flight from London and a connection to Durban, our arrival at Zimbali Lodge was an absolute delight.

The spacious, comfortable and well furnished rooms are in small blocks set in semitropical grounds, with large terraces from which the multi-coloured wild birds were a joy to watch.

The hotel enjoys a raised location and the infinity pool leads the eye over the glorious sea below, beside which wild monkeys can be found playing in the trees and on the beach.

Standards are first class, the restaurant is excellent (try the curries!) and the ambience is just so peaceful.

I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank sold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2006

Understated balinese elegance, tranquil forest surrounds, huge room and bathroom, romantic and luxurious

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jozidoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London, England
233
Reviewed October 30, 2005

We spent a month touring South Africa, the last area being KwaZulu-Natal. We spent 4 nights here and were very dissapointed. The rooms were damp and very musty. The beds were the hardest ever experienced. I even put the spare blanket under the sheet in an attempt to make it slightly softer. Bathrooms were well equipped. Tea & coffee making facilities available in the rooms. The pool towels were sparce; it was a struggle to obtain a replacement for your wet one. They take you down to the beach pool area by buggy as it is a very long walk, up hill all the way back. It would have been useful to have had more frequent buggy trips, as the carts only took 4-6 people at a time so you usually had a very long wait. That having been said, the infinity pool was in a beautiful setting although the water absolutely FREEZING. It was wonderful to be woken each morning by weaver birds busy making their little homes. They were amazing to watch. The hotel/golf gardens were very lush and beautiful; wonderful to walk around. No swimming in the sea due to the sharks. Security is good around the hotel grounds. The hotel staff were indifferent, except on the last evening and morning of our departure, when suddenly, it seemed, they couldn't do enough.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
The Netherlands
39
Reviewed August 29, 2005

This is a great Hotel and one of the best of South Africa. The rooms are superb: balcony with spectacular jungle/ocean view, lots of space and a beautiful bathroom. But probably best are all the numerous facilities: the most beautiful swimming pools I’ve ever seen, an excellent breakfast buffet, the staff (they'll drive you around in golf carts), the golf resort and the jungle park with monkey’s and other wild live.
This is a first class hotel that aims to be a member of the world leading hotels. The only note of critic that I can think of is that staff is too polite for people of my age (near thirty), there is really a big cap between them and the guests, but I’m sure that lots of people will also like it this way. Besides that, a great hotel that’s really worth the money!

  • Stayed: February 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2005

My only regret with Zimbali is that I only booked one night there. The rooms were beautiful, dark wood furniture, roll top baths, walk in shower and balconies surrounded by forest.

The staff were fantastic and the breakfast was the most impressive I have seen anywhere else in the world!

A private car will take you the few minutes down through the nature reserve to the private beach where you can see for miles along the wild, impressive coastline. There is also the second of the hotel's pools down by the beach with it's own beach bar and restaurant. The infinity pool at the actual lodge is a work of art - so good you don't want to disturb the water!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank natB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ik raad niemand de lodge aan. Echt verouderd en weinig te doen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
14.3 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,922 reviews
14.2 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,157 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
373 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 43 in Durban
1,514 reviews
14.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Zimbali Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Address: Zimbali Estate | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Price Range: $112 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Zimbali Hotel
Zimbali Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing