We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country House Style and Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kingfisher Country House
Ranked #14 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2010

We had returned to Kingfisher Country House after a five year absence. We found the friendliness of Sue and Phil as warm as ever. The House is comfortably furnished will lots of unique touches. Sue's homemade breakfasts are fabulous and her knowledge of the area is outstanding.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank handyReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Kingfisher Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 212 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2010

The owners Sue and Phil provide a very warm welcome and homely atmosphere with spaciousbedroom and facilities. The excellent breakfasts are served on the veranda to the accompaniment of a spectacular array of bird and other wildlife, including the opportunity to handfeed a family of fork tailed dronga. Our hosts provided a great knowledge of their local surrounds and guidance on places to see and things to do. We wish that we could have stayed longer. maybe next time.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

A family of four, we stayed at Kingfisher Country House for four nights. The rooms were spacious, immaculate and very nicely decorated. Breakfast is varied and delicious, and you can watch all kinds of birds. The hosts are very kind, and Sue a mine of information, which was very useful for us. We felt very much at home at this peaceful place!
The only slight drawback was the pool that did not look as welcoming as we thought it looked in the photos. This, however, is not a very important detail, since the beaches are wonderful in this area.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NettieSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suemillard, Owner at Kingfisher Country House, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2011

We are very happy to be able to report that we were blessed with wonderful rain throughout the year and the local dam is now overflowing. As the stringent water restrictions have been lifted we have been able to replant the sections of the garden that were lost in the drought and it is lush and green again. Almost exactly a year ago (when the review was written) the Garden Route was in the throes of the worst drought in 132 years and therefore we were not able to use any water to top up the pool or water the surrounding gardens and lost almost a third of our three quarter of an acre garden. Happily the Garden Route area is looking really beautiful again.
Phil and Sue Millard, Kingfisher Country House, Wilderness

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

What a gem of a place!! The house is beautiful, the location idyllic and the hosts Sue and Phil are not only incredibly friendly but also always available to share their amazing knowledge of the area.
Where to start? As birdwatchers this is a dream place to stay, with a lot of patience and hard work Sue and Phil have attracted an amazing array of bird to the feeders next to the balcony and you can share your breakfast with intimate views of Knysna Turacos among others... birders should not consider staying anywhere else! Sue is also a mine of information on other top sites in the area which will help you see all the other special birds on offer.
The Kingfisher Country House itself is beautiful, with a lovely homely feel and our two nights here were not nearly long enough.
Sue and Phil provide a fine buffet breakfast which was one of the best during our South Africa holiday, and certainly taken in the best location.
Birders and non-birders alike, this is THE place to stay at Wilderness, don't miss it!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobboKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2009

Our hosts Phil and Sue provided us with fantastic, hearty breakfasts and freshly baked muffins. What made our breakfast experience on the verandah so unique was that we were able to enjoy seeing wonderful birds only a few feet away. Sue has invested patience and dedication into feeding birds which have confided trust in her over the years. Knysna Loeries (absolutely stunning with flashes of red underwings showing) land close by to feed. Tiny colourful waxbills, bulbuls, canaries and weavers drop in regularly to enjoy the feast. Birders could get a breakfast list of 15+ species without needing to use binoculars!
This is an ideal location from which to enjoy many great birdwatching hot spots.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreyBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

Phil and Sue Millard who run the Kingfisher Country House are a smashing couple that treated us as family. The guest house is located within the Wilderness National Park. Sue is an excellent cook and provides delicious varied buffet breakfasts which can be enjoyed on their terrace overlooking the garden. Many bird species such as the Knysna Louries are attracted in to the garden. The comfortable lounge has a wealth of books on South African flora and fauna, travel and history. Phil and Sue go out of their way to provide information, suggestions and help to their guests. We will definitely be returning to the Kingfisher for another holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GODFREYSBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

Kingfisher Country House is a birdwatchers paradise. Sue regularly feeds the birds and you can get up close and personal with many species including quite a few which are difficult to see or shy (like the Knysna Lourie).
Sue servers a great breakfast (late - so you need to go birding before breakfast). She also makes a pass available to guests that is (a) free (we felt the cost of using the trails in the National Park were very steep, especially for birdwatchers who might only be interested in the first few hundred meters of a path) and (b) means you don't have to wait at the park HQ until 08:00 to buy a pass. She is enthusiastic and informative regarding the best sites to see particular species and equally informative when it comes to places to eat.
The Country House is situated well outside Wilderness - so a vehicle is required (it is unlikely that you will be visiting Wilderness without your own transport anyway). We felt comfortable, secure and very relaxed here.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PieterW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.5 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.9 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
347 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 57 in Wilderness
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Serendipity
Serendipity
#10 of 57 in Wilderness
219 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hildesheim Guest House
Hildesheim Guest House
#9 of 57 in Wilderness
320 reviews
2.0 mi away
Interlaken Guest House
Interlaken Guest House
#11 of 57 in Wilderness
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Country House

Address: 1030, Dumbleton Road | Wilderness National Park, Wilderness, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $81 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingfisher Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious country style guesthouse set in a beautiful rambling garden overlooking Wilderness National Park which is a Ramsar site. Comfortable antique furniture, fresh flowers and romantic log fires in winter create a warm, relaxed atmosphere. Delicious breakfasts (including freshly baked muffins or scones and home made jams)served on the wide, covered veranda. Cosy cottage style en-suite bedrooms have king-size/twin beds, heater, fan, tea/coffee tray and private entrance. Sparkling pool. Prolific bird life, hiking and canoeing along rivers and lakes. Beautiful beaches nearby. Ideal as a base from which to explore our magnificent area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Kingfisher Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing