We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interlaken - the perfect centre to explore a major part of the Garden Route”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Interlaken Guest House
Ranked #11 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Interlaken Guest House in Wilderness is a natural centre for exploring a large area of the beautiful Garden Route, being easy driving distance from Oudtshoorn, Knysna and Mossel Bay.
This marvellous Guest House is situated just off the N2, with every room overlooking the breathtaking views over the lakes. There is a special “Honeymoon Suite” with unforgettable views and double aspect windows overlooking the lake.
Several good restaurants are close by in Milkwood Village and there are many interesting Kingfisher walks; including a special canoeing and easy walk to a brilliant waterfall.
All the rooms are large, well equipped with basic cooking facilities. Off road parking is an added advantage.
The Hosts, Elsie and Kevin are remarkable; nothing is too much trouble for them to ensure your stay is pleasant and enjoyable. Their sociability, helpfulness and eagerness to assist are second to none.
Kevin’s masterful breakfasts are to die for, he is an underrated gem in producing the most fantastic and mouth-watering breakfasts we have ever met.
In a nutshell, if you are looking for a breathtaking central place to stay with fantastic food and hospitality, then Interlaken has to be the first choice.
Thank you, Val & Denis (Emsworth, England)

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis-Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2011

Hello folks,
Thank you for a lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed another holiday here in this gorgeous part of South Africa and we have had a few good laughs together!!
Thank you for staying with us and hopefully we will see you next year.
Kind regards
Kevin and Elsie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for Interlaken Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 303 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2011

Interlaken is a relaxing place with lots of day trip opportunities, even though we’ve spent a lot of time on the terrace, reading our books and enjoying the view. The hosts are lovely – nothing’s too much trouble for them. We’ve stayed in the room downstairs, which has a perfect view on the lake ... and believe me, waking up to that view and enjoying your first cup of coffee in bed with that view is just the perfect start of the day!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2002_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

Great location and a lovley view of the lake from our room. What makes this a memorable stay for us is the exceptional service provided by Elsie & Kevin, from the friendly & warm welcome to the fantastic home cooked food. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daubyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Interlaken Guest House is just off the main road overlooking the lagoon and I believe all rooms have amazing views. Kevin and Elsie are warm and welcoming hosts who cook an excellent full English breakfast (including Kevin's sumptuous selfmade cereal - he should definitely commerialise it so we can have it back in Amsterdam). This is served in their living room/kitchen with seating on their terrace, making it feel very personal. The room was clean, spacious and modern, adding to the excellent stay we enjoyed at Interlaken. We definitely recommend this place!.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland_Martine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2011

Hi Roland and Martine,
It was lovely having you stay here and you will just have to return for a good breakfast!!

Kind regards
Kevin and Elsie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

An excellent guest house. We stayed in the 'Honeymoon' suite which had a wonderful deck with a stunning view. The owners are very friendly and helpful, and gave excellent advice (which we followed) on restaurant to visit (and to avoid).

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLubbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

This was our favourite place that we stayed in South Africa whilst we were travelling along the Garden Route. As there were not very many guests when we were there, Elsie recommended we stay in the honeymoon suite although we were not on honeymoon. The suite had patio windows all around it and the view across the lake was spectacular, it was a unique experience to go to sleep watching the stars and to wake up and watch the sun rise. Apart from the views, Kevin and Elsie made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was great, yoghurt, eggs and bacon and one day Kevin made us sweetcorn fritters, which were fab. They were also very generous, lending umbrellas, towels and maps for trips to the National Park, and the stay was very good value for money. We would definitely return and recommend this little gem to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

In terms of view, this was the best place we stayed at during our trip along the garden route. In the morning you’re woken by the sun shining through the sliding doors and welcomed by a great view over the lake. The sunbird suite itself is very spacious with a nice bedroom, very well equipped kitchenette – you can really cook in here, not like in other self-catering accommodations where you have to search for a spoon and a usable pan – and a nice living room area.
We enjoyed the time here, this is really a place to relax – you can easily spend the whole day on the terrace watching the lake, the birds or just read a good book without getting bored. For those who want to do something, there are beaches and hiking possibilities around as well.
During our holidays, this was the place we enjoyed the most – getting us away from all.
The hosts are lovely and very welcoming.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _der_Reisende_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
3.5 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
3.3 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
1.1 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 57 in Wilderness
467 reviews
3.5 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 57 in Wilderness
255 reviews
2.7 mi away
Moontide Guest House
Moontide Guest House
#5 of 57 in Wilderness
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Interlaken Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Interlaken Guest House

Address: 713 North Street | PO Box 110, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $77 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Interlaken Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering unsurpassed views, Interlaken's well-appointed suites lead on to sun-splashed decks which overlook both the lake and mountain. Here, guests can relax and luxuriate in a mellow ambiance that only home can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Interlaken Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing