We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like home, friendly owners, great view and perfect atmosphere.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Interlaken Guest House
Ranked #9 of 59 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Feel like home, friendly owners/hosts, great view and perfect atmosphere. Good bed and perfect spot. We stayed in the honeymoon room with a big terras. Close to the beach and base to different nice places.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martijn007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you so much for your review, we are so pleased that you felt "at home" and of course you are always welcome "home"!!
All of the very best for 2013,
Regards
Kevin and Elsie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 316 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at Interlaken. And after having travelled for three weeks along the west cape and having stayed in many guest houses I can definately say this was our best experience! Spacious and clean room, excellent bed (finally!), stunning views from our balcony and a superb breakfast.

You do need a car to get you to the small centre of Wilderness and it's national park. Beside enjoying the beautiful nature there is not really much to do in Wilderness.

Kevin and Elsie are very friendly and helpfull hosts. Since Elsie's parents come from Holland she speaks Dutch. It was really lovely to have a chat in Dutch with her about SA. And Elsie definately has an opinion about SA!

Elsie, het was erg leuk om even met je te praten over jouw leven en ervaringen in Zuid-Afrika. In onze eigen moerstaal :-) Je bent een enthousiaste verteller! En ook wij zijn verliefd geworden op Zuid-Afrika. Wie weet tot ziens!

Marlou Manuels

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarlouDenHaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

It was such a pleasure meeting you and have you stay here!!

Yes, I am passionate about this beautiful country and we live in such a stunning place with the most breathtaking views, one cant help being enthusiastic!!

Ek kan Nederlands praaten maar niet schrywen want dan gaat iedereen heel erg laggen!! Wy zyn zo bly that you have fallen in love with S.A and I know we will see you again!

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review.
Groetjes
Kevin en Elsie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had 2 great days in Interlaken with Kevin and Elsie.
The rooms are clean and welcoming. The views are great.
The best breakfast in South Africa!
Although we had a bad weather we enjoyed our stay!
The rooms are perfect but not as perfect as the hosts.
Thank you Kevin and Elsie for making us feel like home away from home!

See you next time in Israel,
Gal and Marina

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thanks Marina and Gul, it was interesting for us to chat to you and learn more about Israel and compare notes!!!

Next time you will have to come back here in summer when we can guarantee you good weather!! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Kind regards
Kevin and Elsie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Well, what can I say. How can one improve on perfection. Elsie, you have a marvelous recipe for a well run guest house. It was 110% great to see you again after all these years and you have not changed one bit. Still the bubbling laughing personality. It was great to catch up again.
We will definately be back again and forget about dinner in town. Overlooking the vleis was the best present for both of us.Best wishes and all success on the way forward. Karin and Stuart

Room Tip: Take a pair of binoculars to check the local Fish eagles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skirkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Hello Stuart,

Many thanks for your review. It was lovely to see you again and meet Karin and catch up with all the news!!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your suite and the gorgeous view of the lake and you are most welcome anytime!!! The Fish Eagles are the cherry on the top!!

Regards
Elsie and Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The guest house is superb and Kevin and Elsie are the perfect hosts. After many days traveling, being in Interlaken was a balm bath for the soul. Spacious and extremely comfortable rooms, with astonishing views over the lagoon and the wilderness national park. I could spot Fisher Eagles from the terrace, while looking at the amazing sunset.Kevin and Elsie made their utmost to make me feel comfortable and at home. If you are lucky and they are preparing dinner...dont miss it for ANYTHING in this world. I dine in Interlaken two nights: simply SUPERB, meat that was melting in my mouth, beautiful fish and amazing wine. All simply PERFECT!!! Thanks for a WON-DER-FUL stay. I truly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cristina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Hello Cristina,
Thank you so much for your review and it was a pleasure for Kevin to cook you lovely dinners because you said you eat anything, easier than that you dont get!!
We hope to see you again when you bring your friend to see this lovely country of ours, despite his dislike of long flights!! We know he would love it here! Kind regards Kevin and Elsie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

There is not much to say about the Interlaken, except for: Great location, gorgeous view, marvellous rooms, absolutely tasty breakfast (we so much Miss Kevin's muesli), and the most friendly hosts you can imagine!!! Simply said: this B&B an its surroundings are just heavenly!!!
Already when we asked for vacancies via mail some months prior to our SA trip, we noticed that Kevin & Elsie are so much loving what they do. The rooms are newly refurbished and you actually don't have to leave the place: just grab the sunchair and sit infront of your room and enjoy the view! Wie unfortunately stayed only 2 days, if we once come back to SA then its definately Interlaken @ Elsie & Kevin for far longer than 2 days!!!
Elsie, Kevin thanks for making this stay so special for us; think you have realized that we really struggeled finally leaving your place!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvCa112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Aha, such a nice surprise to hear from you two!!! Thank you for your review and trust us, we missed you just as much when you left!! It was lovely to see you tuck into your breakfast and relax and enjoy yourselves!! Kevin will happily make you a packet full of muesli next time you come back which we know you will! Thanks again from a gorgeous Wilderness and Kevin and Elsie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We returned to Interlaken Guest House having had a wonderful stay there in 2011 (reference my review 26May2011). As before, everything was perfect on our recent 2 day stay and it's difficult to add to the superlatives in my and other guests reviews.

The titles of its Trip Advisor reviews alone reflect the excellence of this Guest House which well deserves its consistently high ratings. To summarise:

Outstanding hospitality and helpfulness from the hosts Elsie and Kevin.
Breathtaking views from rooms and balcony.
Rooms spacious, clean and comfortable with amenities including large bed, well stocked reasonably priced honesty fridge, satellite TV and strong WiFi.
Breakfasts delicious, substantial and taken on the lovely patio beside the swimming pool overlooking the lake.
Location very convenient for many places on Garden Route
Excellent restaurants within short drive. We loved ‘The Girls’, and Pomodoro was great for pizzas.

Interlaken will again be our first choice on the Garden Route when we next return to South Africa.

Tip 1: If you go to see the Map of Africa, cross the road to view the awe-inspiring view of the Wilderness coast.
Tip 2: If you wish to settle your bill by credit card this will be done via Booksure which may ask for your user name and password (not PIN) for cards authenticated by ‘Verified by VISA’ or the Mastercard equivalent. Fortunately I remembered my password otherwise could not have paid!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

It was wonderful to see you again, a bit like family coming on their annual holiday and we hope to see you in 2013 !! Thanks for your support!
Regards
Kevin and Elsie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
3.5 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
2.7 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 59 in Wilderness
489 reviews
3.5 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 59 in Wilderness
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 59 in Wilderness
327 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wilderness on Sea B&B and Self Catering
3.3 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Interlaken Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Interlaken Guest House

Address: 713 North Street | PO Box 110, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $70 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Interlaken Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering unsurpassed views, Interlaken's well-appointed suites lead on to sun-splashed decks which overlook both the lake and mountain. Here, guests can relax and luxuriate in a mellow ambiance that only home can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Interlaken Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing