We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If Carlsberg made houses.........”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
stackrat
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“If Carlsberg made houses.........”
Reviewed October 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed here for about a week at the beginning of September 2016 whilst on a holiday to South Africa.
Wow! What a house. What a setting. This place is absolutely awesome. On entering the house you are met with the most gorgeous view of the Indian Ocean through a wall of glass. The entire bottom floor (except one bedroom) is open plan and is huge. Bedrooms upstairs are stunning. The views are stunning from the bed in the morning.
If I was going to design a house and plonk it on a beach somewhere, I'd just copy this one as you could not possibly better it. It really is that good.

There are plenty of places to eat out in the vicinity and if you want to stock up on food, simply drive up to the Spar at the top of the road where all your needs will be met. Siggis is a short walk away if you feel like a drink or a nice lunch. A bottle store is a short walk away too. The owner, Mark, is a really nice bloke too. He's the kind of person that you could just sit and chat to for hours. Well, I felt that way anyway.

Would I go back?
Yes. Without a doubt. This place is not cheap, but it's worth every cent you spend. This place was the highlight to my 3 weeks in SA.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the lounge.
Liked least: Leaving.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael16...
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed July 31, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Beautifully appointed beach house, palatial proportions in the most extraordinary location, a hop, skip and jump away from the Indian Ocean.

The accommodation is all about light; huge sliding glass doors drawing you outside to the ocean. There is a constant low rumble from outside, and one night we did have a winter storm and the waves were loud, but you get used to it and it doesn't intrude. Part of experience.

Perfect place to while away the hours with a good glass of wine and a book.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EtoileBri...
UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Family Home Both Luxurious and Practical”
Reviewed March 6, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed for 7 nights after a tour of Kwa-Zula Natal. Weather is still a little humid in Feb but not peak holiday season. 6 days out of 7, was blessed with sun, Property consists of 4 bedrooms (all but one with ensuite bathroom ) and the master bedroom with own living room. We were 6 but it the property is perfect for 2x family of four. Swimming pool is much bigger than pictures suggest. The property is serviced daily by Messy and Bonny who will launder and iron if required. Everything worked perfect apart from internet (to be fair this was not the property owner's fault). We managed to watch all the Six Nation Rugby, English Premier League and La Liga on the cable channels.

Lots of restaurants. There is a convenience store within walking distance but the Maxi Spa in Salt Rock was the best supermarket we came across in the whole of SA. Also there is a liquor store within walking distance.

Very safe area, both my Swedish wife and myself went jogging alone every day and felt very safe. As an aside, we rented a minibus from Tempest, whose website offers much better deals than the big consolidators.

Would definitely go again to Beach Lodge perhaps with 2nd family next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Design and luxury
Liked least: Patchy internet access (we bought a local SIM card)
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylarees...
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun Filled Family Get Together !”
Reviewed November 22, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We booked the Beach House Lodge for a family reunion - family coming together from the UK and South Africa. Wow! We had an amazing stay and the house and location totally exceeded our expectations!

The weather wasn't great and we found ourselves indoors a bit over the 4 nights we were there but we never felt 'cooped' up inside as the house is spacious and beautiful with stunning views of the sea and changing skies.

The beach was clean and safe and the tidal pool a huge hit with the children (and adults!)

Bonnie and Mavis are a huge asset to the Beach House Lodge!

Thanks again to Mark and the rest of the team for a memorable and very special family get together! We hope to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Swimming Pool and Decor!
Liked least: That we had to leave!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne F
coolum
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A truely stunning house and location”
Reviewed November 20, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We spent 5 nights at the beach house and thought on signing up would it be too good to be true, this home was exactly like the photos a stunning house and location right on the beach, great restuarants in walking distance, quite beach with a great rock pool, a place to unwind and de stress, Mavis and Bonnie were great, looked after all our needs. close to the airport and shopping centres.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy C
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heavenly”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was the most wonderful holiday of my life. Mark and his wife, Chantelle, were so helpful, friendly and warm, and the house! Oh, the house! It's fabulous. The views and location are superb, the stylish rooms are large and airy, and it's so well equipped that we lacked nothing for the whole two weeks. The pool was just the cherry on my cake! The area is great, quiet and laid-back. There's everything you could wish for, a handy grocery store, Artisan bakery, great food at neighbouring hotels, a petrol station… everything! Plus the Indian Ocean and dolphins leaping and gliding past just about every day. Thanks, Mark. Back as soon as I've saved my pennies!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishinguw...
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“WOW - Absolute Paradise...”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

I'm a great fan of writing reviews however there was a part of me that didn't want to write a review for this house and purely for selfish reasons only - we don't want anyone else to find it!! The less people who know about the house the higher the availability when we want to go back !!! Firstly we would like to say a huge 'Thank You' to Mark the owner. Such a kind and friendly man who made our stay even more enjoyable. This property is a gem... There isn't much point in me posting photos on here of the property as the website photos(www.beachhouselodge.co.za) are exactly what you get. The house is immaculate. Downstairs there is a large open area with lounge / dining room / kitchen. This leads out onto a wooden decking with a great seating area, large table/benches, bbq and a swimming pool. There is a path that leads you down to the beach. Back inside the house... there is a bedroom on the ground floor and a separate toilet / shower room (by the entrance). Upstairs there are 3 double bedrooms. Two of the rooms (with balcony) overlook the sea. Both of these bedrooms could be main bedrooms for different reasons... the first room as you walk in and turn to the right is a decent size room with a double bed, double sinks, bath and single shower. If you turn left into this room there is a seating / lounge area with tv. This room is at the rear of the house. The second room (which we preferred) was slightly bigger (no lounge area) but more floor space. The bathroom was bigger, again double sinks and bath however this room had a double shower area :-) The third bedroom situated at the rear of the house was a decent size with double bed and separate shower, bath and toilet. It still has views of the sea but does not overlook the sea like the other 2 main bedrooms. The choice in decor is amazing. The white floors and walls give the whole house a minimal yet cosy feel. There are 2 ladies who come in every day to make the beds, do the washing up and tidy the house. There is a small hotel next to the house (as you will see in one of my photos) but don't be put off by this as it does not invade on your privacy. All in all it was a fantastic stay. We will definitely be going back ;-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing