We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Certificate of Excellence
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

1st year wedding anniversary, we decided to go to Durban and had heard about Zimbali from friends who had stayed there. We unfortunately did not realise that there was a golf tournament at the time we were going to be staying there, and had not been advised of this, but we didn't expect that to detract from our stay or experience since we were paying customers. However, we were downgraded to a twin room and were told it was because they had a number of " important functions" over the weekend (we received a bottle of champagne to "make up for the mishap" - my husband and I both don't drink). Only 1 restaurant was accessible, also because of the events - the rest were reserved for the other guests. The shower was not draining properly so our bathroom flooded on the first night, and the AC was not working (but they did send someone to check it out as soon as we called the reception/ concierge) Definitely NOT the 5 star experience they claim to offer. Not impressed at all.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms have a gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VheeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    210
    132
    75
    45
See reviews for
267
316
21
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cape town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Although we stayed 1 night at the Zambali resort we had the most wonderfull time. What an exotic place along the ocean. The rooms are stunning with a fantastic view of the Indian ocean. Service of the reception and conierge was great and we were pampered. .A well spread of breakfast plus the meals in the restaurants were superb and fresh. Location is fantastic if you need to go in to Durban. Will definitly return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indira39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed with our family for 6 days at the Zimbali resort. It was a mixed experience. Location is fantastic, rooms are spacious and restaurants/bar are of good quality. Food is not top notch, though good enough. Concierge was extremely service minded, but reception was below standard. The rooms were not clean and we requested them to redo this. The moisture in the hotel is rather high and corridors are sometimes smelly. The outside acilities are great with a stunning golf course, tennis courts, swimming pools and squash court. Definitely worth staying if you do not expect 5 star in all details.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank michiel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontZimbaliLodge, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your valuable feedback on your stay at Fairmont Zimbali Resort. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a chance to make use of all the wonderful facilities that we have on offer. Our management team has made note of your comments and have addressed your concerns with individual departments.

We hope to welcome you back to Fairmont Zimbali Resort again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Hotel location is okay - as long as you don't want to swim at the beach - and initial impression is good. However, rooms require some maintenance, and a good clean....tap was loose, cupboard door hinge broken, draws that keep opening themselves, phone not working, safety lock hanging by a single screw...dirt behind the door...and an un-flushed toilet when we arrived! Then there was a water logged patch in the passage...which stayed there for the duration of our stay. It was very squishy walking through this each time. We suggested they try and vacuum up the water - which they finally did on the last day. Staff generally helpful, but food options very limited and average...So, certainly a very average vacation experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RudiL99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt Tunguy-Desmarais
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We rented a one bedroom suit at the Fairmont Zimbali which has stayed true to its international status of a world class luxury 5 star hotel group. The architecture and resort itself is spectacular with magnificent views over the Indian ocean. The rooms are stunning with fantastic amenities. The breakfast was a little disappointing as it lacked variety. But the service is great and one feels pampered. It's also a quick drive into town so even though you feel rather disconnected and exotic, you actually not. A perfect balance. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Matt

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at Fairmont Zimbali Resort. We truly value the feedback that we recieve from our guests as it helps us to better our service.

Please be assured that your concerns regarding the breakfast selection have been discussed with our Executive Team. We hope to exceed your expectations on this when you next visit us.

We hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I loved this hotel i went when it was very quiet so not much eating choice, but the rooms and facility's where really nice. The room i was in was just amazing with a bath in the middle of the room. The view was amazing. The service was a bit South African but overal i would definitely stay here again. The position of the hotel is just beautiful and the estate is amazing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The resort is very large. Perhaps it is good for families. There is a nice kiddies club. Becareful of the monkeys! Never leave the room without closing the doors or windows.I think the lodge is more intimate and better for couples. There is also a lovely forest walk at the lodge

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjk852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Forest Walk and that you explored the beautiful estate on which the Fairmont Zimbali Resort is situated. Thank you so much for your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
The Fairmont Zimbali Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ballito
381 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,755 reviews
12.9 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
102 reviews
13.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
350 reviews
22.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Zimbali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Property: Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Address: PO Box 17, Zimbali | 4420, Ballito 4422, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing