We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Interlaken Guest House
Ranked #9 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amstelveen
1 review
“Very nice place to stay”
Reviewed July 22, 2009

Job and Ida from Amstelveen, Nederland

We really appreciated the hospitality of the owners Elsie and Kevin of this wonderful situated guesthouse. We stayed here for some nights in the top season round Christmas, nevertheless the atmosphere was quiet and friendly. Every day the breakfast was excellent. We enjoyed the vice panoramic views from the house. We hope to come back for a period of rest after another game drive in the north.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodocus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    32
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
234
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2009

The sunrises are excellent and so is the food. The owners will go the extra mile to make your stay comfortable. It's a great base to explore the wonderful area. With very spacious and clean rooms, Interlaken is a treat!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucasstalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2009

This is a lovely B&B. Kevin and Elsie gave us a great welcome. The room was big and bright and clean and it had kitchen facilities which were handy. Not very convenient for nearby restaurants but if you have a car there is lots to do in the area. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lc_eire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2009

A stay at Interlaken you will absolutely enjoy. The rooms are bright and light with lovely views over the lakes. Kevin & Elsie will take very good care of you and make sure you feel at home. They now also have a fabulous jacuzzi. If you ask nicely and book in time, Kevin makes the most wonderful meals. And don't miss the Sedgefield market on a Saturday for breakfast!

Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JessyLip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2009

You could not get better views than this. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and very clean. The hosts are very friendly and genuinely go out of their way to ensure you have a good stay. If you want to do your own thing that's okay but try their meals - they are delicious and the company is excellent. Could not recommend them too highly. This was the best place we stayed at in South Africa.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, April 5, 2009
A big thank you to all our guests that have given us a review on Tripadvisor!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2009

wonderful B&B, fantastic breakfasts, wonderful beds! We stayed here for 2 nights and had a relaxing time. You can't beat the view! And very friendly hosts too :)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emntone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middx.
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2009

We stayed at Interlaken for four nights and from the moment we arrived (after a long drive from Arniston) we felt totally relaxed and refreshed by the captivating views from the verandah and the spaciousness of the suite - we had been impressed by the website but the reality was even better. After settling in we sat, glass of wine in hand, enjoying the comings and goings of the local bird-life and the whole panorama over the lakes and mountains; it took some effort to get ourselves up and out for dinner. Although Interlaken is a little way outside the centre of Wilderness we found it very convenient getting there and back when we needed to and for the other things we wanted to do it was in fact more central. Getting back to Interlaken itself, our first impressions were enhanced over the four days we were there: the suite itself was impressive in size and amenities and spotlessly clean, the breakfasts were beautifully presented and as ample as you cared to make them (!), served on the verandah in the sunshine.....again, it was a little difficult to find the motivation to get up and get going so good was the ambience. The owners themselves were not present while we were there but Theo and Thea, their deputies, were as hospitable as you could hope for and were a mine of local knowledge and good advice.

On the subject of advice, if you are thinking of staying in the Wilderness area my advice is to look no further than Interlaken - we stayed at three other similar venues along the Cape coast and it was by far the best value on all counts.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArankMiddx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
3.5 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
3.5 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
231 reviews
3.3 mi away
Haus am Strand
Haus am Strand
#6 of 56 in Wilderness
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
453 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
#8 of 56 in Wilderness
227 reviews
2.4 mi away
Serendipity
Serendipity
#11 of 56 in Wilderness
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Interlaken Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Interlaken Guest House

Property: Interlaken Guest House
Address: 713 North Street | PO Box 110, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Interlaken Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering unsurpassed views, Interlaken's well-appointed suites lead on to sun-splashed decks which overlook both the lake and mountain. Here, guests can relax and luxuriate in a mellow ambiance that only home can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Interlaken Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing