We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view”
Review of Boardwalk Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boardwalk Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic view”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

What a great view on the sea from the cottage terrace. A very nice place, with fancy interior design, unfortunately no internet access though (only from the lobby). Nice pool area and friendly hosts. With bad weather the isolation gets tested to its max, and the chalet gets very cold at night even in in summer.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    81
    28
    6
    6
See reviews for
55
155
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at the boardwalk lodge for two nights at the start of a tour of Africa. Decent rooms and the view was outstanding. Very private.

Wilderness is a great little place. The township itself has some decent restaurants and it is a very laid back place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leanneandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Our stay at Boardwalk was absolutely great! Thank you to the staff for all for the great service and profesionality. The room was stunning and the view was awsome. We would definitely recommend Boardwalk to anyone who wants a great time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hilco & Madri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The design of the lodge was amazing it really made you feel like you were in a luxury tree house. We had views of the sea from our balcony. The staff were very attentive. We enjoyed being able to walk down into the village to eat in the evening, it felt very safe to do this although there was a lack of foot paths. We would recommend doing some of the walks in the National park. We were disappointed not to meet one of the very large South African rain spiders, but did see beautiful kingfishers and a lovely waterfall.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We very much enjoyed the luxury studio we rented for two nights. It was by far our favorite accommodation of our 2.5 week South Africa trip. We didn't find that much to do in Wilderness but still decided to stay for two nights because we loved the boardwalk lodge so much. It did get very light very early in the apartment which was the only negative thing to report.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Lovely setting, peaceful and private. Rooms are quite basic for a 4 star-need a bit more attention to detail like rusks for your complimentarty coffee/tea, ice in the fridge, a choccie on your pillow etc. Staff were friendly though and we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ralph & Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We had a very nice time in wilderness, lots to do and see.
The service was very good and friendly all the time.
We would definitely recommend Boardwalk to any couple looking for a nice romantic quite stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Quintin & Marle... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.1 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
667 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 57 in Wilderness
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
0.3 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 57 in Wilderness
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Lodge

Property: Boardwalk Lodge
Address: Young Terrace | Constantia Kloof Road, Wilderness 6529, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Boardwalk Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boardwalk Lodge, a four-star guest house and self-catering lodge, is a popular retreat within the tranquil seaside village of Wilderness. Set high on the slopes above the village, a short stroll from the beach and lake below, the lodge’s innovative design, exclusive features and excellent facilities provide the ultimate Wilderness experience.You will be warmly welcomed by our attentive lodge staff and will love the luxury rooms, stylish suites and comfortable self-catering timber chalets. All have private decks overlooking the village, lagoon and sea.Whether staying for a night, a weekend or a week, Boardwalk Lodge with its picture-perfect views and lovely setting amidst natural forest vegetation provides the perfect venue for a glorious holiday.Boardwalk Lodge is an ideal venue for intimate small weddings, honeymoons, celebrations, meetings, small conferences, team building events, or other corporate functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Boardwalk Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing