We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boardwalk Lodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boardwalk Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Boardwalk Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
1 review
“Boardwalk Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We've always driven through Wilderness en-route to other destinations and have always wanted to stay there. We did in February on the way back to Cape Town while on a road trip from Durban.

We stayed at the Boardwalk Lodge - perched on the hill overlooking Wilderness.

It was a wonderful experience and an amazing place to stay. We arrived on a Sunday after driving from Addo Elephant, and as things go the trip dragged out and we arrived later than our planned ETA. We did advise them of this on route but there was absolutely no problem with this though - the lady at reception couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful despite her Sunday afternoon being spoiled waiting for us.

We were in one of the self-catering cabins at the top - 152 steps but well worth it! - and the views are amazing. One sees the village below, the beach and coastline and the lakes spread out below. The unit was well appointed with everything we needed and was serviced daily.

All the staff we met - from the porter to the Marketing, Sales and Guest Relations manager Mariana - were ultra friendly and went out of their way to provide assistance of any kind and local info which certainly enhanced our stay.

We have a three year old and enjoyed the pool and exploring the area with her and again the staff went out of their way to interact and assist us in every way.

We had a great time and will definitely be going back to enjoy the warmth and hospitality of the people and this stunning lodge.

Room Tip: There is an option of self-catring cabins or luxury suites. We chose a cabin as being more child fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FreeSpririt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    78
    27
    6
    5
See reviews for
50
149
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

I booked in to Boardwalk Lodge knowing my partner have always wanted to stay there whenever we drive through the amazing Wilderness area. It was to celebrate our 3 year anniversary, so I wanted to treat her to something special I knew she would enjoy.

Boardwalk Lodge truly exceeded our expectations. Our room ( Luxury Studio Suite No 1 ) was amazing. Clean, modern, comfortable, amazing views over Wilderness, very nice shower heads and overall great decor.

After we were advised on which restaurants to try, we could walk to the town area safely and dine there. It was great. We didn't have to worry about driving at all.

We slept like babies in the clean and crisp bedding. It was so cozy and comfortable, we only got up just in time for breakfast.

The breakfast room was spacious and open. We could have hot and cold breakfast and it all tasted great. The staff prepared our hot breakfast to perfection and I was actually amazing at how great tasting the food was.

We would definitely return to stay here again!

Room Tip: I did not see the inside of the self-catering cottages, but for groups that would be a great option...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel on various occasions over the past two years. The rooms were always good but the staff, breakfasts and general service has been going down hill and are now really bad. I have now decided to stay somewhere else on my regular trips to the garden route.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyw1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed at Boardwalk Lodge for 3 nights in an Executive Suite - by far our most expensive accommodation on our garden route road trip. The accommodation is very central, with a lovely view. The rooms are a little smaller than we thought they would be, and the towels were rather threadbare and old. There is a small kitchenette with fridge etc, and an outside gas braai which we used on the first night as we were a bit tired of eating out. The braai was dirty and broken - something we should have checked before attempting to cook on it!! Our steaks ended up in the bin.
The pool area etc is lovely. A very nice place but for the price, we might look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Boardwalk Lodge back in March on what was intended for a one-night stay, but ended up becoming two. I had become too ill to travel and the staff were accomodated us for an additional night (we didn't have to move rooms despite ours having been booked). They even rustled up a DVD player for us to use whilst I was convalescing. My partner made use of the pool facilities which was clean and benefitted from an incredible view of the sea. We spotted a rather large (well, large for Northern Hemisphere standards) spider in the room, and help was a phone call away. When it became apparent that the spider was hidden (but still in the room) and had explained our arachiphobia, they graciously moved us to another (larger) room at no additional cost. They couldn't be more helpful and friendly throughout our entire stay, and should we ever make it back to that part of the world, would definitely be back.

Room Tip: It's likely that spiders will get into your room if you keep the doors/windows open, but staff a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J9_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alphamstone
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

We arrived at Boardwalk Lodge on 27 Feb expecting to stay for 2 nights,we booked from the UK and had prepaid a considerable deposit,it was by far the most expensive accommodation of our trip but we were led to believe that it would be magical,the reality was sadly different,when we arrived there was no member of staff present to meet us,an amiable chap who ran the business in the neighbouring property eventually came to sign us in and show us to our room,the room was tired,nothing seemed to work,the TV remote,the room safe did not work,the pillows were thin and hard,all in all an awful experience,my wife decided she could not spend a second night there and we rang around for another place to stay for the following night and we really struck lucky but that is another story,breakfast was poor so at least there was consistency,we left as soon as decently possible the following morning after a truly awful stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank waterford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

We "did" the Garden Route a couple of years ago and vowed we would go back at stay in Wilderness for a longer period of time - we have just returned from a great six nights at the Boardwalk Lodge - we were on a B&B basis and couldn't fault it .... remember it is not a hotel but the staff go out of their way to assist you with anything thing you need. The location is perfect - set on the side of a hill - away from the beach (which we decided was better than being on the beach because of the spray) but with a perfect view of the ocean and literally a five min walk into the town or ten mins to the beach (uphill on the way back). The rooms are very private, clean and comfortable with a good sized fridge should you wish to stock up on a few things. The breakfasts were good and drinks are available all day with the bar being open early evenings should you wish sit and watch the sun go down before walking into town for a meal at one of the restaurants.

The owners brother, Maurice, is on site to help you with any activities - there is so much to do in the area and he knows all about it and will also rent you bikes, beach chairs/umbrellas, canoes and reception will provide beach towels should you need them.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clareatwhistlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.1 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Haus am Strand
Haus am Strand
#6 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.3 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Lodge

Property: Boardwalk Lodge
Address: Young Terrace | Constantia Kloof Road, Wilderness 6529, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Boardwalk Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boardwalk Lodge, a four-star guest house and self-catering lodge, is a popular retreat within the tranquil seaside village of Wilderness. Set high on the slopes above the village, a short stroll from the beach and lake below, the lodge’s innovative design, exclusive features and excellent facilities provide the ultimate Wilderness experience.You will be warmly welcomed by our attentive lodge staff and will love the luxury rooms, stylish suites and comfortable self-catering timber chalets. All have private decks overlooking the village, lagoon and sea.Whether staying for a night, a weekend or a week, Boardwalk Lodge with its picture-perfect views and lovely setting amidst natural forest vegetation provides the perfect venue for a glorious holiday.Boardwalk Lodge is an ideal venue for intimate small weddings, honeymoons, celebrations, meetings, small conferences, team building events, or other corporate functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Boardwalk Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing