We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You need to feel this”
Review of Xanadu Guest Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Xanadu Guest Villa
Ranked #7 of 62 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

During our tour through South Africa this stay for two days was a highlight for our family. We enjoyed evry second of our stay. Anyone that is fed up with large hotels and Millions of tourists and hectic will find this place to be a peace.The quiet athomsphere is really relaxing. Direct access to the beach, where we hardly met anybody, made us feel like we owned the place.

Did you ever sit on a toilett and watched whales ? At Xanandu it is possible ; Believe it !
The view out of the room we had was magnificant. Huge Windows that make you feel like you are directly in touch with the beach, the water and the whales. The size of the room was bigger than anything I have ever stayed in. Let alone the bathroom which was at least the size of a living room.

This place is excellent for people that, like us, are seeking for a warm athmosphere in privacy without constantly being recognized and adressed by other visitors. Long walks on the beach with hardly anybody around is what we expected and found.

Salinas Restaurant is just a five minutes walk on the beach and they also rounded our experience with nice dinners in the evening.

If your seeking the place close to heaven on earth and it´s peace, this is definatly where you want to stay. At least when we were there in October.

Very friendly staff with a family athmosphere and a great breakfast, again watching the grand ocean.

Room Tip: Take the big suite that faces directly the sea. Anything else might also be excellent, but why not g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirAxel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 383 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

the impressive estate, the tasty breakfast, the majestic ocean view from the window, the pampering room and above all the kindness of the hosts. do yourselves a favor and take the time to stay a couple of nights at the Xanadu.
We came for one night, stayed for two and will be definitely coming back for more...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I spent my first ever night in South Africa in this amazing guest house and it did not disappoint. The greeting we received was warm and welcoming, Albert who designed the building with his wife without the use of architects was very pleased to show us around each of the individually designed and decorated rooms. The honeymoon suite (which we didn't stay in) was absolutely stunning with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the beach, complete with one of the biggest and best bath tubs I've ever seen.

If I had to reluctantly mention any negatives, I struggled to connect to the free WiFi and it was too cold to make use of the outdoor hot tubs (shame) - overall however i'd have to say our experience was fully deserving of its 5-Star status. Beautiful property & highly recommendable.

Room Tip: Boutique style rooms are priced accordingly. Our room didn't have sea views but we still really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie20205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and i made a booking at Xanadu over a long weekend to spend her birthday on the beach. From the first day to the last it was always amazing at Xanadu.Albert and his Wife Tersia were very welcoming from the get go and the staff were excelent.Very piecfull, relaxing music and the views all i can say is WOW!!! For my wifes Birthday breakfast was sent up to our room by the friendly staff and it was amazing.We had an amazing time and met other guest who were all friendly and we all got along.We will definitly return because again no matter how many days you book it will never be enough.Special thanks to the hosts and staff for the amazing staff.

Mohammed & Suaad

Room Tip: Neptune Suite, rooftop, newly renovated amazing bathroom!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mo786wp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanaduGuestVilla, Owner at Xanadu Guest Villa, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear Friends,
Thank you , you lift our spirits! Hope to see you again on your birthday !
Guests with good taste and judgement for excellence , is always welcome.
Warm Regards ,
Albert & Tersia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you never stayed there you might not believe it: going to bed and waking up with a gorgeous view of the ocean - in fact you don't only have that view when lying in bed but also when going to the bathroom. We stayed in the Oyster Suite - towards the waterfront the room was 100% windows and then nothing but the garden and the beach.
Breakfast was delicious - there was fresh fruit, fresh juice, toast, muesli, yoghurt, bacon, eggs, sausages and and and... I'm quite astonished that some people didn't enjoy it.
"This is my dream house", my 13 year old boy said and then he had a very profound talk with our host Albert who took him out to the garden with his two dogs. Our son still talks about our stay at Xanadu. And it's not only him treasuring the memory...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanaduGuestVilla, Owner at Xanadu Guest Villa, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Rain Spider,
Normally we are not spider people , but you are allways welcome at XANADU!
Warm Regards,
Albert & Tersia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

A beautiful, very large and comfortable suite right on the beach. Easy to reach, a few seconds off the N2. The villa is beautiful. The Hofmanns invested a lot of effort in making sure their guests enjoy their stay. The only problem was the inconsistant availability of the WiFi net.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

While we were travelling from Swaziland through the Garden Route we made a one night stay over at Xanadu, pre booked via the Internet. The moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed by the owner. Once we opened the door to our room, we fell in love with the view, the room, just everything! There is a private entry to the beach from the estate, and it's quite central for loads of stuff to do in the area. The Breakfast in the morning was amazing!!

After one night we were heading further up north, but told ourselves that we will spend more time here, as i am sure we haven't even seen half of it all.

Room Tip: Sea-view is what you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damsko_020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanaduGuestVilla, Owner at Xanadu Guest Villa, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear Damsko,
Thank you for being so kind. Hope you are home safe and enjoyed your South African holiday so much that you will return and spend some more days with us.
All the Best
Albert & Tersia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.1 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 62 in Wilderness
468 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 62 in Wilderness
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
431 reviews
1 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 62 in Wilderness
300 reviews
0 mi away
The Ocean View Luxury Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Guest Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Guest Villa

Address: No. 43 Die Duin, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $154 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Xanadu Guest Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xanadu Guest Villa is situated right on the beachfront of the beautiful, unspoilt Wilderness Beach, the jewel in the crown of South Africa’s famous and scenic Garden Route. Centrally located for day trips to Oudtshoorn (1hr), Knysna (30 min) Plettenberg Bay (45min), and even to Addo Elephant National Park (3hrs), this luxurious Garden Route guest villa is the perfect choice for your Wilderness Garden Route accommodation.Save yourself the chore of packing and unpacking every day. You can explore this wonderful region and at the end of the day return to Xanadu Guest Villa, the best of accommodation, and still have time for a beach walk and a sundowner on our pool deck.WINNER 2013 : TO TRAVEL AWARDS "BEST GUESTHOUSE ON THE GARDEN ROUTE"FREE UNCAPPED WI FI 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Xanadu Guest Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing