We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only "pro" : setting ! Forget service !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“The only "pro" : setting ! Forget service !”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had been several times to Zimbali lodge / resort before and liked it. This time the bad adventure started when booking : by phone we were told that everything was outbooked and trough the website we found two rooms !?! upon arrival we noticed that since our last stay some years ago nothing had been invested in the rooms , not even paint.... One of the reasons to come here is the existence of a fine restaurant in Z lodge. But guess what : it was reserved for a private function on one evening, closed the second and fully booked the third...... In the restaurant where we could dine, their was "no table available" at our arrival. Which simply was a lie : when we insisted, we got afine table and several more were empty during the evening. Lying is a feature that staff ( senior staff !) seems to learn : when we needed a shuttle from beach to hotel we were told that it left some minutes ago. It arrived more than an hour and three more calls later..... When confronted with her evident lie, the receptionist did not apologize. More : the manager on duty, visibly unpleased to be confronted by angry guests, simply gave us a cold stare and did nothing as positive action for us. Never ever again will we stay in this hotel that is, let's say it again, in a beautiful position if you like to live in a rain-forest. Shame on Fairmont ! Poorest staff in ZA.....

Room Tip: Don't book a suite : it is as shabby dirty and outdated as the other rooms for 4times the price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    98
    82
    32
    23
See reviews for
70
192
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
187 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in 2 units in the lodge. Both with 2 bedrooms and self-catering facilities. Well appointed & spacious. 3 LCD TV's in unit. Wifi signal medium. Lodge dining rather expensive but very good quality. Such a spectacular setting with lovely walk to the beach. Tennis courts, gym & spa available for use. BMW bicycles in good condition and free to use throughout resort. Delicatessen at Fairmont hotel serves delicious Lavazza cappuccino's. Very close to Ballito for supplies & shopping. Fairmont hotel has stunning views from main entrance & bar. Overall a wonderful way to relax surrounded by coastal forests.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBabeSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontZimbaliLodge, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted that you had a chance to experience the facilities at both our hotels on the estate.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards
The Fairmont Zimbali Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed at the hotel and not the lodge , room was very good with view of the ocean and swimming pool, a average food quality and front desk staff, incompetent staff can be painful to guest experience especially on checking in if you booked via phone and later discover you been charger more unless to highlighted so be caution. but overall it was a good stay to enjoy the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khalil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontZimbaliLodge, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for highlighting the concern regarding your booking. Could you please contact our Reservations Department on +27325385000 or zim.reservations@fairmont.com so that we can look into your concern and resolve the problem.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I think the title says it all. The food was very good, and the rooms were more than ample. The place however is let down by the overbearing staff. It was a bit confusing at checkin, as it was less than personal. Yes I would go back, but not run to it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelS1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyalami
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We booked at Zimbali Lodge as we were told that Zimbali Resort was where families with children stayed and that the lodge would be quieter but during the day, a lot people came up from the Resort to use the lodge pool and it became very busy and noisy.Most days we could not find an empty lounger by the pool.
Would not go in December or early January again as it was too full and too noisy for a romantic weekend.
The grounds are very beautiful and the staff are very friendly.We had a room with a forest view.The room was in need of an upgrade but it was comfortable and clean with a good air conditioner (it is really hot and humid in Ballito in December).

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayne and Mari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontZimbaliLodge, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. January is one of our busiest months, with the pools being extremely popular. There are numerous other pools on the property that can be used by our guests, however we do understand that the main pool at the Lodge is first prize.

We hope that you'll visit us on a romatic getaway again soon.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairford, Glos
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Travelled in Feb 2012. Chose this as our first stop for 2 nights to have some R&R after flying into Durban. Booking direct was much cheaper than through any travel agents. Lovely location, staff were very friendly and helpful. Evening meals were excellent and reasonably priced for a hotel; breakfasts were buffet style - nothing wrong with that and were a good start to the day. The rooms are large and comfortable but could do with some TLC to give a better look. Would visit again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadger66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontZimbaliLodge, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. We are currently in the process of a refurbishment in all the rooms which should be completed later in the year.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
158 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I frequently stay at this resort while on business. For a 5-star resort, I'd expect a far better breakfast than what's on offer. The rooms are good however, and the service is good. The rooms should also have flat-screen TV's and not the out-dated box TV's which are way too small.

Room Tip: Views are better the higher up you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GusBehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
14.3 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,757 reviews
14.2 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,026 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
350 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
0.7 mi away
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Zimbali Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Property: Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Address: Zimbali Estate | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Zimbali Hotel
Zimbali Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing