We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food, good portions”
Review of Mo-zam-bik

Mo-zam-bik
Ranked #2 of 78 Restaurants in Ballito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
170 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Tasty food, good portions”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I had the peri peri chicken and praws at our last visit to this restaurant. The service was professional, the portion was good and the chicken and prawns were juicy and delicious.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CuriousMeerkatjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    253
    57
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“late night snack”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

On Thursday 26 June 2014 Ballito was plunged unceremonious into darkness. The rain and wind added to the unpleasantness as we arrived at the closing Moz-am-bik Restaurant.

On arrival we were told that the restaurant had just closed and that we could not be served. We explained our predicament and that we had not eaten due a hospital visit. The manager on duty bent over backwards to assist us get take outs. We chose items on the kiddys menu which was enough for two as a late night feast – as the kitchen had closed for the main meals.

The service was excellent as was the coffee we had whilst waiting for our take outs. The food was cooked to perfection. The queen prawns were succulent in a wicked lemony butter sauce, the crumbed chicken strips cooked to perfection, we had a portion of four (two chicken and two prawn) rissoles all served with ample portion of chips.

The service was excellent, friendly and as welcoming as the upstairs ambience of the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ganhes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Authentic cuisine”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Another restaurant that never dissapoints. The food is great, the service is friendly (but not always fast) and the value is there.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Looking4gr8ness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
124 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Just dropped in for a late evening snack. Ordered the starter portions of calamari one in peri peri sauce and the other lemon and herb. The portions were so large they could easily be taken for main courses. They were served with freshly baked Portuguese bread rolls. Wow! Delicious!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MalkieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordview, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Atmoshere, great food”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We as a family visiting Ballito went for Dinner and really had a great evening. The service from Washington was good, not to expensive and great beach atmosphere. A must to try is their Zambeziana Hake, Chickens. On the side order the coconut and lime sauce.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mo-zam-bik also viewed

Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Mo-zam-bik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing