We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Twitchers paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingfisher Country House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kingfisher Country House
Ranked #13 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Twitchers paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We were very fortunate to have found Kingfisher for our stop on the way to Addo. Sue had told us that she doesn't normally take people for one night only but she did for us as we had booked another night on the way back. What a pleasure it was, nothing was too much trouble, even down to our restaurant booking.
Kingfisher is situated in a lovely place in Wilderness and a twitchers paradise, apparently you can have 35 difference species of birds there. I think we saw the majority when we were there. If you need to know something either Sue or Phil will be able to tell you.
There are some spectacular beaches a short drive away.
Would we go again? Yes most defiantly. Thank you Sue and Phil.
Forgot to mention, Tabard,as the are quite a few mozzies of the non malaria kind

Room Tip: Try for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suemillard, Owner at Kingfisher Country House, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
We appreciate your lovely review, thank you. I enjoyed our conversations about the birds, it is always interesting talking to other birders particularly those from other countries. It is only during the peak season that we prefer not to accept one night reservations as it is the busiest time of the year. "Tabard" is a very good idea, however we do have "plug-in" mosquito machines in every room and they work very well. We don't normally have very many mosquitoes but we had quite a lot of rain and strange humid weather and this might have made the difference. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Kingfisher Country House, have a wonderful, happy 2014.
Best wishes,
Phil and Sue Millard,
Kingfisher Country House, Wilderness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
115
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Sue and Phil were the best hosts on our trip and just visit the other reviews: it is all true :-)

What maybe stands out: Fantastic breakfast, esp. the muffins and the birds joining you in the morning... and then all the travel hints from Sue help you to travel without thick guide books...

This is a 'must stay' - greetings back from Switzerland!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BilbaoMailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suemillard, Owner at Kingfisher Country House, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for a lovely, happy review. Happy guests make happy hosts!! Glad that you enjoyed the muffins and breakfast and found the travel information helpful. Have a super 2014.
Best wishes,
Phil and Sue Millard,
Kingfisher Country House, Wilderness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Our second stay at this delightful Country House. Phil and Sue (abd Tess the Lab) could not be more welcoming and their suggestions of places to visit were always winners. Tuned for different tastes, they can advise trips which will enhance your stay. For me the best experience is 'Birds on the Balcony'. Whilst enjoying the very varied breakfast fare ( muffins a speciality), shy forest birds queue up for their dishes. The Knysna Lourie is a stunner but I was just as happy hand feeding cheese to the Drongo. My favourite stay of our most enjoyable trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suemillard, Owner at Kingfisher Country House, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable trip and that you enjoyed staying with us again for a second time, it is always super to see our guests again and to catch up with all their news. We enjoyed having you to stay with us and Tessa missed you the moment that you left! There are so many lovely activities and places to visit and it gives us great pleasure to be able to help guests to enjoy their outings and to come back "happily tired". Wishing you a wonderful, peaceful 2014.
Best wishes,
Phil and Sue Millard,
Kingfisher Country House, Wilderness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

What a delight to stay in such a welcome and hospitable house. Sue and Phil were great hosts, offering beautiful rooms and the most fantastic breakfasts.
If you are a twitcher then look no further than the terrace where you are joined for breakfast by a colourful variety of birds
This is a 'must stay' for anyone who is en route or looking for a relaxing holiday.

Debbie

York UK

Room Tip: All rooms are delightful. Sorry, there was no room service I ticked in error and could could not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suemillard, Owner at Kingfisher Country House, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments Debbie, we are so blessed to have guests who enjoy the prolific bird life in our area. At the moment we have quite a few quaint chicks visiting our feeding tray, so it is fun to watch their antics! We are happy that you enjoyed the breakfasts. Hope that you have a peaceful, happy 2014.
Best wishes,
Phil and Sue Millard,
Kingfisher Country House, Wilderness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We've travelled throughout South Africa for many years but have never stayed at a place so stunning. The setting is beautiful as others before us have noted but it is the welcome, comfort and Sue's food that defines its difference from other establishments.
Spoil yourself - stay here!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinnerguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suemillard, Owner at Kingfisher Country House, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Your review is super, thank you. We appreciate every review but especially those written by guests who have travelled a great deal in our beautiful country. We look forward to seeing you both again in the future and wish you a wonderful, happy 2014.
Best wishes,
Phil and Sue Millard,
Kingfisher Country House, Wilderness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We had such a wonderful
time staying in the carefully decorated rooms at the lovely Kingfisher Country House. You feel more than welcome when you meet Sue and Phil. It's not only the great diverse breakfast, the chocolate chip cookies and good night sweet in your room and the beautiful garden, it's almost just like coming home after a long time away from your family. They care about you, give you precious advises and arrange many things for you. Exceptionally good place to stay at!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen_MYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suemillard, Owner at Kingfisher Country House, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review Ellen, we really appreciate the time and effort it took. We enjoy treating the guests as we would like to be treated ourselves because each guest is special to us. I love to find a chocolate on my pillow when we stay at a guesthouse, makes me feel special. We hope to welcome you back to Kingfisher in the future.
Best wishes,
Phil and Sue Millard,
Kingfisher Country House, Wilderness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed there solo for two nights on a recent wander through South Africa, and wished I could stay longer. For a bird watcher it is a superb base for searching for the birds of the Garden Route, with the first lifers coming while sitting on the porch, and more to be found within a few miles since the area is surrounded by a number of very diverse environments. The rooms are beautifully and peacefully decorated, the hosts are delightful and helpful, and the breakfasts were the best I had in South Africa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ghugh_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suemillard, Owner at Kingfisher Country House, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
We are very pleased that you saw some excellent birds whilst staying with us, it is always exciting seeing new birds up close. Thank you for the kind comment about breakfast, your review was very encouraging. We enjoyed having you to stay with us and would love to welcome you back in the future. Hoping that you see many more lifers!!

Best wishes,
Phil and Sue Millard,
Kingfisher Country House, Wilderness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.4 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.6 mi away
Haus am Strand
Haus am Strand
#7 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hildesheim Guest House
Hildesheim Guest House
#12 of 56 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Country House

Property: Kingfisher Country House
Address: 1030, Dumbleton Road (off Waterside Road) | Wilderness National Park, Wilderness, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingfisher Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious country style guesthouse set in a beautiful rambling garden overlooking Wilderness National Park which is a Ramsar site. Comfortable antique furniture, fresh flowers and romantic log fires in winter create a warm, relaxed atmosphere. Delicious breakfasts (including freshly baked muffins or scones and home made jams)served on the wide, covered veranda. Cosy cottage style en-suite bedrooms have king-size/twin beds, heater, fan, tea/coffee tray and private entrance. Sparkling pool. Prolific bird life, hiking and canoeing along rivers and lakes. Beautiful beaches nearby. Ideal as a base from which to explore our magnificent area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Kingfisher Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing