We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fairly pleasant stay”
Review of La Montagne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Montagne
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and friends decided to spend a couples weekend at La Montagne. The building and pool, restaurants facilities are quite impressive. The apartment itself, which was self-catering was ridiculously small and uncomfortable.One of the bedrooms is screened from the lounge and kitchen (studio style) very awkward and no privacy. We were in room 906 and the pressure in the shower was very low, which meant that we could not have a decent shower. Views from the balcony are superb. Not the ideal accommodation in rainy weather because the balcony is not covered thereby restricting you to the confines of a very small apartment. lovely pool facilities for the whole family.Boardwalk along the beach ideal for morning and afternoon walks.Close to Lifestyle shopping mall and plenty of good restaurants in the area. A good place in sunny weather.

Room Tip: Good idea to get a ground floor unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tillie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 292 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed at the resort for 5 nights from the 16 of October 2013 . We had and incredible experience that truly memorable . The staff where fantastic and all the facilities where great . We experienced the pumpkin theatre on two occasions , what a great show . Thank you to the team and management for a great experience and stay . The location is perfect and views are great . Only constructive feedback is that the wifi needs improvement as it is very difficult to get signal in the building . Other then that I would recommend this resort for a great family getaway .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed on the 6th floor for a week. The views are amazing and we could see whales/dolphins splashing about in the distance. The rooms are serviced daily and the hotel is clean and neat. Staff are very helpful and the beach is just a stones throw away. Only downside from my end being that the room had a double bed and with my wife being pregnant, it was rather small.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zayd N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days on the top floor. Comfortable and staff are very friendly. Not to far from a very nice restaurant called MoZAMBIQue a must go if you are in the area. Pool area is very nice and there is a bar section on the bottom floor. It is not a far walk to the beach and they even have some nice activity in the complex for the people. I would definitely go back here agian.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K_z_nNathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very centrally located and close to everything.

The service you will get from the people working there will make you smile and want to go back for more. From Management to Cleaners will all make you feel like you are at home.
Food is good and they have loads to offer with other activities.
Pumpkin Theatre is worth a visit and you will have a great time.
Great Breakfasts on the deck, looking out on the beach, awesome pool. Bar, Restaurants you wont find any better all in one resort in Ballito.
If you like Crayfish you MUST visit the Crayfish Inn as they will make sure you have an enjoyable evening.
The Staff here is truly great, and they will do everything they can to help you have an awesome time!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first level is noisy from the walkway on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The resort is very nice and centrally situated. The staff were always helpful and friendly. We had 1 issue with the window which was hastily sorted out. Just a pity that we had to observe Spa staff having a heated argument. Other than that thanks once again for an enjoyable break.

Room Tip: When booking try and book a room on floors 2 and above. Although the rooms on the 1st floor are nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawnGoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Having a lovely week, just a pity they dont have stricter control over who enters the resort from the beach as today they were totally invaded by about 20 boys fm Secunda High School, who totally took over pool area & who were not staying at the resort. Smoking shld also be banned on pool deck area as mainly kids here & people eating. Most unpleasant to try eat / relax on sunbeds when smoke is continually blowing into you. I actually thought that with SA's strict smoking regulations this would not be allowed. Other than these 2 issues, resort very pleasant, staff service exceptional & food value for money. Will def return.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HazelSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
1.6 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#3 of 7 in Ballito
428 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
106 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chaka's Rock Chalets
Chaka's Rock Chalets
#1 of 1 in Shaka's Rock
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
423 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
0.5 mi away
Coco De Mer
Coco De Mer
#2 of 23 in Ballito
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Montagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Montagne

Address: 100 Compensation Beach Road, Ballito 4399, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Ballito
Price Range: $53 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Montagne 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the Dolphin Coast, just 15km from King Shaka Airport, 120 luxury terraced apartments with breathtaking sea views await you at La Montagne Resort Hotel and Spa. With restaurants offering a wide variety of cuisine and room service, a great in-house Wellness Retreat, a live supper theatre club, squash courts, swimming pool, magnificent seaside sun deck and a daily entertainment programme for the whole family, La Montagne is guaranteed to fulfil your holiday dreams. The resort also boasts superb wedding and conferencing facilities with a full banqueting function, themed evenings and special activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Montagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Montagne Hotel Ballito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing