We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a sea view option”
Review of La Montagne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Montagne
Reviewed November 25, 2013

It's a large hotel about 2 km from Ballitos small centre . We didn't actually stay in the end but I looked at a couple of rooms. It's right on the ocean front and both rooms I looked at had sea view but none have a private balcony- you share with 2 other rooms. The rooms were quite small, seemed clean but a little worn. The layout of the hotel was strange - we took a lift to the second floor and walked along a corridor which was semi outside- there was exposed brick work with some plants but which had me thinking of an underground car park. The hotel seemed to have a few bars and pool and at R1400 was cheaper than other beachfront options in town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
There are newer reviews for La Montagne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 273 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

went for the weekend ... found it pricey and hardly had a sea view witch was disappointing
the room we stayed in was out dated .... so ya .. but the hotle was looking good bar was great the grounds looks clean and pool looked awsome

Room Tip: ask for sea view that why u go to ballito to see the sea
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcoavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We spend a week every year at La Montagne

As usual the staff are very friendly and are a huge asset to this hotel.

We stayed in the newly rennovated rooms near the beach on our last visit. The bedrooms havent been thought out well as there is very limited space in them. The living area and kitchen area is also very small. Luckily we dont have small children with us otherwise it could have cost a fortune for them to entertain themselves in the arcade.

The daily activities become monotonous after the second day, the Cocktails however DEFINITELY make up for this.

Unfortunately our airconditioner was faulty and only got fixed after the third day. But got fixed none the less,

We will always be back here and have referred many business and work colleagues here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kingsley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and friends decided to spend a couples weekend at La Montagne. The building and pool, restaurants facilities are quite impressive. The apartment itself, which was self-catering was ridiculously small and uncomfortable.One of the bedrooms is screened from the lounge and kitchen (studio style) very awkward and no privacy. We were in room 906 and the pressure in the shower was very low, which meant that we could not have a decent shower. Views from the balcony are superb. Not the ideal accommodation in rainy weather because the balcony is not covered thereby restricting you to the confines of a very small apartment. lovely pool facilities for the whole family.Boardwalk along the beach ideal for morning and afternoon walks.Close to Lifestyle shopping mall and plenty of good restaurants in the area. A good place in sunny weather.

Room Tip: Good idea to get a ground floor unit.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tillie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed at the resort for 5 nights from the 16 of October 2013 . We had and incredible experience that truly memorable . The staff where fantastic and all the facilities where great . We experienced the pumpkin theatre on two occasions , what a great show . Thank you to the team and management for a great experience and stay . The location is perfect and views are great . Only constructive feedback is that the wifi needs improvement as it is very difficult to get signal in the building . Other then that I would recommend this resort for a great family getaway .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed on the 6th floor for a week. The views are amazing and we could see whales/dolphins splashing about in the distance. The rooms are serviced daily and the hotel is clean and neat. Staff are very helpful and the beach is just a stones throw away. Only downside from my end being that the room had a double bed and with my wife being pregnant, it was rather small.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zayd N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days on the top floor. Comfortable and staff are very friendly. Not to far from a very nice restaurant called MoZAMBIQue a must go if you are in the area. Pool area is very nice and there is a bar section on the bottom floor. It is not a far walk to the beach and they even have some nice activity in the complex for the people. I would definitely go back here agian.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K_z_nNathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
1.6 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#3 of 7 in Ballito
411 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chaka's Rock Chalets
Chaka's Rock Chalets
#1 of 1 in Shaka's Rock
88 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
0.5 mi away
Coco De Mer
Coco De Mer
#3 of 23 in Ballito
389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Jaime
Villa Jaime
#3 of 18 in Ballito
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Montagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Montagne

Address: 100 Compensation Beach Road, Ballito 4399, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Ballito
Price Range: $56 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Montagne 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the Dolphin Coast, just 15km from King Shaka Airport, 120 luxury terraced apartments with breathtaking sea views await you at La Montagne Resort Hotel and Spa. With restaurants offering a wide variety of cuisine and room service, a great in-house Wellness Retreat, a live supper theatre club, squash courts, swimming pool, magnificent seaside sun deck and a daily entertainment programme for the whole family, La Montagne is guaranteed to fulfil your holiday dreams. The resort also boasts superb wedding and conferencing facilities with a full banqueting function, themed evenings and special activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your La Montagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Montagne Hotel Ballito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing