We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Lodge, awesome breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Staying at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge was part of my 50th birthday present from my husband, which was a cross country tour of our beautiful country. This lodge is stunning, rooms are very spacious and airy with beautiful views. The staff were very friendly and professional. Their presentation of their breakfast is truly awesome, I was immediately hooked when I saw it. It was out of this world! Such a pity that we could only stay one night but we will be back again some day. We will definitely recommend Fairmont Zimbali Lodge to all our family and friends!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melody02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontZimbaliLodge, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for sharing such a special occassion with our team! We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your birthday tour accross the country just as much.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 437 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel could not be faulted - food was excellent, room with the sea view was stunning, staff were friendly and helpful. Would love to go there again but don't think I ever will as a long way to go and pricey!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maturetravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were disgusted by the quality of this hotel. This is meant to be a five star hotel, we paid a lot of money to stay here and we were really looking forward to our relaxing stay. On arrival the hotel looks impressive, but don't be fooled. I don't know where to start with the quality of our room, the air con did not work, there were BLOOD stains on the bathroom walls and the bedding, the room was filthy covered in dust and dirt, the bed had cobwebs on it, the bed also had a huge crack down the back board, there was a sharp rusty hook hanging from the ceiling, which i'm guessing is used for mosquito nets but it looks like a meat hook! The balcony door did not close properly. We have photographic evidence of all these faults.

We put some laundry in and we were informed it would be back by the end of the day, it arrived the next evening.

Hotel staff get around the resort in golf buggies, the staff seem to think these buggies are racing cars and they zoom around the resort in them, racing each other, we had to jump out of their way on several occasions, once falling into a bush to avoid being hit!!!

The pool side bar/restaurant staff just cannot be bothered, they seem unhappy to be working at the hotel and the food choice and taste is very poor.

An hour into leaving the hotel my partner realised that he had stupidly left money in the safe, we rang the hotel to inform them so we could collect it and the hotel claimed the money was not there!!! This was only an hour after we had left!!!

The positive of this hotel is that the breakfast is really nice with lots of choice and we received a friendly service in the morning.

Ballito itself is a very built up beach area, we were informed by the locals that Ballito is a place where students come after they have finished their A levels to party, so a bit like Magaluf/Ibiza! It is not a beautiful relaxing beach town like we were sold it to be.

I strongly suggest you do not waste your money on this hotel or this area, we heard lots of positive comments about St Lucia in South Africa, so if you want a beach, maybe go there instead.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BubbleandSqueak_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Guest expects to be helped in a courteous and professional manner upon entering an establishment rated as high as Fairmont Zimbali Lodge & Resort. When the expectations are not met, low ratings are submitted on the company's website for the entire world to see, but what about the good service?

My wife and I recently came to your establishment (i.e.: Fairmont Zimbali Lodge). Our experience was one of the most satisfying we have ever enjoyed. Other than the fabulous spaces and a healthy environment you have created.

What reached to us the most was the manner in which staff interacted with us. The service went far above and beyond our expectations.
•We were simply blown away by porters response time,
•The stuff who were singing on the night of August 17, 2013 at Coral Tree Restaurant while we were having dinner.
•We enjoyed breakfast at Thandi Restaurant and from an Architectural perspective the use of material and the relationship between the spaces in the lodge and their interaction with the natural environment really created a homey feeling. Also the smart way in which they dealt with Sun angles in the morning (i.e.: Thandi restaurant is facing East) makes the space comfortable in the morning.
•Reception Staff at the lodge & Resort was very helpful.
•Rooms were very spacious and well maintatined also very clean.
•Staff really went out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed our stay at Zimbali Lodge.
•Turndown Service was amazing even the possability of requestiong it to be at the time that will suite us was just very good.

Fairmont Zimbali Lodge & Resort, does everything you claim you do, and you do it with a smile. We are one satisfied customers, and will continue to be for years to come.
Thank you for an excellent service.

Room Tip: Rooms at the Lodge are more private and quieter. Fairmont Lodge is Located in a natural forest with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lungelo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontZimbaliLodge, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. From your review it is very evident that our staff are living up to the Fairmont Service Promise of turning moments into memories for our guests.

We hope that you will be visiting us again soon.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The stay at the lodge for a weekend in July turned out to be a bad experience. The location is awesome but that is where it ended. Breakfast was not a five star experience, breakfast room dirty , dusty and in bad condition, the same as the service. Room service did not attend to the room in the evening, no beds were turned and no fresh towels. Pool desk never has towels to issue if they have they then don't have a pen to sign for the towels. Our soaps and shower gels were never replaced during our two night stay. Our reserved deposit was never released, I had to asked the bank to do it myself after waiting for two weeks for the Lodge to do it, and after I asked them when checking out if they have released the funds.

Room Tip: A room with a view in the forest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Archibald N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for bringing your dissatisfaction to my attention.

I trust that you have received the communication from my office and that you are satisfied with the contents thereof.

Should you have any further queries please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,
Mark Sawkins

General Manager
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

mark.sawkins@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

A short stay at the end of July was a wonderful experience at this Hotel. The Staff were extremeluy professional - from the pick up at the airport to last detail reagrding our requirements. The rooms were very spacious , well maintained , clean and had beautiful views. The Restaurant was equally good - the food was well prepared and the selection tehy offer on "Curry Evening" is amazing. Altough it is quite walk to the beach area( if you don't use the Golf Carts) it is still a wonderful area next to the beach.Clean , well kept and great for kids to play in teh pools - also great security on teh beach itself.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and stay in the Ocean View Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bathawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback. It is much appreciated.

Our staff are hand picked and extensively trained, so it is always wonderful to see them and their talents recognised in such a public forum.

I hope that you will visit the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge again soon.

Kind Regards,
Mark Sawkins

General Manager
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Beautiful private rooms. Fantastic food. Great service. Restaurants are on the slightly pricey side, but the quality is excellent!
The staff really go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible, while staying out of your way to make it as private as possible!
We parked our car and saw no need to leave the Zimbali estate for the 3 nights of our stay. Beautiful to explore the grounds. Fantastic infinity pools both at the lodge and right on the beach (20 min walk away). Great bird life to observe. Plenty to do if you want to (visit the resort, play tennis, walks, runs, etc), perfect to do nothing if you prefer (good book on your room's balcony, lounge by the pool, etc).
Very restful holiday for us!

Room Tip: Each "section" of rooms is divided into an upstairs and downstairs. Take upstairs if possi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sal1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontZimbaliLodge, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback on your stay. It is always wonderful to receive guest comments as it helps us to ensure that we are providing our guests with the best possible service and product.

We are glad that you enjoyed the eco experience, from the balcony in the forest to the waterfall and scenery. The linen card which you mentioned is part of our environmental efforts to reduce our carbon footprint.

Your comments on the menu selection for long stay guests has been noted, and the Thandi team are working on an extended menu to address this challenge.

We hope that you enjoyed the extension to your trip, and that you will visit again on your next trip to South Africa.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
14.3 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,944 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
106 reviews
14.2 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 44 in Durban
1,529 reviews
14.9 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
380 reviews
14.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Zimbali Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Address: Zimbali Estate | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Price Range: $122 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Zimbali Hotel
Zimbali Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing