We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting overlooking the ocean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 58 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Dolphin Dunes for 2 nights and if time permitted we would have loved to stay longer.

Owners Andre and Mathilda were extremely friendly and helpful, arranging dinner reservations, checking on dry cleaning, providing driving directions etc. They couldn't have been nicer.

Can't add much to what has been said in previous reviews. We had a spectacular view from Suite 3. We just wish we could have spent more time on our balcony gazing into the ocean and the beautiful sunsets. The room was spacious, had a mini-fridge which was fully stocked, and a flat screen cable TV.

Thanks Andre and Mathilda.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 250 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2008

We stayed at the Dolphin Dunes over New Year 2007/08. We picked this guesthouse as we were looking for a quiet and pleasant place to relax and I believe we could not have made a better choice. The rooms are spacious, clean, and bright. From some rooms you can even see the sea – and sometimes dolphins - when in bed. All rooms in the main building have balconies or access to the terrace. The owners are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was always delicious with plenty of fresh fruits. The rates are slightly higher than the average bed & breakfast in South Africa but it is certainly worth the money. All in all the Dolphin Dunes is a great place to relax.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2007

Turned up in Wilderness on a really wet and rainy day (massive floods in Western Cape back in Mar07). The Dolphin Dunes was really easy to find (just off the motorway but couldn't hear the traffic noise), and the owners were really accommodating. Had a self-catering apartment, although we paid extra for the breakfast which was well worth it. Lovely and comfortable, and very clean. Also our room had cable TV which was really good given the appalling weather. DD is right on the dunes and there is a boardwalk right down on to the beach, and am sure the views are great in good weather. Highly recommend it, although I could imagine they get busy at peak periods due to the flexibility of their accommodation (lots of different sized rooms I believe and B&B or SC).

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cornishtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2007

We have recently visited The Dolphin Dunes Guest House and had a brief, but lovely stay. This guest house is located overlooking the Indian Ocean. There is a stairway leading down to the beach. Although we did not have an ocean front room, we did have a beautiful suite which included kitchen, living room, large bedroom and bathroom. It was tastefully furnished and very clean.
A full English breakfast is served in their beautiful dining room. The food was very tasty, nicely presented and the service very friendly. Wilderness is located along the Garden Route and Dolphin Dunes Guest House is a very nice stopping point.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mary_gregoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank arapps_610804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Nadja_Marti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
1.2 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 58 in Wilderness
312 reviews
1.6 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#6 of 58 in Wilderness
364 reviews
0.6 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
356 reviews
1.8 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 58 in Wilderness
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse

Address: Buxton Close, Wilderness 6529, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $86 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on golden sand dunes, overlooking the unspoilt beaches of Wilderness, lies Dolphin Dunes - a charming beachfront guesthouse with luxurious and tasteful guest accommodation. Our casually elegant home is wonderfully comfortable. Relax on the sea facing sundeck and watch dolphins at play in the surf, take a stroll along the endless unspoilt beaches and forest, go canoeing on the lagoon. Come and enjoy the natural splendour of Wilderness - the Garden Route at its most captivating. Once you visit Dolphin Dunes, you'll find it very hard to leave¦ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing