We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay on Garden Route”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Interlaken Guest House
Ranked #10 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best stay on Garden Route”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We where fortunate enough to discover this gem on the Garden Route and we immediately booked for 5 nights. Everything we hoped to find in a guesthouse was there, and more. A beautiful large room with amazing terrace and views! At night the birds sing you into a deep sleep.
Could go on and on about the great breakfast, good central location, free wifi and great hosts, but will leave something to imagination. If ever on the garden route, be sure to book a few nights here! M&T

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We are very fortunate to be in the National Park and grateful for our most beautiful view so thank you so much for your lovely review, we really missed you when you left........ see you in Portugal one day!
Kind regards
Kevin and Elsie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    32
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
234
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I've just returned from a 3 nights stay at Interlaken which i used as a base to explore the wonderful Garden Route. It was a perfect choice. The rooms are impeccable and the magnificent lake views are simply stunning! Its ideal location ensured that i was very close to that endless, sandy Wilderness beach, the National Park and many other attractions along this route. The owners Kevin en Elsie gave excellent advice about all things wild and wonderful in the area.
With so much to do and the happy and relaxed atmosphere that they created i would gladly have stayed a bit longer so i'll definitely be back for more!
Yvonne T

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing Interlaken Guest House to use as a base for exploring the Garden Route, it was really a pleasure having you stay here and we hope to see you again soon, you are alwaysd very welcome!!
Kind regards
Elsie and Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at interlaken for 2 nights in Feb 2013 on a 3 week tour of the garden route.

The rooms are nice, more suites, with a small fully equipped kitchen, a lounge area, TV etc. but the real highlight was the unbelievable view over the lake. It's so peaceful and serene there.

The other huge plus point here is the level of service you recieve. Nothing is too much trouble, and the owners are able to talk in detail about restaurant options and things to do during the day. The info pack in the room is also really well prepared.

I also loved that Kevin cooked breakfast for us, felt like a really nice personal touch that showed up other places that we had stayed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
It was a pleasure having you stay here, thank you so much for your review and it was nice to see you enjoy your breakfast as much as you did!! Thanks for choosing Interlaken!!
Kind regards
Kevin and Elsie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sway, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We spent a couple of nights here. Comfortable accommodation - very spacious with balcony overlooking the lake. The views are spectacular. Elsie and Kevin the owners are very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are delicious. Our only criticism is that we were unable to stay for an extra night! We have no hesitation in recommending this lovely guest house and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, we were just as sorry that we couldnt accommodate you for another evening and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay as much as you did!!
Kind regards
Kevin and Elsie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We came here after staying at St Francis Bay at Sandriver Lodge. Anneke told us how good this place (owned by her uncle and auntie!) was! We only stayed one night at this beautiful house but it was simply the most relaxing view over the lake and nature and the warm and friendly welcome you could expect!
5 minutes by car from Wilderness and right next to the coast but calm and chic decor;
Huge bed and amazing view from the wide private terrace. You could pick a wisely chosen bottle of south african wine and taste it while enjoying the atmosphere and relax overnight en route to Cape Town... Beautiful breakfast with the same view but next to the pool. Incredible feeling of well being and professional care from Elsie et Kevin. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campagne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
When I sent Anneke a sms to let her know that you had arrived here and all was fine her reply was
" they are sooo nice" and that is absolutely right!! It was good to chat a little at breakfast time with you and we enjoyed having you here so thanks for staying with us ( thanks Anneke!!) and we wish you all of the very best for 2013, we hope it will be a good year for you!!
Regards
Elsie and Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We had been 'warned' that one night would not be enough in this B&B whose greatest asset clearly is the hospitality of its hosts. Thoroughly enjoying talking to them, we actually delayed our onward journey by a couple of hours.
The house is on a main road which means a bit of traffic noise, and the price of accommodation is a little above standard, but the following make up for this:
- cleanliness
- view over the lagoon out the back decking area
- free wireless internet
- kitchen utensils

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veepka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
We certainly had a good laugh together so thank you for staying with us and it was really good to hear the saying " far out" again, havent heard that for years!!!
We wish you all of the very best for 2013 and thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed at Interlaken this November 2012. During our travels in South Africa we haven't experienced any better B&B than Interlaken. It has the best view you can possible imagine directly from your room while enjoying very nice breakfast from Kevin. The rooms are very modern, well furnished and make you feel at home. The very friendly and kind guests make the stay even better and enjoyable experience. Great value for superb quality!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Hutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Hi Peter, apologies for the delay in replying to you, it is really hectic here this time of the year!
Thank you for all your help with our IT, you are officially called " one of the google 3" ! It was an absolute pleasure having you stay here and we enjoyed the South African braai just as much as you did!!

We wish you all of the very best for 2013 and we hope it will be a good year for you!!

Cheers
Elsie and Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
3.5 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
3.3 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
659 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
3.5 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
238 reviews
1.1 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Interlaken Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Interlaken Guest House

Property: Interlaken Guest House
Address: 713 North Street | PO Box 110, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Interlaken Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering unsurpassed views, Interlaken's well-appointed suites lead on to sun-splashed decks which overlook both the lake and mountain. Here, guests can relax and luxuriate in a mellow ambiance that only home can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Interlaken Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing