We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Superb B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kingfisher Country House
Ranked #13 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Superb B&B”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed 2 nights with Sue and Phil who were great hosts. Sue's knowledge of the wild birds in her garden is amazing but she still finds time to cook superb breakfasts and the standard of accommodation is very good. Sue and Phil also provide very good information on what to do in the local area (walks , visits etc. ) Sue claims to be able to show you enough to do to keep you occupied in the area for 2 weeks and I would not doubt her for a minute.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JnP683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suemillard, Owner at Kingfisher Country House, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. Walking along the Half collared Kingfisher Trail, which meanders along the the banks of the beautiful Touw River, is a wonderful way to relax after enjoying a lazy breakfast. We hope to welcome you back to our beautiful area and look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes,
Phil and Sue Millard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
115
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great hospitality, beautiful location and wonderful breakfast (muffins!!!) with a fantastic birdlife. We really enjoyed the warm and friendly atmosphere. Sue and Phil were great in recommending activities, places, restaurants in the area to get the most our of the stay. The kids enjoyed the lovely little pool among in the garden. A place with the little extra that makes me want to come back again. We had very good accommodation during the trip in South Africa but this is on top of my list!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suemillard, Owner at Kingfisher Country House, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Good afternoon Hakan,
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, it was a pleasure having your family to stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed the muffins and the birds. Yesterday a young Knysna Turaco was being fed by one of the parent birds, it was lovely to watch. It makes us very happy to hear that you
enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again.
Best wishes,
Phil and Sue Millard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I found this guest house by chance, while driving along the narrow road towards Wilderness NP. Lucky for us Sue and her husband still had a beautifully decorated corner room at a more than justified rate available, hence we decided to stay. Soon we would learn how positively this decision would not only influence our stay in Wilderness but also the next couple of days in South Africa as Sue took a lot of time recommending the most interesting places, nature reserves, tours, restaurants etc. throughout the Garden Route and Karoo area. She even booked a tour for us. Breakfast at the veranda, feasting on freshly baked muffins, pies and other delicacies while watching the birds being fed right next to you is a treat. The rooms are decorated with a lot of attention to details. We were truly sad to leave after just two nights and can only recommend this very personally led guest house to every other traveller passing Wilderness!

Room Tip: Corner room facing the veranda and garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoJo_Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suemillard, Owner at Kingfisher Country House, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you very much for writing such a super review, we appreciate it!! We try very hard to make every guest's experience a memorable one and are glad that you found our guesthouse comfortable and relaxing. We live an such a beautiful part of the country and there are so many interesting things to do and see in the area. We really enjoyed having you to stay with us and hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Best wishes,
Phil and Sue Millard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was my 3rd visit to Sue and Phil's wonderful home. They are marvellous hosts and really do make you feel as if you are sharing their home with them. The rooms are wonderful with a beautiful "Victorian" feel. The great treat here is to watch the miriad of beautiful birds being fed their breakfasts, before you are served yours alongside them. Sue's knowledge of the birds is boundless and her enthusiasm so great that you cannot help being drawn in. If you need any information on the area then she will give you everything you need. The breakfasts are legendary and the quality has remained fantastic for at least 5 years. Despite having mobility problems and therefore struggling with the stairs up to the entrance, I would not hesitate to return and indeed I hope to in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Front rooms have direct access to the balcony, but everywhere is peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 63Trish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suemillard, Owner at Kingfisher Country House, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. It is always wonderful to have our guests return to Kingfisher
Country House and it is such fun to hear about their travels, where they have been and what other countries they have visited. We are so fortunate to have such a variety of birds that visit our
bird feeders and live in our garden as they so colourful and cannot be ignored. Phil and I feel really priveleged when guests become our friends. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had the most memorable stay here. It was everything I hope for in a B and B: plenty of charm and amazing hospitality. The owner will perfectly time home made muffins to be warm and fresh out of the oven when you arise in the morning. She gets up at 4 am to bake for breakfast. We also had home made quiche and it was amazing. Our room had the most lovely views over the marsh, I didn't want to leave. I got my best night's sleep of our trip here. Birders should not miss this place. In addition to the hospitality the most lovely and elusive birds stop in to visit. The turacos are breathtaking and they will perch right in front of you. And it was a treat seeing the waxbills so close up! I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safarmikenlauri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suemillard, Owner at Kingfisher Country House, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
What a wonderful review, thank you very much. We are always very pleased to hear that guests enjoy their breakfast, it is important for us to know that we are helping people to enjoy their holiday.
Hot, freshly baked muffins are one of my own favorites, particularly the chocolate ones!! Glad that you slept well while you stayed with us. We look forward to welcoming you when you return.
Best wishes,
Phil and Sue Millard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We visited Kingfisher House in September and were blown away by the hospitality - genuine welcome from lovely people who seem to have thought of everything their guests could want. The rooms are beautiful (we peeked at them all) and the breakfasts unbelievable. We sat on the balcony watching and photographing the amazing birds on the bird feeders and breakfast turned seemlessly into coffee and cake time. An oasis of colour and richness in every way on tough birding trip all over South Africa.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have best birding views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beejoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights over the summer, and would thoroughly recommend. Our room was very comfortable, hospitality was second-to-none, and the breakfasts were the best I've ever had anywhere - delicious home-cooked frittata, quiches, potato skins and muffins all featuring alongside more usual items.

An array of bird feeders adjacent to the breakfast terrace attracts a wide variety of forest birdlife (including a few species that are tricky to see elsewhere), and nearby forest trails offer great birding. Sue is also generous with local knowledge, offering plenty of tips on where to go and what to do.

Room Tip: Rooms opening out onto the balcony are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.5 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
1.3 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
617 reviews
1.4 mi away
Haus am Strand
Haus am Strand
#5 of 56 in Wilderness
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
259 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
442 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 56 in Wilderness
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Country House

Property: Kingfisher Country House
Address: 1030, Dumbleton Road (off Waterside Road) | Wilderness National Park, Wilderness, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingfisher Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious country style guesthouse set in a beautiful rambling garden overlooking Wilderness National Park which is a Ramsar site. Comfortable antique furniture, fresh flowers and romantic log fires in winter create a warm, relaxed atmosphere. Delicious breakfasts (including freshly baked muffins or scones and home made jams)served on the wide, covered veranda. Cosy cottage style en-suite bedrooms have king-size/twin beds, heater, fan, tea/coffee tray and private entrance. Sparkling pool. Prolific bird life, hiking and canoeing along rivers and lakes. Beautiful beaches nearby. Ideal as a base from which to explore our magnificent area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Kingfisher Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing