We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in South Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kingfisher Country House
Ranked #13 of 62 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed here with a group of 4 friends, and immediately felt at home. Sue and Phil's hospitality, their knowledge and passion of the region made our stay unique. I'd read the reviews about the Kingfisher's breakfasts (that's one of the reasons I booked here!), so I can say the expectations were pretty high when I woke up the first day... Well, I can tell you all none of us were disappointed! Housemade muffins, fruit, fresh bread, delicious pancakes and much much more was all we needed to start the day!

So all in all, clean, friendly, and extremely welcoming place (and people)! I wouldn't even hesitate if I had to go to Wilderness again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 222 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2012

A big thank you to Sue and Phil.

You have a wonderful property the allows guest to get up close and personal with some of best birds in South Africa. Sitting less than 1m away from a Knysna Loerie, feeding a Drongo from your hand really was memorable. You even managed to get my husband interested in birding!

Accommodation is very comfortable and breakfast on the veranda, which includes a delicious quich sets you up for a day exploring the area.

What sets this property apart is the sheer knowledge of the owners. Sue should be an ambassordor for tourism! She helped book a round of golf for husband and seemed to know most of the golf courses in the area.

On the birding front, she introduced us to so many species is the short time we were staying. I could hardly keep up. Sue also advised me of various birding sites in the area which were safe for me to go to on my own and I was not disappointed with her recommendation. Sue also managed to book us into Girls Restaurant on the evening we stayed. Great recommendation.

Thank you for making us so welcome, you are fantastic hosts and deserve all the very positive reviews.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CareySJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Comfortable rooms & wonderful breakfasts on the verandah where you can watch an incredible variety of birds from very close especially the Knysna Loeries.
Sue is a mine of information on the birds which makes it all the more interesting.
Well worth a few nights stopover.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Kingfisher Country House is located at the edge of the forest in the heart of the Wilderness National Park. A lovely place for bird watching as the beautiful Knysna Lourie takes his breakfast right next to you (you'll love it). The accommodation offers 5 guestrooms (all in Laura Ashley style , but very clean and cosy, big and with their own bathrooms). Sue and Phil are the perfect hosts - Sue knows the area very very well and has a wealth of information that provides you with visits suited to your tastes. We stayed there 2 nights - enjoyed the great breakfast and hospitality. Sue is almost like a spare mum - in a very nice way. Unfortunately we didn't have enough time to explore the beautiful nature around! We would love to come back sometimes. Perfect for people who love hideaway places without being alone.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ina a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

What a wonderful spot. Phil and Sue are great hosts and Sue's vast knowledge, not only about the surrounding area but also of the country she obviously loves so much, is of great help to visitors like ourselves from overseas. The day starts in a different world where some of South Africa's most beautiful birds are finger tips away as you tuck into the superb breakfast on the outside terrace. Sue has developed such a bond with these birds that some even eat from her hand. Magical! There are wonderful walks in the area with so much of interest for the nature lover.A short drive away are some excellent restaurants, the best two in our opinion being attached to a petrol station-bizarre. Wilderness is a place that people just drive through but take our tip and stay for a few days-you will be surprised!

Room Tip: The Butterfly room is double aspect, is light and airy and has excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Generally great value for the money. Silent and intergrated in the nature and close to many things to do. The paddling in the canal nearby was wonderful! Very warm and personal service, it is a homely place and food is not very modern, but totally ok! I would probably return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staffan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Kingfisher is our "seaside holiday home". With their warmth and hospitality, Sue and Phil have become like family to us over the past 5-6 years. Love the setting, the house and those breakfasts which fuel you up for the whole day! Cant wait to be back again next year!

Room Tip: The spacious "Rose" room is a definite if you have kids. The "Lavender" room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.5 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
1.4 mi away
Wilderness on Sea B&B
Wilderness on Sea B&B
#17 of 62 in Wilderness
150 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wilderness Waters
Wilderness Waters
#7 of 41 in Wilderness
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hildesheim Guest House
Hildesheim Guest House
#12 of 62 in Wilderness
335 reviews
1.5 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 62 in Wilderness
300 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 62 in Wilderness
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Country House

Address: 1030, Dumbleton Road | Wilderness National Park, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $88 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingfisher Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious country style guesthouse set in a beautiful rambling garden overlooking Wilderness National Park which is a Ramsar site. Comfortable antique furniture, fresh flowers and romantic log fires in winter create a warm, relaxed atmosphere. Delicious breakfasts (including freshly baked muffins or scones and home made jams)served on the wide, covered veranda. Cosy cottage style en-suite bedrooms have king-size/twin beds, heater, fan, tea/coffee tray and private entrance. Sparkling pool. Prolific bird life, hiking and canoeing along rivers and lakes. Beautiful beaches nearby. Ideal as a base from which to explore our magnificent area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Kingfisher Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing