We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent hotel, will recomend it to family and friends.”
Review of Hampshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excelent hotel, will recomend it to family and friends.”
Reviewed November 2, 2010

From the 1st day I arrived at the hotel, the staff made me feel very welcome and at home. The service was up to standard and the food was good. Rooms is very neat and comfortable. Beautiful hotel and close to all facilities.

After 10 weeks staying at the hotel I will recommend it to anyone.

Keep up the good work.

Kind Regards,
Andre Welmans

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinbad013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    25
    22
    9
    10
See reviews for
28
34
2
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

The rooms are just great; very comfy beds, big tv, nice bathroom with rainshower. The personnel is very friendly and helpful. Tasteful breakfast.

There is no restaurant in the hotel, but there is a shopping centre nearby with some good restaurants.

Excellent hotel!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timvh86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I'd like to say, i was a bit skeptical when heading towards Ballito, let alone the hotel. But as soon as we got to the reception of the Hotel, it was Heaven, not to mention the Hotel Rooms. It was an out of this world experience, that i have to emphasize.

I'd like to say that the Hampshire Hotel has great standards and i hope they keep it up.

Kind Regards

Prince Tholo

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrTholo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2010

I visited the hotel with my spouse. The minute we enterded the hotel we felt the warmth and friendliness from the staff. Reception, house keeping, kitchen staff they all make your stay at the hotel a very pleasant and enjoyable one. I will surely recommend the hotel to everyone for business of for leisure.
To everyone at the hotel keep up the good work, keep on smiling as you do and surely everyone will be happy to come back to your hotel.
My spouse and I can't wait to visit the hotel again just to relax and have a peace of mind because that is what the hotel is best for.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busisiwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2010

I got a RASH FROM the HOTEL LINEN!
When I informed reception they said that they would look into it.
It is beyond vile, my rash started and ended where my shirt protected my skin from their stale sheets. Offering to 'look into it' is not good enough, the damage had already been done. It seems like their cleaning policy is: 'If it looks clean, it is clean- never mind all of the various germs and diseases crawling around that isn't visible to the naked eye'.
The hotel is located in the backside of Ballito.
You're right next to the highway and a bunch of industrial properties. You can't even see or hear the sea.
The rooms are extremely damp; and it is impossible to open a window for some fresh air.
The bath looks like a shoe box, and the wall starts where the bath ends; so there is no place to rest your head (unless you sit at a 90 degree angle in the bath).
The hotel also lacks a proper restaurant, they only serve breakfast.
Overall I had a really terrible experience and would not recommend it even if they were offering rooms for free.
Do yourself a favour and spend your money elsewhere, this hotel is a disgrace to the catering industry.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urs0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HampshireHotel, Quality Assurance at Hampshire Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
Hampshire Hotel contacted this guest to understand how we can better service their needs in the future. We apologize for the inconvience that she had experienced at the hotel. It is the utmost importantance for our guests to be happy after leaving Hampshire Hotel. Regardless who you are we want to provide the best service possible even if it means service recovery. After the follow up call. We have contacted all parties in this matter. We would like to thank all those for cooperating and apologize for any inconvienced they had.

As in Regards to our amenities Hampshire Hotel is a Three Star property in accordance to the South African Tourism Board. We have never advertised having a restuarant on premises or being a beach front property. Our breakfast is a complimentary hot buffet served to all guest. Our bathrooms are designed for convience and comfort, we do not consider ourselves a luxury hotel. We have some of the largest bathroom spaces in the South African Market for a three star property. Some of our guest are booked through a third party, or with their companies, and the guest expected a four or five star property, when their companies can only best situate them in a brand new three star property like the Hampshire Hotel. We do preform to the best of our abilities and offer some great amenties at an afforable price to all. Thank you again

-Hampshire Hotel Ballito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ballito hotels

Pretoria
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2010

The Hamshire Hotels are the Best in their class by far. South Africa needs this type of excellence. Hamshire Hotels will definately see me again... Keep up the excellence !

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Great all round product, rooms are really spacious and comfortable, thought i wa in a 4 or 5 star room

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ugan_Naidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
1.5 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ballito
381 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chaka's Rock Chalets
Chaka's Rock Chalets
#1 of 1 in Shaka's Rock
75 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
1.7 mi away
La Montagne
La Montagne
#5 of 17 in Ballito
235 reviews
1.7 mi away
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel

Property: Hampshire Hotel
Address: 4048 Moffatt Drive | Ballito Business Park, Ballito 4420, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to King Shaka International Airport and the Ballito Durban greater area, Hampshire Hotel offers superb accommodation with superior beds, spacious rooms and friendly welcoming staff. With so much activities in the surrounding area (Exquisite beaches, surfing, scuba diving, snorkeling, Game farm, Strawberry picking, Litchi Orchard, Casino, great Animal farm for the kids and so much more) it is the ideal place for an incredible, reasonably priced family vacation. Should you be travelling for business, our facilities will cater to your every need, Complimentary Hi-Speed WIFI, Secure basement parking, Gym, Pool, Business Centre, Microwave/fridge in rooms, Electronic safe, Satellite 39" Flat screen television, fully equipped bar and more. Come and experience our high standard hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing