We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interlaken 2010”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Interlaken Guest House
Ranked #12 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
SWANSEA, WALES
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interlaken 2010”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Interlaken in January 2010. We had a fantastic stay, having already stayed at 2 other great B&B / Hotels in Wilderness. The owners were great hosts and breakfast had one of the best views I have had the pleasure of enjoyng. The guest house has a spectacular vista out over the lakes, and the pool view makes for an eye opening cool off. Our room was well equipped and very homely. Interlaken offers a fabulous location, great hosts and excellent value for money. We have travelled extensively and I would not hesitate in recommending this guest house to anyone staying in Wilderness, South Africa.
Please ignore date below - date in text correct!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GUYSwansea_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Unfortunately our old brains cant think back so far, however, thank you for the review and we are pleased that you still remember our stunning views!!!

Kind regards
Kevin and Elsie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    32
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
234
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Kevin and Elsie are impeccable hosts -- from the first day of our arrival to our departure they ensured that our stay was to the highest of standards. The room was very modern, tidy, well equipped and above all homey. But what made this place stand out over all other places we stayed in South Africa was the view.

Interlaken has an outstanding view of the Island Lake in Wilderness. I don't think anyone would get bored with this view.

There is a small pool which is great for winding down after a long day of hiking. Kevin and Elsie invited us to experience a real (and amazing!) South African braai here, which completed the experience. We had an amazing time here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the South African braai and our gorgeous views, it was lovely chatting to what we call the " Google three"!!!

Thank you for staying with us and dont forget to bring your mom here some day!!!
We wish you all of the very best for 2013!!
Regards
Kevin and Elsie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Kevin and Elsie have an amazing spot over looking the Touw River. We stayed 2 non-consecutive nights on the way to and from our eastern cape game park experience. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious but that all pales in comparison to the view and the generous deck you have to enjoy it from.

Kevin and Elsie recommend Zucchini for dinner. It's about 5km down the road but Elsie happily offered her services as taxi driver. We ate there both times and weren't disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karl_elisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
It was a pleasure meeting you and have all of you stay here, the taxi drive meant that you could really enjoy your dinner, have some good S.A wines and as your fellow countrymen would say " no worries"!! Thanks for your review and we wish you all of the very best for 2013!!

regards
Kevin and Elsie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Upon our arrival we were welcomed by the hosts Kevin and Elsie in such a friendly way. We were pleasantly surprised when we saw our tidy room with a stunning view over the lake. The location is superb, because besides this view, you are also less than 5 minutes away from the spectacular beach of Wildernis. If that is not enough, you can enjoy the small swimming pool with one of the best views you'll ever have from a pool.

Kevin and Elsie are a lovely couple who made us feel at home, taught us a lot about South Africa and showed us a great time with a hosted dinner with spectacular food. This has honestly been my best Guest House experience ever and I had a hard time leaving this place.

Room Tip: All rooms have a spectacular view so you can't go wrong in Interlaken. The honeymoon suite offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hello Jordy,

Your best Guest House experience ever? We will accept that compliment gladly from a well travelled young man like you!! We enjoyed chatting to you and sharing our passion for our country !!! Kevin and I call you " the dutch google guy" because of what you do so thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely review and of course it goes without saying that you are welcome back here anytime!! Use us as a base to explore this lovely area.
All of the very best for 2013, regards Kevin and Elsie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Feel like home, friendly owners/hosts, great view and perfect atmosphere. Good bed and perfect spot. We stayed in the honeymoon room with a big terras. Close to the beach and base to different nice places.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martijn007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, we are so pleased that you felt "at home" and of course you are always welcome "home"!!
All of the very best for 2013,
Regards
Kevin and Elsie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at Interlaken. And after having travelled for three weeks along the west cape and having stayed in many guest houses I can definately say this was our best experience! Spacious and clean room, excellent bed (finally!), stunning views from our balcony and a superb breakfast.

You do need a car to get you to the small centre of Wilderness and it's national park. Beside enjoying the beautiful nature there is not really much to do in Wilderness.

Kevin and Elsie are very friendly and helpfull hosts. Since Elsie's parents come from Holland she speaks Dutch. It was really lovely to have a chat in Dutch with her about SA. And Elsie definately has an opinion about SA!

Elsie, het was erg leuk om even met je te praten over jouw leven en ervaringen in Zuid-Afrika. In onze eigen moerstaal :-) Je bent een enthousiaste verteller! En ook wij zijn verliefd geworden op Zuid-Afrika. Wie weet tot ziens!

Marlou Manuels

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarlouDenHaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
It was such a pleasure meeting you and have you stay here!!

Yes, I am passionate about this beautiful country and we live in such a stunning place with the most breathtaking views, one cant help being enthusiastic!!

Ek kan Nederlands praaten maar niet schrywen want dan gaat iedereen heel erg laggen!! Wy zyn zo bly that you have fallen in love with S.A and I know we will see you again!

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review.
Groetjes
Kevin en Elsie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had 2 great days in Interlaken with Kevin and Elsie.
The rooms are clean and welcoming. The views are great.
The best breakfast in South Africa!
Although we had a bad weather we enjoyed our stay!
The rooms are perfect but not as perfect as the hosts.
Thank you Kevin and Elsie for making us feel like home away from home!

See you next time in Israel,
Gal and Marina

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks Marina and Gul, it was interesting for us to chat to you and learn more about Israel and compare notes!!!

Next time you will have to come back here in summer when we can guarantee you good weather!! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Kind regards
Kevin and Elsie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
3.5 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
3.3 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
657 reviews
3.3 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
453 reviews
1.1 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
328 reviews
3.5 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Interlaken Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Interlaken Guest House

Property: Interlaken Guest House
Address: 713 North Street | PO Box 110, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Interlaken Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering unsurpassed views, Interlaken's well-appointed suites lead on to sun-splashed decks which overlook both the lake and mountain. Here, guests can relax and luxuriate in a mellow ambiance that only home can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Interlaken Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing