We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place that feels like home ... and .... more ....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kingfisher Country House
Ranked #13 of 58 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Amazing place, amazing people. We were welcomed better than relatives or old friends. The hospitality the style, the details, the surroundings, the birds, the food everything is amazing. I find difficult to describe how we felt during our stay in this paradise. If you are looking for a place to stay in wilderness, then this is the right place to blend your self in nature and the local spirit and tradition.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christosDk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 214 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2010

From the moment we arrived for 5 days of golf in the area we were welcomed like family. The style of the place is country and homely and we immediately felt relaxed and at home.
The rooms are very large with very comfortable beds. The environment is quiet and rural and the house is set in magnificent gardens that are magnets for the local birds. I don't think there is anywhere else you will get so close the beautiful Knysna Lourie. Wild birds abound and feed literally within reach of your armchair.
We stayed 6 nights and played international- quality George, Simola, Plettenberg Bay, Pinacle Point and Kingswood golf courses - all within reasonable driving distance.
We would unreservedly recommend this B&B for anyone wanting to stay somewhere quiet, close to nature and comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainbobCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We stayed in a huge and nicely decorated room in this very charming place. The breakfast, served on the big veranda, was lovely with lots of different choices. But... the most astonishing experience was to see the variety of colorful and exotic birds which were having their "breakfast" directly beside ours! If you love birds, watch them in just an arm's length away and listen to their songs at night, the Kingfisher is THE PLACE to be! Unfortunately, we couldn't stay long enough in South Africa to see all sight-seeing suggestions Sue have given us. She really gave us very good hints for things to see and do during our remaining journey to Port Elisabeth. Sue and Phil, thank you very much for the great stay!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supertouris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

We were here for the birds - which were fantastic. Sue and Phil the owners were lovely but the house is a bit tired and could use an upgrade. Still, breakfast on the deck with all the birds is worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suemillard, Owner at Kingfisher Country House, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2011

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your constructive criticism, it has helped us to look at the house through the eyes of our guests. We tried to create a comfortable, relaxed, farmhouse atmosphere using antique persian carpets, Africana furniture as well as family heirlooms. We are very happy that you enjoyed the beautiful birds and wish you all of the very best in 2011.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

The welcome received by Phil and Sue is second to none. The rooms are very comfortable and beautifully decorated. The breakfast is to die for and everyones preferance is catered for including fresh muffins.We have now stayed there three times so it is like visiting friends.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanicePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

The birds come right up to the veranda and you can see Fork-tailed Drongo, Knysna Turaco, Chorister Robin, Greater and Lesser double collared Sunbird, Olive Thrush and Waxbill just to name a few. Phil and Sue are accommodating hosts and very knowledgeable on the local area. Sue even advised us on places to stop on our journey. Enjoy the breakfast on the veranda especially the frittata which was the best ever. We stayed in the Butterfly room which had a lovely double aspect view and a private door leading onto to veranda. Although the B&B is set in a very quiet area adjacent to Wilderness National Park, there are local restaurants within a 5-10 minute drive. The hosts recommended The Girls and The Blue Olive which we enjoyed very much. If you like birds and nature then I highly recommend this B&B as a stopping point on the Garden Route.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdsukGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Kingerfisher Country House is situated on the very edge of Wilderness in a tranquil location, set within large informal gardens. There is ample parking and the bars and restaurants of Wilderness are only a 5 minute drive away.

Our room was charmingly decorated in a traditional country cottage style and had a dual aspect overlooking the garden on one side with a door onto the terrace on the other.
The ensuite shower room was well equipt with dressing gowns and toiletries.
Each night our windows and curtains were closed, our bed turned down and a chocolate left on each pillow.
The large double bed was very comfortable and we slept soundly until awoken by the dawn chorus.
There was a large and comfortable sitting room but due to the brevity of our visit we did not use this space.
The owners, Sue and Phil, could not have been more welcoming and on arrival we were treated to a pot of tea and lots of helpful hints from Sue of where to walk. She also booked restaurants for us (we particularly loved The Girls) for both nights of our stay.

Breakfasting on the terrace of Kingfisher Country House feels like sitting in a treehouse, nestled in the canopy of the trees with an amazing variety of wild birds visiting the feeders placed within reach of the terrace.

We couldn't do justice to the breakfast - sausages, bacon, stuffed mushrooms, eggs, toast and home made marmalde (and marmite available, the only time in my 2 week stay in SA!) and delicious freshly baked homemade muffins.
We were on a bird watching focussed trip and the garden birds that Sue and Phil have encouraged to their terrace provided one of the high spots of our holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moose-beast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.5 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.9 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
358 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 58 in Wilderness
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Serendipity
Serendipity
#11 of 58 in Wilderness
225 reviews
1.4 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
1.5 mi away
Wilderness on Sea B&B and Self Catering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Country House

Address: 1030, Dumbleton Road | Wilderness National Park, Wilderness, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $78 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingfisher Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious country style guesthouse set in a beautiful rambling garden overlooking Wilderness National Park which is a Ramsar site. Comfortable antique furniture, fresh flowers and romantic log fires in winter create a warm, relaxed atmosphere. Delicious breakfasts (including freshly baked muffins or scones and home made jams)served on the wide, covered veranda. Cosy cottage style en-suite bedrooms have king-size/twin beds, heater, fan, tea/coffee tray and private entrance. Sparkling pool. Prolific bird life, hiking and canoeing along rivers and lakes. Beautiful beaches nearby. Ideal as a base from which to explore our magnificent area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Kingfisher Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing