We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the soul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Interlaken Guest House
Ranked #11 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We spent a couple of nights here. Comfortable accommodation - very spacious with balcony overlooking the lake. The views are spectacular. Elsie and Kevin the owners are very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are delicious. Our only criticism is that we were unable to stay for an extra night! We have no hesitation in recommending this lovely guest house and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for staying with us, we were just as sorry that we couldnt accommodate you for another evening and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay as much as you did!!
Kind regards
Kevin and Elsie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for Interlaken Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 303 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

We came here after staying at St Francis Bay at Sandriver Lodge. Anneke told us how good this place (owned by her uncle and auntie!) was! We only stayed one night at this beautiful house but it was simply the most relaxing view over the lake and nature and the warm and friendly welcome you could expect!
5 minutes by car from Wilderness and right next to the coast but calm and chic decor;
Huge bed and amazing view from the wide private terrace. You could pick a wisely chosen bottle of south african wine and taste it while enjoying the atmosphere and relax overnight en route to Cape Town... Beautiful breakfast with the same view but next to the pool. Incredible feeling of well being and professional care from Elsie et Kevin. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank campagne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

When I sent Anneke a sms to let her know that you had arrived here and all was fine her reply was
" they are sooo nice" and that is absolutely right!! It was good to chat a little at breakfast time with you and we enjoyed having you here so thanks for staying with us ( thanks Anneke!!) and we wish you all of the very best for 2013, we hope it will be a good year for you!!
Regards
Elsie and Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We had been 'warned' that one night would not be enough in this B&B whose greatest asset clearly is the hospitality of its hosts. Thoroughly enjoying talking to them, we actually delayed our onward journey by a couple of hours.
The house is on a main road which means a bit of traffic noise, and the price of accommodation is a little above standard, but the following make up for this:
- cleanliness
- view over the lagoon out the back decking area
- free wireless internet
- kitchen utensils

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank veepka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

We certainly had a good laugh together so thank you for staying with us and it was really good to hear the saying " far out" again, havent heard that for years!!!
We wish you all of the very best for 2013 and thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed at Interlaken this November 2012. During our travels in South Africa we haven't experienced any better B&B than Interlaken. It has the best view you can possible imagine directly from your room while enjoying very nice breakfast from Kevin. The rooms are very modern, well furnished and make you feel at home. The very friendly and kind guests make the stay even better and enjoyable experience. Great value for superb quality!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_Hutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Hi Peter, apologies for the delay in replying to you, it is really hectic here this time of the year!
Thank you for all your help with our IT, you are officially called " one of the google 3" ! It was an absolute pleasure having you stay here and we enjoyed the South African braai just as much as you did!!

We wish you all of the very best for 2013 and we hope it will be a good year for you!!

Cheers
Elsie and Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Interlaken in January 2010. We had a fantastic stay, having already stayed at 2 other great B&B / Hotels in Wilderness. The owners were great hosts and breakfast had one of the best views I have had the pleasure of enjoyng. The guest house has a spectacular vista out over the lakes, and the pool view makes for an eye opening cool off. Our room was well equipped and very homely. Interlaken offers a fabulous location, great hosts and excellent value for money. We have travelled extensively and I would not hesitate in recommending this guest house to anyone staying in Wilderness, South Africa.
Please ignore date below - date in text correct!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GUYSwansea_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Unfortunately our old brains cant think back so far, however, thank you for the review and we are pleased that you still remember our stunning views!!!

Kind regards
Kevin and Elsie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Kevin and Elsie are impeccable hosts -- from the first day of our arrival to our departure they ensured that our stay was to the highest of standards. The room was very modern, tidy, well equipped and above all homey. But what made this place stand out over all other places we stayed in South Africa was the view.

Interlaken has an outstanding view of the Island Lake in Wilderness. I don't think anyone would get bored with this view.

There is a small pool which is great for winding down after a long day of hiking. Kevin and Elsie invited us to experience a real (and amazing!) South African braai here, which completed the experience. We had an amazing time here!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svetstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the South African braai and our gorgeous views, it was lovely chatting to what we call the " Google three"!!!

Thank you for staying with us and dont forget to bring your mom here some day!!!
We wish you all of the very best for 2013!!
Regards
Kevin and Elsie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Kevin and Elsie have an amazing spot over looking the Touw River. We stayed 2 non-consecutive nights on the way to and from our eastern cape game park experience. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious but that all pales in comparison to the view and the generous deck you have to enjoy it from.

Kevin and Elsie recommend Zucchini for dinner. It's about 5km down the road but Elsie happily offered her services as taxi driver. We ate there both times and weren't disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karl_elisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

It was a pleasure meeting you and have all of you stay here, the taxi drive meant that you could really enjoy your dinner, have some good S.A wines and as your fellow countrymen would say " no worries"!! Thanks for your review and we wish you all of the very best for 2013!!

regards
Kevin and Elsie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
3.5 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
3.3 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
1.1 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 57 in Wilderness
467 reviews
3.5 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 57 in Wilderness
255 reviews
2.7 mi away
Moontide Guest House
Moontide Guest House
#5 of 57 in Wilderness
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Interlaken Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Interlaken Guest House

Address: 713 North Street | PO Box 110, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $77 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Interlaken Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering unsurpassed views, Interlaken's well-appointed suites lead on to sun-splashed decks which overlook both the lake and mountain. Here, guests can relax and luxuriate in a mellow ambiance that only home can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Interlaken Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing