We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting - luxury holiday with a few niggles.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Forest Suites Hotel
Ranked #21 of 23 Ballito B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The Forest Suites are set in a stunning forest as part of the overall world class Zimbali Resort. The suites themselves are 5 star and beautifully appointed with lovely furniture, luxurious linen, and a bathroom that rivals anything I have seen in the best of hotels. The Zimbali resort facilities are available to guests, as is a very handy golf cart to get around the vast estate. There are several infinity pools around the resort, which is cool - the beach is a stunning 5-7km stretch of beauty but not safe for swimming due to the steep shelf down to the water.

Breakfast was included in the price of our stay and was a modest 3 star offering - nothing special unfortunately as this was out of keeping with the rest of the place. Our suite didnt have a kitchenette which would have been nice as an alternative to the hotel breakfasts on some mornings.

Everywhere we went staff was friendly, helpful and polite. However, overall information on the Zimbali resort and how to get around and what to see in Ballito (the nearby town) was scant - even on Trip Advisor. Once we figured things out though there is something for everyone and plenty of great offerings for all tastes.

This is a marvellous place if you don't want the typical seaside apartment so typical of the KZN North Coast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fugax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2012

Beautiful location, beautiful suites. BUT, the resort is a bit worn down as it is clearly visible that little or no maintenance is done. The cleaning ladies also need a rap on their lazy fingers. But overall the stay was great! Will visit again at the same special price we paid.

Room Tip: For absolute privacy, either choose suite 9 or 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tanjavdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We had a one night stay at the Forest Suites. The location is absolutely wonderful! It is set in the lush Milkwood forests of the KZN North Coast. The service was wonderful and our every need was taken care of, from drinks on arrival to being taken to our suite on a golf cart. The suites are luxurious to say the least. They are wonderfully decorated. The bathroom is grand with a beautiful bathtub. The outdoor shower was my favourite treat! (there is an indoor one too!) I'd recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Choose any room! I'm sure they're all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe_Bester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed here for a few days before going on our boat cruise and it was out of this world! There is only a few suites and it is very private. You have a small little kitchen nook, with ketlle and bar fridge with a lot of beverages and nibbles. The dinningroom and livingroom is open plan, patio doors open onto the patio overlooking the greenery. The bed is so luxurious and it walks into the bathroom...while you are relaxing in the bath, surrounded only by glass panels with a view of the a small little 'courtyard' with a water feature. You also have a choice: You can either shower indoors or you can open the exterior glass door and have a shower outdoors. The pool is lovely and it has a great view. Every unit has it's own golf cart which we used to get around Zimbali lodge. You have access to the private beach which is very quiet and peacefull. The restaurant at the hotel makes the most amazing food! Especially there cauliflower and bluecheese soup! When you return at night your butler has already opened your bed and he makes sure the golf cart get's charged. This is really 5 star!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank NicAl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballito hotels
2.3 mi away
Zimbali Resort
Zimbali Resort
#1 of 7 in Ballito
943 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#13 of 18 in Ballito
15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Regal Inn Ballito
Regal Inn Ballito
#6 of 7 in Ballito
42 reviews
1.1 mi away
Zimbali Lodge
Zimbali Lodge
#3 of 7 in Ballito
440 reviews
1 mi away
Sibakwa Guesthouse
Sibakwa Guesthouse
#19 of 23 in Ballito
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Suites Hotel

Address: M4 Road | Zimbali Coastal Resort, Ballito 4399, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Ballito
Price Range: $115 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Forest Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Forest Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing