We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accomodation, Great Location, Great New Management”
Review of The Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Guesthouse
Ranked #15 of 23 Ballito B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed two night at this guesthouse and it is definitely recommended.

This place was just taken over by new management, with a happy young family. The guesthouse is inside some beautiful old colonial buildings with great views of the ocean. The service was fantastic, rooms were spotless, very comfortable, air conditioned and had free wifi. It's a short walk to the ocean which has a tidal pool and are shops are close by. We found it cheaper than most of the other accommodation in the area which added to the nice experience.

Will stay here again should when I return to South Africa.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenton394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is advertised on the AA website as pet friendly. I phoned the host and he gladly took my reservation with my dogs and children. After arrival he wanted me to lock my dogs in his garage when we are not there? I refused.
Upon arrival the fun started with the police paying the premises a visit.
After that we had to see him strut to the front door and back in only his towel. We had small children present.
When asked what time breakfast will be served his reply was that he must first see if his staff arrives???
He looks for a problem the whole time you are there. As one of the other guests described it, it feels like you are in a boarding school.
He follows you into you're room.
The air conditioners are switched off at the mains and you have to ask you you can please use it upon which he once again struts into you're room to inspect of all doors and windows are closed because I Qoute:" JNB people do not know how to use aircons".
He one night rudely advised me that my dogs and made a poo mess in front of one of the rooms, I ran out and inspected upon which a found a small dropping next to the plant bed? Where is the mess?
The insects eat you up.
The so called honeymoon sweet is run down
None of the guests that were there with us had a good experience
He hurries you out of you're room in the morning for cleaning to commence.

He is outright rude and has no manners

I would strongly advise anyone to not ruin their trip by saying there.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NaLaJNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theGuesthouse2014, Owner at The Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Thank you for your feed back, we are the new owners and management of The Guesthouse , and i am so sorry to hear about your past experience with the previous owners! We do hope you come back and tea with us and see the amazing changes in our establishment!
Regards, New owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Beautifull old colonial farm house with great vieuws. But the owner manager is strange and intruisive. Made my wife clean the floor, after letting a few sanddrops coming from the beach.(whisch is 8 minutes walt and had tidal pool) Swiched off the airco mains..had to ague to get it back on. Hot water was also suddenly off.("you need hot water??)..etc. No fridge in the room.
Not a real 4 star..there are far better places around for around 1000 rnd.. Half the price would be more fair..And you have to be assertive to deal with the manager Austin

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patrick800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The Guesthouse itself is very pleasant, with nice bedrooms, good breakfast and walking distance to the beach (not really a swimming beach, though, so we ended up driving to other beaches nearby). The lady owner mentioned in the other review was not present, however, and we found the gentlemen manager a bit difficult though, and fairly intrusively present in the "shared" spaces. A pity.

Room Tip: One suite which overlooks the patio has a nice view, but if you sleep late or go to bed early you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DomLib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

The Guesthouse owner, Barbara, is a really gracious lady, keeping a low profile but seeing that everything ticks over as it should. Spotless, bright and airy, with most rooms overlooking a beautful garden to the sea, with double doors onto your own private patio. It is an easy downhill walk to the warm water beach..a bit of a steep one back. There are also self-catering facilities if required and Barbara will make anything possible for you without a fuss. Spotless white linen is the benchmark of this 4* establishment, and a scruptious breakfast served on the patio, to eat at your leasure while gazing at the sea, will leave you satisfied & relaxed.

Room Tip: Sea facing with the doors opening onto your private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilda18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballito hotels
0 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
0 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#13 of 18 in Ballito
15 reviews
0 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Regal Inn Ballito
Regal Inn Ballito
#6 of 7 in Ballito
40 reviews
0 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#3 of 7 in Ballito
438 reviews
0 mi away
al Marrakesh Guest House
al Marrakesh Guest House
#20 of 23 in Ballito
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guesthouse

Address: 17 Ipahla Lane, Ballito, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Ballito
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This bed and Breakfast is under new management and ownership as of the 01st March 2014 ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing