We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A special Italian.......”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Al Pescatore

Al Pescatore
Ranked #3 of 74 Restaurants in Ballito
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Unique, creative flavour combinations in a beautiful restaurant with divine cocktails, excellent service and the most amazing view of the ocean in Ballito
Belgium
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A special Italian.......”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

On our trip through ZA, we arrived at Ballito on a rainy saterday.
We have desided to take our lunch in this restaurant.
No regret at all!!!
Try the snails with litchi and the pasta with seafood!!
Perfect service!
Very good wine list!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phille133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    153
    47
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad service, bad food at bad prices”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Really slow bad service, waitresses didn't know who ordered what and both tables that had people around us complained. We ordered a seafood platter and except for the fish (which had no seasoning) everything else was badly cooked. Of the French fries on our plate only one was cooked through.

Really disappointing, it had been recommended to us but we were very unimpressed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heathesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best restaurant in Ballito”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have eaten many times in this restaurant and can honestly say we have never had a bad meal. My most recent meal was swordfish, which was divine and the Scicilian salad is always excellent. The beauty of the restaurant is the owners personalised service. Although we live in Spain now, our first port of call on returning to Ballito will always be Al Pescatore.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShirlZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

- We had a wonderful lazy lunch together with our children, grandchildren and the other set of in laws - the food was excellent, ambience and view great as was the service.
Highly recommended

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 911Bev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Specials”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were taken out to lunch by our SA nephew. I have to admit to being sceptical but was more than happy with his choice. We sat on the terrace enjoying the sea view and the glorious winter sunshine.

The waitress was very courteous and efficient. She described each of the day's specials in detail rather than simply naming them. We generally went for the specials, even knowing that these may take longer to arrive. They were worth the wait. however, given that this was a midweek lunch in winter I don't know how long things might take if they are busy?

One of our party ordered a crepe for a starter and it was a meal in itself so sharing is advised for those who'd do not have gargantuan appetites! Three of us shared a salad, a garlic focaccia and a crab starter - all yummy. Bread rolls were also delivered. this may seem a small thing but as visitor from overseas it is one thing we miss when eating in SA. Hubby and I shared a special fish platter with a lovely mix of mussels, fish/calamari kebabs, large grilled prawns and a baked fill pastry basket filled with mixed sea food in sauce. This was served with chips (fries in the local lingo but chips to us Brits), rice and a variety of fresh veg. This is our usual holiday treat when in KZN and we were not disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank safarifiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Pescatore also viewed

Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Al Pescatore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing