We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, fantastic location, good value”
Review of Sea Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea Paradise
Ranked #31 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 17, 2009

C Paradys is right on the Wilderness beachfront - you can't get any closer. Be careful swimming there though as it's quite a dangerous beach. We had a room on the ground floor which had sea views - absolutely stunning. The room itself was very well appointed and decorated nicely - it just felt good being there. The B&B is also really close to the village centre (close enough to walk, but we drove just to be safe).

The village is very quaint with a lovely square surrounded by cafes and restaurants. We ate at Pomadoro for dinner - excellent Itallian food. The place was bustling even at 9pm which was the only reservation we could get. We also took a drive to Sedgefield which is towards Knysna and had scones and coffee at Fjnbosch Cafe - what a find! It doesn't look like much from the outside or it's location, but it was fantastic. We were thoroughly impressed. It's just in the main group of shops in Sedgefield (it's such as small town, you can't miss it).

Breakfast at C Paradys was great again. Home made muffins, cereal, fruit, full cooked breakfast and a South African favourite: mince and vetkoek. Quite a treat! We were originally going to stay in George on this trip, but found C Paradys and decided to stay in Wilderness instead. Really happy with our decision as this was superb!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L2C2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Sea Paradise
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 86 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2009

This guest house is a strange mix of good and bad. The location directly on Wilderness beach is stunning. We stayed in Room 1 (I think) which is a family room has a second bedroom attached. The main bedroom has three glass sides with a patio door opening onto a second floor deck overlooking one of the most beautiful and wild stretches of beach I have seen.

The decor in the bedroom was a bit tired looking but the bed was comfortable and linens clean and fresh. The bathroom seems to have had a more recent update as it is finished in marble tiles and is fresher than the bedroom decor. it is still slightly old fashioned.

Breakfast was good and there is an option of indoors or on the second floor deck. The owner/chef offers a special cooked breakfast and you are made to feel that you a wimping out if you go for anything less than a cooked breakfast. The special on our first morning was a savory mince pancake with melted cheese topping. My husband gave into the gentle pressure and it did taste good in the cheese burger sort of way!! There were also the usual cooked options.

There are further eccentricities on house security procedures, which I won't go into on the website, but adds to the unusal vibe about the place.

The light in the room and the unbeatable view of Wilderness beach compensate for the tired decor. It is a shame the owners don't invest in an update of the soft furnishings at least. We noted the house is for sale.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murray007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2008

The B&B is in a great location, the beach is fantastic. The room was OK, it needed some updating (especially the bathroom) and we also had two single beds pushed together.

When we there, on our first night in the country, there was a power cut....of course nothing to do with the owners and out of their control, but they didn't pre-warn us when we checked in a couple of hours earlier that it was going to happen (it was a pre-scheduled well publised event but having arrived that day from the UK we werent aware of it). It just would have been nice to be told, I was mid-shower and it was a bit alarming in the pitch darkness!! We had no idea how long it would last so we sat there for two hours in the dark, not nice. If we had known we would have gone to the pizza restaurant in wildnerness centre where they have a generator.

Apart from that, the breakfasts were good...although we felt a little obliged to eat as they come up and take your order and try and argue with you if refuse a hot cooked option. I appreciate they are trying to be nice, but it got a little tiresome on the 3 & 4 th day.

Didn't really see the owners, so it didnt have a particularly welcoming feel. There is also limited parking.....

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Desiscotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

The guesthouse is literally right on Wilderness beach and has private access to the beach which is stunning at both day and night. Our room faced the ocean and we had amazing views stretching for miles. We woke up one morining to see whales about 100m from our bed!!!!!!!!!!

The room itself was excellent and exceeded our expectations. The beds had electric blankets which were needed as it did get quite cold and the bathroom was to a really high standard.
Breakfasts were excellent and the staff (including owners) were very helpful and friendly.

This guesthouse is a must for anyone on the garden route and I will certainly be returning!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sazzle25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

Credit where credit is due, the location of this guesthouse is superb. Literally right on the beautiful beach in Wilderness with a private walkway down to the sand. Our room was fine but was absolutely freezing, as was the entire guesthouse (the lady that met us when checking in was wearing a parka and a woolly hat!). The common areas (right outside our bedroom) really need to be updated. There is a horrible damp musty feeling in those areas that may not be noticeable in summer, but in winter leaves the place very cold and uninviting.
The lady that checked us in told us that breakfast was served at 9am, which we took to mean from 9am, but no, apparently it is at 9am on the dot! We arrived for breakfast at 10am and were very much given the cold shoulder!! We were so disappointed with our stay we checked out one day early and moved on, which was a shame because Wilderness itself is a lovely spot.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DKirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stillarebel, Owner at Sea Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2011

We purchased the guest house in July 2009 and immediately made significant changes.
Besides refurbishing the bedrooms and bathrooms, we added the following to keep our guests warm in winter:

Heater blankets on all of the beds
Panel heaters in each room
Underfloor heating in the dining area
A slow burning wood fire is being installed in the bar and entertainment areas

Satellite TV has also been provided to each bedroom, in case the guests would like to stay under the covers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2007

On walking into the B&B from the road, it appears to be an average but very clean B&B. However on being shown to our room, we were very pleasantly surprised to find what looked like a recently refurbished bedroom with an enormous bed.
The bathroom was a little more dated, but had a great shower.

The room was very comfortable and we had doors opening out onto the terrace which sat above the beach at Wilderness and has spectacular views. At night, we could hear the roaring of the ocean, but apart from this there was not a sound.

The owner recommend we book to a fabulous local restaurant (nominated in Top 100 in South Africa) called Serendipity, which I would recommend to anyone. At a cost of SAR210 we had a 4 course meal which was prepared in what felt like someone's home, with the chef personally presenting the menu to his guests at the start of the evening and explaining the dishes with real enthusiasm,

Breakfast varied each day as it had a "theme". Not sure this was entirely necessary, as I think most people went for the basics of cooked breakfast or cereal or fruit.

Only watch out is they prefer you to pay cash rather than CC, but that said, we paid CC with no problem.

4  Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.2 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
0.0 mi away
Wilderness on Sea B&B and Self Catering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#2 of 57 in Wilderness
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#3 of 57 in Wilderness
255 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pink Lodge on the Beach
The Pink Lodge on the Beach
#18 of 57 in Wilderness
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Paradise

Address: 79A Sands Road | Wilderness South Africa, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $134 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Paradise 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Paradise is a 4-star guest house located on the beach in Wilderness (Western Cape) South Africa - Wilderness forms part of the famous Garden Route. All of the bedrooms face the beach and the Guest House is situated only 5 minutes away from all restaurants. Prices include a full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sea Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing