We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money”
Review of Hampshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed December 21, 2010

The Hampshire Hotel has great rooms, they're a good size, nice big bed, big LCD TV, safe, etc. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. The buffet breakfast had a decent selection of food, and the coffee was awesome :)
The only downside is the location, it's not near the beach, it's at the far end of the Ballito. In my opinion that isn't a big deal as you're going to spend most of your time outside the hotel anyway, and its a much better deal than most of the B&B I looked at in Ballito.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    25
    22
    9
    10
See reviews for
28
34
2
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Österreich
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We felt very comfortable at this hotel, even though it is clearly a business hotel and maybe lacking some atmosphere. It is located in a business park, right next to a highway exit, but just a few minutes drive away from the city center and the beach.
At the time of our stay everything was very new and in good condition, they also have a gym and a nice pool (with a view on the highway though). The room was clean and well designed.
The personnel was a bit unorganized but very friendly: They did not have any record of our online booking, but it was still no problem to check in. This also created some misunderstandings at the breakfast, as we were not on the guest list. Yet this was solved quickly and the person in charge friendly apologized for any inconvenience.
Since it was raining at our stay, the free underground carpark was helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w0rldadvis0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesurg
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2010

I have stayed here before and would reccomend this hotel to anyone needing a high quality hotel at an affordable price, the room fittings and style are better than some of the 5 star european hotels I have stayed at.
The Staff are always friendly and helpful and the full English breakfast is top notch,

I honestly cannot complain about anything regarding the Hampshire.
Will definatly be statying here again and regularly.

Thank-you for a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanCBJohannesurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2010

From the 1st day I arrived at the hotel, the staff made me feel very welcome and at home. The service was up to standard and the food was good. Rooms is very neat and comfortable. Beautiful hotel and close to all facilities.

After 10 weeks staying at the hotel I will recommend it to anyone.

Keep up the good work.

Kind Regards,
Andre Welmans

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinbad013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

The rooms are just great; very comfy beds, big tv, nice bathroom with rainshower. The personnel is very friendly and helpful. Tasteful breakfast.

There is no restaurant in the hotel, but there is a shopping centre nearby with some good restaurants.

Excellent hotel!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timvh86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I'd like to say, i was a bit skeptical when heading towards Ballito, let alone the hotel. But as soon as we got to the reception of the Hotel, it was Heaven, not to mention the Hotel Rooms. It was an out of this world experience, that i have to emphasize.

I'd like to say that the Hampshire Hotel has great standards and i hope they keep it up.

Kind Regards

Prince Tholo

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrTholo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2010

I visited the hotel with my spouse. The minute we enterded the hotel we felt the warmth and friendliness from the staff. Reception, house keeping, kitchen staff they all make your stay at the hotel a very pleasant and enjoyable one. I will surely recommend the hotel to everyone for business of for leisure.
To everyone at the hotel keep up the good work, keep on smiling as you do and surely everyone will be happy to come back to your hotel.
My spouse and I can't wait to visit the hotel again just to relax and have a peace of mind because that is what the hotel is best for.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busisiwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
1.5 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ballito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
15.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
1.5 mi away
Ezulwini Guest house
Ezulwini Guest house
#5 of 23 in Ballito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Vineyard on Ballito
The Vineyard on Ballito
#2 of 23 in Ballito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel

Property: Hampshire Hotel
Address: 4048 Moffatt Drive | Ballito Business Park, Ballito 4420, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to King Shaka International Airport and the Ballito Durban greater area, Hampshire Hotel offers superb accommodation with superior beds, spacious rooms and friendly welcoming staff. With so much activities in the surrounding area (Exquisite beaches, surfing, scuba diving, snorkeling, Game farm, Strawberry picking, Litchi Orchard, Casino, great Animal farm for the kids and so much more) it is the ideal place for an incredible, reasonably priced family vacation. Should you be travelling for business, our facilities will cater to your every need, Complimentary Hi-Speed WIFI, Secure basement parking, Gym, Pool, Business Centre, Microwave/fridge in rooms, Electronic safe, Satellite 39" Flat screen television, fully equipped bar and more. Come and experience our high standard hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing