We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gives a holiday atmosphere”
Review of Mo-zam-bik

Mo-zam-bik
Ranked #2 of 78 Restaurants in Ballito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Albury Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“gives a holiday atmosphere”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We went there last night with friends and had lovely prawns, chicken and one had rump steak all very good. The only complaint I had was that the prawns were a bit cold so think they added the Peri-Peri sauce after prawns were cooked and the sauce weren't heated but it was very tasty. We all enjoyed our food and we enjoyed sitting under the stars. The se4vice was good and our waiter very good as well and did offer to take my prawns to be re-heated but I didn't want to eat on my own as it very often happens at restaurants when you send your plate back for something. Will also visit them again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mirinda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett M, Owner at Mo-zam-bik, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Hi Mirinda K,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the service and the food. I'm sorry your prawns were cold and I have ask my waiters to please inform us if we have a problem like yours as you should not have paid for that meal and I should have definitely bought you a bottle of wine. Next time you are in Ballito. Please ask for me(Brett), Barney or Brad so we can make it up to you. Have a great 2014

Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    253
    57
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Tony Mammag's”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Brett I want to tell you that every person that has eaten at our place and have had the pleasure of eating at your restaurant have only good, no great things to say about Mo-zam-bik. Well done to you and your team

Helpful?
Thank Anthony d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett M, Owner at Mo-zam-bik, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hi Tony,

Thanks for the review I really appreciate it. Coming from someone who owns one of Ballitos finest restaurants it means the world to me. Have a great 2014 and I won't wish you luck as you don't need it your recipe is number one.

Regards,
Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Never disappoints!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

A few of the criteria that goes in rating a restaurant are:
Quality of the food, level of service, and consistency in maintaining those.

We live in Ballito, and I must say it never disappoints on any of the criteria.

We have been many times, we enjoyed, and we will back as often as we can!

For the Geocachers among the reader the is cache on the boat (oh yah there is a boat on the roof) not easy to find :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 727stephr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett M, Owner at Mo-zam-bik, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hi Divemasterza,

Thank you for your review. The hardest part of a restaurant is make sure your consistency is kept up. I have tried to limit mistakes as much as possible by implementing proper structured recipes. What is very difficult is the fact that we do not have a big bowl of sauce that gets ladled over everything and each meal from chicken livers to steaks is all individually made on our high pressure boiling table by three sauce men.

When you are here next please give me a shout 0824274903 or pop past the kitchen. Most of the time I'm in the Ballito store especially over the weekends.

Have a great 2014.

Regards,
Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best service we've yet had at a restaurant in this area.”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

What a pleasure. Attentive, efficient service, great prawns, this is one we'll definitely visit again. Thank you for the great service!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieLog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett M, Owner at Mo-zam-bik, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hi DebbieLog,

Thank you for your 5 star review. We hope you see us soon and all the best for 2014. Next time you in Mozambik please introduce yourself. I'm almost always in the kitchen in season.

Regards,
Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We go to Mozambik every time we're in Ballito. .always good. The Clams & Crab Curry divine. Excellent food and service. Can definitely recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mairi68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett M, Owner at Mo-zam-bik, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hi Mairi68,

Thank you for your review and all the support when you are in Ballito. The clams are also my favourite :). Have a very happy new year and best for 2014.

Regards,
Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mo-zam-bik also viewed

Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Mo-zam-bik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing