We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Fairmont Zimbali Lodge is situated in really great area, very amazing view from the lodge inifity pool above tropical forest on Indian Ocean. Very interesting idea of suitated hotel in park reserve where you could meet antilopes, monkeys and other animals (not dangerous one) going free. Room was very big and nice equipped but a bit dark. Staff was very profesional, but not as friendly as for example in Four Sesons hotels in our opinions. The price is rather high for stay, but that is Fairmont standard.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pawel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 411 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

I recently spent 1 night at this 5 star establishment. While my partner was attending a separate function I ordered room service dinner. Shocking! What was described on the menu was not what was delivered - far from it. Numerous trimmings / items missing and still the same charge. Also the in room phone did not work and I had to call maintenance to replace a light bulb just before retiring.

While management reversed the fees for the "meals" I still await the phone call promised from Senior Management over 10 days ago.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CVanmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed in the Forest Suites,

Service was great and friendly as was breakfast. The units are however in a state of disrepair, which is a pity as it is such a nice resemblance of Bali and the hotels there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VickyJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontZimbaliLodge, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear Vicky

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We do however need to point out that the Forest Suites - in which you stayed - is not run by Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. Although situated in close proximity to each other they are 2 separate hotels.

We look forward to welcoming you to Fairmont Zimbali Lodge in the near future.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Zimbali Lodge is a very nice property that does an excellent job blending into the natural setting. It reminded me of some of the nicer Hawaiian resorts and I'm not sure that there is a much nicer property in SA. Ballito just wasn't for us as it doesn't have the charm of St. Lucia or the small towns. Think Newport Beach meets SA. A good place to wind down before the long flight back to the US.

Room Tip: I beleive they all have an ocean view and if not the rest of the setting is beautiful.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

A very Big Thank you to the Hotel staff who made our trip very memorable. We loved our stay At the Zimbali Resort and will stay again during summer.. the staff were very helpful Beverly Rama Stands out at front desk, Ayoba Restaurant Staff was the best service at the Hotel.. Atmosphere and ambiance was stunning.
Lots of things can improve thou, 1) at check in reception had a very bad smell, 2) I paid for my stay in full prior to my arrival, even thou it was faxed and received by reservations it was not updated with FO Staff, I gave them a copy at check in, yet at check out again FO Staff had no idea I had paid yet again.. 3) Cleanliness of rooms was not 100% , soap scum around the bath tub, not very appealing. 4) Rose Petal Turn Down was not done as per our request prior to arrival, we had to ask reception to organise it on the night. 5) We had no telephone in our Room due to the line not working. 6) Menu selections were not very big, and prices were outrageously expensive. 7) Breakfast was below average definitely needs improvement.

So definitely a few things to improve on.. I would not rate the hotel 5 stars..

but I will give the Hotel a 2nd chance and will be back in December..

Mr & Mrs Rambalie

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We had 3 nights in the lodge. We were in block 8 - which was worth paying the extra for as we were secluded from the rest of the rooms and had a great view out over the lake to the sea. Some of the blocks just look out onto the forest - which would have been less interesting. Good food in the lodge too - better than the hotel on the other side of the resort (where we had to go one night due to a power cut). The room was lovely too.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaptainPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontZimbaliLodge, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. The team is really delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to welcome you back to Fairmont Zimbali Lodge in the near future.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed at the Lodge for 2 nights. Reception staff were polite albeit a little to clinical for my liking. The rooms are surrounded by beautiful forests which was so relaxing and a great escape from the mundanes of City Life. The walk down to the beach from The Lodge is one I will never forget. The forests, trickling of water, flora and fauna was amazing. The rooms are huge with forest views and spotless. The TV is a small box in the cupboard which I think should be upgraded. I thought tv's of that size went out in the 80's. Breakfast was mediocre and the staff extremely slow. Had to wait for over 15 minutes for coffee and butter to be brought to the table. But nonetheless the views and serenity of the Resort made up for that. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Safiya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontZimbaliLodge, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. As a brand we value all guest feedback as it provides us with the opportunity to grow and improve our offering to our guests.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed the pristine nature surrounding the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We feel priviledged to work in such a beautiful environment on a daily basis, and sharing this beauty with our guests is delightful. Your concerns have already been noted and are being dealt with by our management team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Zimbali Lodge in the near future.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
14.3 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,857 reviews
14.2 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,092 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
363 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
1.2 mi away
Coco De Mer
Coco De Mer
#3 of 23 in Ballito
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Zimbali Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Address: Zimbali Estate | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Price Range: $117 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Zimbali Hotel
Zimbali Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing