We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kingfisher Country House
Ranked #14 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is a wonderful B&B. The house is nestled in the woods, with the most incredible assortment of birds to watch in the yard. The national park/waterfall is just a few blocks further down the road, and the ocean a few blocks the other way. The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had. The rooms were large with beautiful bay windows. I would stay here again if I ever make it back to S.A..

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Kingfisher Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 212 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

Although we did not spend the night at Kingfisher Country House I think, lively as it maybe, it should be made clear that this is in someone's home. We arrived on a cold wet night, to find Phil sitting in front on the TV with no welcoming fire in the large fireplace.
There was a smell of dogs in the living room, which was not exactly appealing, but maybe have been because of the wet weather.
As we decided to not to spend the night, I cannot say anything more.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Beatrice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suemillard, Owner at Kingfisher Country House, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Thank you for your review. However, on the day that you made the reservation we let you know that we had a prior commitment and would need to leave at 6.30 pm. As you mentioned that you would be going out for dinner we decided that it would be highly irresponsible to light a roaring fire and leave it completely unattended. Instead, we warmed the guest sitting room and your bedroom with electric heaters well before your arrival. Your bed was turned down and a chocolate placed on your pillows. I had thoroughly checked the bedrooms, as I always do and found everything to be correct. The only lack of cleanliness was your wet footprints from the veranda to the "Butterfly Room", it had been raining hard. Phil was sitting in the sitting room watching television to fill in time before going out. You arrived shortly before we were to leave, it was already dark. We were making your tea when you decided to "move on" after remaining in our guesthouse for no longer than approximately 10 minutes. We are very sorry that you were disappointed and wish you all the best for 2014. Phil and Sue Millard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We love that place. Lovely house sourrounded by a fabulous garden with many birds to see and to feed. Sue and Phil are great. Altough it kept raining, we had a perfect time. Super breakfast and lots of very helpful tips for all weather conditions.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knut Ansgar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay for anyone, but especially for birders. This was a stopover place on our 7-day birding trip with a guide in the Western Cape, and we were warmly greeted by our hosts, Phil and Sue. The rooms are very comfortable and well-appointed by Sue, an expert in needle-work. There are feeding stations for birds on the porch, and we were treated to drongo birds feeding from our hand when Sue "called" the birds for breakfast. There were spur fowl on the ground and a lovely Knysna Turaco (at eye-level!) stuffing himself with bread on the bird feeder. Any review should highlight the excellent hot breakfast with delicious delicacies as well as omelets. Sue gave us a good recommendation for "The Girls" restaurant nearby for dinner. And she made us fresh muffins for our 11's, a delightful custom we should immediately import to the U.S. Memorable! -Brian and Martha, USA

Room Tip: They are all nice.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

We loved it so much that we decided to stay a few days longer. Starting each day with a wonderfull breakfast on the balcony while colourful birds sing around you. Spotless rooms and very warm people. Sue knows the best spots to discover the Garden Route. 

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank raflew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We didn't plan on staying in Wilderness but after meeting Sue and Phil and experiencing a bit of the Wilderness area, we can say two things with absolute certainty:
1. Don't skip Wilderness. It's a beautiful place with lots to do and see.
2. Do not stay anywhere else but in the Kingfisher Country House!
The rooms are perfect - clean, spacious, nature atmosphere and basically have anything you want or need. In addition, Sue and Phil are really really unique! Except for helping us with anything we needed and giving us great recommendations, they also serve the best breakfast you will find :) and all in a very warm and personal atmosphere.
Thank you very much for having us and hopefully we will visit you again soon :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gal158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

As any trip away is so special to us, it is such a real bonus to know that our B&B stay at The Kingfisher Country House has always been perfect, and we would not consider staying anywhere else. Sue and Phil always give us a genuine welcome. The rooms are so beautifully and carefully decorated, comfortable and homely. I have to mention the perfect breakfasts ,which are given such careful thought and after which we are satiated for the rest of the day. Nothing is too much trouble and all the extras provided go to make for a very relaxing stay - and this is after 3 visits ......so far! We cannot wait to be staying there again. Thank you, Sue and Phil, we look forward to being able to be with you again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneFLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.5 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.9 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
347 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 57 in Wilderness
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Serendipity
Serendipity
#10 of 57 in Wilderness
219 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hildesheim Guest House
Hildesheim Guest House
#9 of 57 in Wilderness
320 reviews
2.0 mi away
Interlaken Guest House
Interlaken Guest House
#11 of 57 in Wilderness
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Country House

Address: 1030, Dumbleton Road | Wilderness National Park, Wilderness, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $81 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingfisher Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious country style guesthouse set in a beautiful rambling garden overlooking Wilderness National Park which is a Ramsar site. Comfortable antique furniture, fresh flowers and romantic log fires in winter create a warm, relaxed atmosphere. Delicious breakfasts (including freshly baked muffins or scones and home made jams)served on the wide, covered veranda. Cosy cottage style en-suite bedrooms have king-size/twin beds, heater, fan, tea/coffee tray and private entrance. Sparkling pool. Prolific bird life, hiking and canoeing along rivers and lakes. Beautiful beaches nearby. Ideal as a base from which to explore our magnificent area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Kingfisher Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing