We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were there in August for the long weekend and stayed at both hotels in this resort: the Fairmont Hotel and the Zimbali Lodge. For couples I certainly recommend the Lodge. It is quieter it is set in the nature reserve with amazing indigenous flora. Great walks and many places to hide from the crowds. The service was absolutely fantastic with can do attitude. If there is anything you want that the buffet does not display the Chef just does it with pleasure. The accommodation in Balinese style simply outstanding we had a suite with 2 terraces overlooking the golf course and the table set for a romantic dinner if you wanted to eat in your room.
Cant wait to go there again for a longer stay.
It is a premium priced resort but look out for special offers, you might get a very attractive deal.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite on the first floor, the views are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zygi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 438 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

The setting for the lodge is wonderful. Rooms are set in the secluded rainforest and golf cars provide transport as the distances can be significant. The pool area is beautiful, with a great view and a perfect setting for an alfresco lunch. The main restaurant was excellent, with slow but attentive service. Food was wholesome but not spectacular. A guide booked through the hotel for a city tour was very poor and we advised the hotel accordingly. Rooms were very large and somewhat littered with jungle bric a brac. Our room was very dark and with the artifacts around, it would be easy to leave things behind. The bathroom was quaint, but needed an upgrade. Walks throughout the property were excellent with a first class golf course on offer. A second pool area near the beach operates during the summer season. The resort is some distance from Durban town and a stay would largely be self-contained.

Room Tip: Most rooms are some distance from he core facilities. A golf cart is always handy, though, and staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We recently stayed at this lodge as we wanted to be able to experience the ZwaZulu-Natal area as well as Cape Town and Kruger. Location was good, although with somewhat long drives, to Hhuhluwe-umbolozi, Natal Lion park and iThala. Our room was absolutely beautiful with a balcony overlooking the ocean and golf course, and was in good shape. Only comment is that it was difficult to get in and out of the claw foot tub. The staff was most welcoming for everyone that we met and most accommodating. One of the nights there was a big party and they accommodated us on the terrace with a lovely dinner. Our meal experience was very good. The biggest asset for this hotel has to be its staff!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sj2000_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Fairmont Zimbali Lodge is situated in really great area, very amazing view from the lodge inifity pool above tropical forest on Indian Ocean. Very interesting idea of suitated hotel in park reserve where you could meet antilopes, monkeys and other animals (not dangerous one) going free. Room was very big and nice equipped but a bit dark. Staff was very profesional, but not as friendly as for example in Four Sesons hotels in our opinions. The price is rather high for stay, but that is Fairmont standard.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pawel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I recently spent 1 night at this 5 star establishment. While my partner was attending a separate function I ordered room service dinner. Shocking! What was described on the menu was not what was delivered - far from it. Numerous trimmings / items missing and still the same charge. Also the in room phone did not work and I had to call maintenance to replace a light bulb just before retiring.

While management reversed the fees for the "meals" I still await the phone call promised from Senior Management over 10 days ago.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CVanmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed in the Forest Suites,

Service was great and friendly as was breakfast. The units are however in a state of disrepair, which is a pity as it is such a nice resemblance of Bali and the hotels there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VickyJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontZimbaliLodge, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear Vicky

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We do however need to point out that the Forest Suites - in which you stayed - is not run by Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. Although situated in close proximity to each other they are 2 separate hotels.

We look forward to welcoming you to Fairmont Zimbali Lodge in the near future.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Zimbali Lodge is a very nice property that does an excellent job blending into the natural setting. It reminded me of some of the nicer Hawaiian resorts and I'm not sure that there is a much nicer property in SA. Ballito just wasn't for us as it doesn't have the charm of St. Lucia or the small towns. Think Newport Beach meets SA. A good place to wind down before the long flight back to the US.

Room Tip: I beleive they all have an ocean view and if not the rest of the setting is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
14.3 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,944 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
106 reviews
14.2 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 44 in Durban
1,529 reviews
14.9 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
380 reviews
14.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Zimbali Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Address: Zimbali Estate | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Price Range: $122 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Zimbali Hotel
Zimbali Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing