We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perched on the edge of the Indian ocean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level Contributor
148 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“perched on the edge of the Indian ocean”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

i just spent the best part of a week in this great hotel. A truly refreshening and beautiful place! From my room in one of the bungaloes, i could see and listen to the waves crashing on the beach. lots of cute monkeys cavort about - careful not to leave your windows open when you are out as they like to steal and eat your lipstick! food very good and staff very kind, thoughtful and friendly. I wuld definitely recommend this place. the only thing is that to go anywhere you really have to drive - the beach in front of hotel not safe for swimming (great for a long walk) because of sharks.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParisFifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    210
    132
    75
    45
See reviews for
267
317
21
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

This hotel is built on prime property with fantastic views. But really there is not much else to recommend it. I have been sitting waiting for the past 30 minutes for Maintenance as their is a leak in the ceiling and the floor is covered in water. The hotel is only a year or two old but looks tired and in need of a serious make-over. The spa is mediocre: I went to shower after a massage and one shower was out of order while the other had empty liquid soap and shampoo containers. The hotel also could not offer a paid late check-out due to "high occupancy and peak arrival expected for the day". The irony is the hotel is almost scarily empty and if you go on to reservations, there are many vacancies.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ElizabethDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
379 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 770 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

The Fairmont Zimbali sits just above the ocean and the view from the reception/ check-in is simply stunning. The hotel is fresh and modern and clean.

You are offered a drink and cool towel on arrival which is a bonus after travelling 24 hours.

The suite I had faced the sea, the bed was huge and the room was very clean. There are several swimming pools in the resort and all of them are pleasant enough to want to spend a day sitting by. There are plenty of things to do such as tennis, nature walks a trip to the beach or a round of golf.

There are many restaurants and the food is varied from local to Seafood, to steaks, and not at all expensive.

The spa had good treatments and facilities and the staff seemed very experienced. I recommend the body treatments in particular.

A note on the service - do not expect American/British levels of speedy service as this is not going to happen in SA. But I did find the staff here competent, approachable and friendly.

I can highly recommend this hotel if you want a slice of luxury in a stunning location. My wife loved the monkeys hanging around the grounds...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank undercoverelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I stayed here for a weekend with my wife after receiving an email around their specials. The Fairmont resort hotel is new (about 2 years old) and contemporary in finish. All rooms on the third level up have a sea view over the pools. The lower floors look onto the pools and gardens. We had a nice room on the 3rd floor with a balcony. The rooms are much bigger than the average hotel room and has an open plan bathroom so you can relax in the bath looking out over the room and the balcony. Everything is very comfortable and what you would expect from a 5 star hotel. I would recommend they stock some firmer pillows though.

The hotel facilities are great with a number of different pools to choose from. Our favorite was the pool at the beach club which has a great bar and restaurant as well. The spa is world class and a must visit if you stay there. Since its part of a larger estate there is a championship golf course which I have played at before although not this time, but I did make use of the mountain bikes to take a ride around the estate.
Service is good. My only complaint would be that its a little slow around the main pool in front of the hotel and there don't seem to be enough waiters for the size of the area.
Food is great with a number of restaurants to choose from in the estate. The Osa restaurant is their high end one catering for meat lovers. Its small, intimate with great food and service.
I would definitely stay here again and we are thinking about doing a family holiday next time.

Room Tip: Join the Fairmont presidents club and you get notified of the specials along with other benefits lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rakman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
245 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed at this resort as part of a work event. I has a sharing room, but some of my colleagues had rooms and even decadent suites to themselves. The pillows werw AMAZING and I dont think I had one bad night of sleep. The food was always good and I suppose we were waited on hand and foot because we were a massive group. The faclities are amazing and its only a short walk to the beach. be prepared for humidity like you've never expereinced it. Fortunately, the hotel was always well air-conditioned. the rooms were decadent and unlike some of the reviews I have read, when ever we had some issues, they responded very quickly. i would recommend this place for honeymooners, but i saw a TON of families of all ages. If you can afford this, then you should definitely visit. They were also catering for special dietary requirements, which was great. Overall, a great spot, and I would go back.

Room Tip: Any room is a great room, because they all face the sea. Unfortunately, if you sleep with your balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SZavahir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

The Fairmont Zimbali is an incredible slice of paradise in east coast South Africa. So many pools to choose from, each with a different flavour.Tennis courts nearby (recommend you take your racquet if you are the least serious about your play). Bikes available, golf course, running routes (be prepared for hills!) a nice little deli and more. While the beach is not a swimming beach (water far too rough) there is a shuttle that will take you to Ballito where there are swimming beaches. We stayed here for four nights after a five week tour around Namibia, Botswana, and Zimbabwe...a ture vacation form the vacation!

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the grounds, main pool, etc. Suites are located off the main hotel in qua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madelineped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We checked in on 28 December at 3:15pm - our room was not ready. After making a fuss then a room was ready. The stay was just marked by one poor service episode after another. Ordered an ice bucket and this took an hour to arrive, shower gel was not always replaced, we had one bath towel between my husband and i on occassion, the bath robe i got on check in was still the same five days later (despite an obvious stain on it). You are asked to indicate if you would like chang of linen - we made this indication a few times and linen was not changed. The same cigarette box at balcony on our first day was there on our departure. We travelled as two couples and our friends had the same experience. We ordered cocktails at 31 degrees Bar and most times got the wrong cocktail - and on one occassion the waiter insisted on charging for the cocktail. Ordered glass champagned and then 15 minutes later the waiter returns to ask 'what was it that you ordered again'. I had stayed at the Lodge some four years ago and had found it excellent - the Resort was however very dissappointing. Went to the spa and our booking was mixed up, then the steamer did not work properly and the manager was quick to mention they would charge for the prior treatment - forgetting to first offer an apology for my cancelled facial! Its a pity as Fairmont has made significant financial investment, the views are great, the ambience is good. The food did not meet expectations at the Coral Tree or the Pool Bar. but there are enough eating options around.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yonititi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ballito
381 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,757 reviews
12.9 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
102 reviews
22.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,395 reviews
13.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Zimbali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Property: Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Address: PO Box 17, Zimbali | 4420, Ballito 4422, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing