We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location right on the beach”
Review of Sea Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea Paradise
Ranked #31 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 9, 2008

The B&B is in a great location, the beach is fantastic. The room was OK, it needed some updating (especially the bathroom) and we also had two single beds pushed together.

When we there, on our first night in the country, there was a power cut....of course nothing to do with the owners and out of their control, but they didn't pre-warn us when we checked in a couple of hours earlier that it was going to happen (it was a pre-scheduled well publised event but having arrived that day from the UK we werent aware of it). It just would have been nice to be told, I was mid-shower and it was a bit alarming in the pitch darkness!! We had no idea how long it would last so we sat there for two hours in the dark, not nice. If we had known we would have gone to the pizza restaurant in wildnerness centre where they have a generator.

Apart from that, the breakfasts were good...although we felt a little obliged to eat as they come up and take your order and try and argue with you if refuse a hot cooked option. I appreciate they are trying to be nice, but it got a little tiresome on the 3 & 4 th day.

Didn't really see the owners, so it didnt have a particularly welcoming feel. There is also limited parking.....

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Desiscotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Sea Paradise
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 86 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2008

The guesthouse is literally right on Wilderness beach and has private access to the beach which is stunning at both day and night. Our room faced the ocean and we had amazing views stretching for miles. We woke up one morining to see whales about 100m from our bed!!!!!!!!!!

The room itself was excellent and exceeded our expectations. The beds had electric blankets which were needed as it did get quite cold and the bathroom was to a really high standard.
Breakfasts were excellent and the staff (including owners) were very helpful and friendly.

This guesthouse is a must for anyone on the garden route and I will certainly be returning!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sazzle25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

Credit where credit is due, the location of this guesthouse is superb. Literally right on the beautiful beach in Wilderness with a private walkway down to the sand. Our room was fine but was absolutely freezing, as was the entire guesthouse (the lady that met us when checking in was wearing a parka and a woolly hat!). The common areas (right outside our bedroom) really need to be updated. There is a horrible damp musty feeling in those areas that may not be noticeable in summer, but in winter leaves the place very cold and uninviting.
The lady that checked us in told us that breakfast was served at 9am, which we took to mean from 9am, but no, apparently it is at 9am on the dot! We arrived for breakfast at 10am and were very much given the cold shoulder!! We were so disappointed with our stay we checked out one day early and moved on, which was a shame because Wilderness itself is a lovely spot.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DKirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stillarebel, Owner at Sea Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2011

We purchased the guest house in July 2009 and immediately made significant changes.
Besides refurbishing the bedrooms and bathrooms, we added the following to keep our guests warm in winter:

Heater blankets on all of the beds
Panel heaters in each room
Underfloor heating in the dining area
A slow burning wood fire is being installed in the bar and entertainment areas

Satellite TV has also been provided to each bedroom, in case the guests would like to stay under the covers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2007

On walking into the B&B from the road, it appears to be an average but very clean B&B. However on being shown to our room, we were very pleasantly surprised to find what looked like a recently refurbished bedroom with an enormous bed.
The bathroom was a little more dated, but had a great shower.

The room was very comfortable and we had doors opening out onto the terrace which sat above the beach at Wilderness and has spectacular views. At night, we could hear the roaring of the ocean, but apart from this there was not a sound.

The owner recommend we book to a fabulous local restaurant (nominated in Top 100 in South Africa) called Serendipity, which I would recommend to anyone. At a cost of SAR210 we had a 4 course meal which was prepared in what felt like someone's home, with the chef personally presenting the menu to his guests at the start of the evening and explaining the dishes with real enthusiasm,

Breakfast varied each day as it had a "theme". Not sure this was entirely necessary, as I think most people went for the basics of cooked breakfast or cereal or fruit.

Only watch out is they prefer you to pay cash rather than CC, but that said, we paid CC with no problem.

4  Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abdulkhaliq A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Agnese M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.2 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
0.0 mi away
Wilderness on Sea B&B and Self Catering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#2 of 57 in Wilderness
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#3 of 57 in Wilderness
255 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pink Lodge on the Beach
The Pink Lodge on the Beach
#18 of 57 in Wilderness
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Paradise

Address: 79A Sands Road | Wilderness South Africa, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $134 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Paradise 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Paradise is a 4-star guest house located on the beach in Wilderness (Western Cape) South Africa - Wilderness forms part of the famous Garden Route. All of the bedrooms face the beach and the Guest House is situated only 5 minutes away from all restaurants. Prices include a full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sea Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing