We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr Bukasa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Mr Bukasa”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Always an amazing experience everytime I stay at the hotel. Best staff, efficient and very competent,especially Mahe and Tarnia. Great food always and not to mention the spectacular ocean view from the room, and main entrance.

I have recommend many people to stay with the hotel and I am intending doing just that as the resort deserves a big Wouah:"what a place"

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Aime Bukasa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontZimbali, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for very much for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback with us. We really value your recommendation and hope to see you at the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    213
    138
    80
    46
See reviews for
276
325
21
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Very good and funny time. The facilities are very good. The quality of the rooms are excellent. I enjoyed staying in this hotel and when I have the opportunity again to be in Durban my option will be staying in this hotel. The location is also very interesting at night we can see many animals walking freely through the resort. We have to pay attention on the way.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLODOLEANMILE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontZimbali, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at Fairmont Zimbali Resort. We are delighted that your stay with us was, in your own words, fantastic.

The indigenous wildlife that roams freely on the Estate is often the source of endless wonder and amusement for our guests, adding the finishing touch to their stay.

Thank you for the glowing recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you back to Durban and Fairmont Zimbali Resort.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This stylish hotel is situated in one of the more scenic parts of South Africa. Overlooking the bright blue Indian ocean it offers excellent service. We stayed two nights and enjoyed it thoroughly.

The staff are professional and very friendly. They are eager to fulfil your every need.

The food was exquisite - with a good variety of tastes. The breakfast was quite a spread - and the real treat was having breakfast on the balcony overlooking the sea.

It's close proximity to the King Shaka airport and Durban city make it a convenient, comfortable and exotic destination

Room Tip: The best is the sea view (with Balcony) - bit more expensive but worth it. The other sea view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc_sol78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of Fairmont Zimbali Resort, I would like to sincerely thank you for your positive and constructive feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your two nights stay with us.

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to praise our team’s service excellence and the “exquisite cuisine” at the Resort. I will ensure they receive a copy of your review.

We appreciate you taking the time to share a Room Tip. I’m certain this information will greatly benefit our future Guests when making a reservation.

Thanks again and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to Fairmont Zimbali Resort.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Manager
On behalf of Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhb south africa
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in January. Check in was quick and efficient with a welcome drink. The lobby is beautiful and tastefully decorated.
The rooms are well appointed and large which was good considering we have 2 kids. Beds were comfy with good quality linen. There was a tea and coffee station and complimentary bottled water that was replenished everyday. Was lovely sitting on the balcony at nights. Unfortunately we could hear when a chair was being dragged from the room above us and this was a bit annoying.

Breakfast was really great. One of the best I've had in South Africa with a huge variety available. There are a few pools (none heated though).
We enjoyed room service, as there was no real other choice with 2 kids. The food was not bad albeit expensive. The biryani was delicious.

There is a bit of an ant problem in the rooms which I think is exacerbated by in-room dining. I did find a couple of ants in the bed.

The spa treatment I had was really great although I do feel I was kept waiting very long before my treatment. Loved the relaxation room after the massage. Really serene.

Overall the hotel was lovely but I did not feel it proved to be value for money. For the price per night, I expected at least free wifi, but this was not the case. There was a kids club which also payable. Even using the bicycles were not free and you had to pay per hour. The sea is very rough here and thus swimming is not an option, which basically only left the pool.
I felt the hotel missed the mark here and should at least throw in a few extras at that price, and therefore I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nasoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontZimbali, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your considered and balanced review. We greatly appreciate the investment of your time and value your feedback.

Please be assured that your concerns have been addressed at a management level. Some of the benefits of our Fairmont President’s Club include complimentary Wi-Fi as well as complimentary use of the BMW Mountain Bikes. On your next visit please speak to a member of our friendly staff about signing up for the program.

We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Great location on the Indian Ocean. Only 15 minutes very easy drive from King Shaka Airport. Has three different pools. Beach is long, clean and deserted because swimming is not possible due to currents. The Lodge is a quieter more sophisticated environment, whereas the resort is a very large hotel. We very quickly decided to extend our stay from two to four nights, as this subtropical hotel was exactly what we needed after five weeks travelling.

The resort rooms are first class. We had a fifth floor room with a view over the ocean.

Breakfast at the Resort was first class but the lunch and dinner offerings not so good. The Asian restaurant in the Resort -Osa- was not good, but the Indian restaurant - Thandi - at the Lodge was excellent.

I have stayed in many Fairmonts in North America - they are the best hotels in most canadian cities. There is clearly a struggle to maintain Fairmont standards in Africa. Individual staff attitudes ranged from very helpful to complete indifference. We had a problem with AC noise, which sounded like a drill. Maintenance came and checked it out - and did nothing. We complained again and were told that the problem was a loose part. Rather than fix it, they moved us to another room. A waiter at Thandi - despite being of Indian extraction - couldnt explain menu items - other than to explain that his ignorance was a function of the chef being from India (which was a very good thing). It took a really long time to get beach towels later in the afternoon, and almost defiance from the staff member we first asked.

These comments are not intended to discourage potential guests, because I would go back here regularly if I lived in South Africa, but to point out some of the issues that management need to address. I suspect that they are very familiar with them.

A car really is necessary here. We did day trips to Durban and into the countryside inland from the resort, both of which were fascinating and highly recommended. although other reviewers have commented that "Zimbali isnt really Africa", those trips clearly identify exactly where you are.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcakm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontZimbali, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review and feedback. There is no greater testimony than a returning guest or indeed a guest that choose to extend their stay with us. We are delighted you found the rest and respite you needed after your weeks of travel.

Please rest assured that your valued feedback is under advisement and will be addressed by Management to ensure that we consistently provide our guests with engaging service. Additional measures are being implemented to ensure our five-star service is unwavering, even throughout the busy festive period.

We do hope that you visit South Africa again and we relish the opportunity to welcome you back to Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I recently spent a week at the Fairmont on the Zimbali Estate. Zimbali is some distance from Durban itself, but conveniently located close to King Shaka airport. The resort has all the amenities one would seek at a world class facility. The Fairmont is nicely located near the beach, although there is no swimming there due to the swift rip current. The rooms are nicely appointed, although the tub and shower are located within the room with little privacy. The staff were all friendly and willing to help with any questions. Food was well prepared and attractive - the Breakfast buffet was good with an egg station and fresh crepes (pancakes) offered, cooked to order and a good selection of fresh fruit. We ate many of our meals in nearby Ballito - which offered a number of good options. The Fairmont Resort is a pleasant modern facility - if you are looking for something a bit more intimate and rustic, go to the Fairmont Lodge, located on the same property.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontZimbali, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are certain that guests considering staying at Fairmont Zimbali Resort for business like yourself, or indeed pleasure, will find your review of our location, amenities, service and dining options extremely helpful.

We do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Fairmont Zimbali Resort in the near future.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I can't deny I had some initial apprehension about my trip to Zimbali having read some earlier reviews, but having just recently returned from a 5 night trip at this wonderful resort, I must honestly say that I had the trip of a lifetime. We were blessed with fantastic weather, a great hotel, excellent food and service from friendly staff that were sincere and caring. I was one of many on a golfing trip courtesy of Volvo, and found the hotel and the golf course as well as every single member of staff just first class. Special thanks to the girls on reception who went the extra mile every day to look after me, always with a smile. I genuinely could not fault anything about this hotel, and trust me, I've stayed in some really nice places around the world. I had one of the garden suites and found it simply fantastic. Compared to UK prices, I found everything in South Africa as well as Zimbali good value for money. I'd love to return one day with my wife. Simple as that. Well done to the General Manager and his team. You certainly made this Scotman's first visit to South Africa very memorable. Thanks !

Room Tip: Garden suite was just fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontZimbali, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We were delighted to read your review and take stock of your overwhelmingly postive feedback. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your memorable experience.

We are thrilled that your initial apprehension has been turned around by your recent experience of staying with us, and even more so, that you desire to return with your wife.

We hope to welcome you and your wife to Fairmont Zimbali Resort in the near future.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
13.0 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,817 reviews
12.9 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,064 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,429 reviews
20.9 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Zimbali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Property: Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Address: PO Box 17, Zimbali | 4420, Ballito 4422, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing