We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treat Yourself!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vetho House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vetho House
Certificate of Excellence
leeds
Level Contributor
281 reviews
262 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Treat Yourself!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We arrived in town without a reservation looking for a beach front option. Driving in, there seemed to be endless options but we soon found that most of the big properties facing the sea are actually holiday apartments. There seemed to be only 2 options actually on the beach close to Ballitos bars and restaurants . I first tried the Boathouse , where they wanted R2400 for a partial sea view ( sounded like you could see the sea if you lent out of the window). The other was La Montagne about 2km from the centre ( see separate review). We saw a brown sign for Vetho House but when we located it, it didn't look like a hotel. The gates were locked, there was no visible reception and no intercom. We were about to drive off when the gates slowly opened ... I entered and the manager confirmed it WAS a hotel and showed me the rooms available .

The place feels like you're visiting a millionaires beachfront home. There's an open plan kitchen area facing the pool and playing chill out tunes. Upstairs is another cool common area with a serve yourself wine selection , expensive seating and a large balcony opening up to face the ocean. We took the Captains cabin which at almost R2000 was hugely expensive for SA but was a treat for the last night of our trip- in Europe you would have paid around 500 Euros per night for this room . It was huge , with tiled floors and dark wood fittings and a large very comfy bed. The bathroom had a jacuzzi and 2 person shower. We felt like rock stars staying here! The balcony looked into Ballitos dramatic beach with the deafening roar of the surf the constant soundtrack. The only slight disappointment was breakfast which was continental rather than home cooked but I guess that's in keeping with the cool ambience of the place . In summary very expensive for SA but well worth treating yourself!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    25
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
15
45
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights last week. The rooms are right opposite the ocean with a great view and the sound of the waves to lull you to sleep at night. The staff are friendly and accommodating and the lounge area with free wifi is a lovely place to get some work done. There is secure parking available and the little pedestrian gate is just a few steps away from the sand and the promenade. The problem with being so close to the beach is the area. As you sit on your lounger or in the pool looking out at the waves, the car guards and whoever else is loitering on the pavement is looking back at you. It doesn't feel very safe and it's definitely not private. Breakfast also leaves much to be desired. The first day we were offered 2 eggs. The next day we were not even offered any eggs. There are muffins, juice, good coffee, fruit, cereal, toast and cheese but don't expect cooked breakfast. There is no turn down at night either and our room had hardly any cupboard space. Luckily, we were only staying for 2 nights because there was nowhere to unpack if we had wanted to.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 5halin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Vetho House for 2 nights with our 9 month old. Our room overlooked the ocean. It was very clean and modern. The room was a bit small for a young child. It was a tight fit with our camp cot. They didn't seem well-equipped to deal with small children. However, Wilson was incredibly accommodating and we had a lovely stay. It may not be the best choice though for families.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Expat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Vetho House is a beachfront boutique hotel in Ballito, a holiday resort north of Durban. Unless you plan to lie on the beach or read novels in your room all day, you will need your own transport (e.g. a hired car from Durban airport), as Ballito has a suburban ambience and there are few shops, restaurants or tourist attractions within walking distance of Vetho House.

There are only 7 or 8 rooms (or ‘cabins’) in Vetho House. Ours (‘cabin 6’) is impeccably furnished with crisp white linen on a king-size bed, a mini-bar, coffee-making tray, wi-fi, 14 TV channels, a clock-radio and a safe. The bathroom is modern and was spotlessly clean on arrival, with hygienic seals around the toilet, toilet rolls, towels and bath-robes.

Upstairs rooms are incomparably preferable. Each has a balcony facing the sea. Bathrooms have skylights and power showers. There is a communal lounge with a large balcony, a chess set, and a bookcase that has an eclectic collection ranging from an Enid Blyton anthology to no less than 4 biographies and 1 autobiography of Nelson Mandela. Rooms downstairs, by contrast, are close to the reception desk and have a latticed view of the ocean through a metal grille fence.

Reception and housekeeping services are excellent: helpful, friendly and efficient. My only reservations about Vetho House are that the swimming pool is very small and located directly outside the downstairs rooms, and that there is a road between the hotel and the ocean which can be busy (especially at weekends) and compromises your privacy.

Room Tip: Insist on a room upstairs – cabin 4-6 or the ‘Captain’s Cabin’.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dromedaryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south-africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We spent one night here and it was quite enjoyable. The rooms overlook the sea and are a stone's throw away from the beach which is across a parking lot. Double bed was comfy and bathroom has a huge shower. There are two restaurants nearby which are within a safe walking distance. The manager, Wilson, was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was ample and well served. The guest house is about twenty minutes from the airport.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at this B&B we found on Booking.com. Had a very pleasant stay, the rooms were nice, bathrooms excellent, layout very compact and the manager was very helpful and friendly. Only negative - and a big one- was the breakfast. It was really pathetic. We've been to so many B&B's all over the globe, but none of them had such a dismal non-existent breakfast. Please improve on this aspect....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank najmasanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Found this hotel through bookings.com and noticed it was walking distance from where we ate lunch. We were very impressed with the rooms and the hotel. Only minus was we had to take a room with twin beds. Waking to watch the sunrise over the ocean from your pillow= priceless. Great breakfast too. Fresh baked muffins and coffee. Thanks for an excellent stay!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank discostar23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballito hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ballito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
0.3 mi away
Coco De Mer
Coco De Mer
#3 of 23 in Ballito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Montagne
La Montagne
#5 of 16 in Ballito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vetho House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vetho House

Property: Vetho House
Address: 10 Edward Place, Ballito 4399, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Ballito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vetho House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vetho House is a charming beach front getaway nestled in Ballito along the famous dolphin coast of Kwa Zulu- Natal. Vetho House rooms each open onto a private balcony which boasts unobstructed sea views; allowing our guests the opportunity to enjoy the unforgettable experience of watching dolphins play and feed along the shores. Vetho House offers exceptional comfort and class in our individually decorated luxury rooms which are serviced daily. Vetho House provides perfect accommodation for holiday makers and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Vetho House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing