We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kingfisher Country House
Ranked #13 of 59 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2010

The kingfisher has very friendly and welcoming owners, Sue and Phil, who are both wildlife lovers. The grounds host a wide variety of birdlife and at breakfast the birds come to the feeding station eating out your hands. The house is beautiful and built by Sue and Phil with unique comfy rooms.
This is a must stop for anyone travelling the garden route.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stritchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 217 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2010

The Kingfisher Country House is a warm and lovely home belonging to owners Phil and Sue who open their arms wide to any weary traveller coming through Wilderness. Complete with scenic views, a house full of character, warm hospitality and rare jewels of wildlife, you feel immediately welcomed, awed and never wish to leave!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becky-giddings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

The setting is lovely with an added bonus of birds (including the beautiful Knysna Loerie)close to the deck outside the bedrooms. The owners are extremely warm and welcoming as well as being a mine of information about the area. There is a huge sitting room full of interesting books and knick knacks with a wood fire if it's cold. Breakfast is amazing, different everyday with home-made muffins to keep you going until evening. There are lots of restaurants close by and it is well situated for visiting the area.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briolat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

We have stayed here quite a few times, our previous visit with sister-in-law. She loved the tranquility, as my husband and I do and we are hoping to return this year. Very knowledgeable hosts, Phil & Sue and there is no need to gen up on S. Africa before you arrive as they are both very knowledgeable, especially about the wildlife. Sue loves to talk about her birds who visit at breakfast to be hand fed. They can point you in any direction with an arm full of info to guide you. Our rooms have always been very comfortable, well serviced and furnished.
There are many activities, including a boardwalk around the lagoon. Very good restaurants, we've tried them all. We love Kingfisher Country House, away from the madding crowd, a true haven.J & J Precious & M Lancaster

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenniferpreci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

This was one of the loveliest places we stayed at, during our 7-week tour. Our room was gorgeous, Sue and Phil, the owners were very welcoming and produced the best breakfasts we had ever had, including wonderful home-made muffins. Outside our room was a huge balcony where we took breakfast, with exotic birds feeding right next to us from dishes suspended in a tree. Sue spent hours helping us to arrange things, telling us of places to go etc. She filled our diary for us and we soon realised that our 4-night stay wasn't long enough. Lovely people in a lovely place.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank sandsollom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

We had returned to Kingfisher Country House after a five year absence. We found the friendliness of Sue and Phil as warm as ever. The House is comfortably furnished will lots of unique touches. Sue's homemade breakfasts are fabulous and her knowledge of the area is outstanding.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank handyReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

The owners Sue and Phil provide a very warm welcome and homely atmosphere with spaciousbedroom and facilities. The excellent breakfasts are served on the veranda to the accompaniment of a spectacular array of bird and other wildlife, including the opportunity to handfeed a family of fork tailed dronga. Our hosts provided a great knowledge of their local surrounds and guidance on places to see and things to do. We wish that we could have stayed longer. maybe next time.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.3 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
707 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wilderness on Sea B&B and Self Catering
1.9 mi away
Inn2Wilderness
Inn2Wilderness
#14 of 59 in Wilderness
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#2 of 59 in Wilderness
327 reviews
1 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
384 reviews
0.8 mi away
Moontide Guest House
Moontide Guest House
#5 of 59 in Wilderness
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Country House

Address: 1030, Dumbleton Road | Wilderness National Park, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $74 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingfisher Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious country style guesthouse set in a beautiful rambling garden overlooking Wilderness National Park which is a Ramsar site. Comfortable antique furniture, fresh flowers and romantic log fires in winter create a warm, relaxed atmosphere. Delicious breakfasts (including freshly baked muffins or scones and home made jams)served on the wide, covered veranda. Cosy cottage style en-suite bedrooms have king-size/twin beds, heater, fan, tea/coffee tray and private entrance. Sparkling pool. Prolific bird life, hiking and canoeing along rivers and lakes. Beautiful beaches nearby. Ideal as a base from which to explore our magnificent area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Kingfisher Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing