We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner/Manager's Attitude Shocking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 59 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2012

When researching a place to stay, our travel agent was given specific instructions about our needs, specifically that we were two families with young children. Dolphin Dunes would be perfect our agent claimed, friendly staff who would happily host us.

Imagine our surprise when our kids, on the first afternoon of our stay, are playing in the pool and the owner/manager tells us that in order to use the pool, the children must be quiet?? Oh, and children are only allowed by arrangement? Huh, we booked for 4 adults and 4 children, what does he want, robots?

To add insult to injury we had to pay in full 3 weeks BEFORE our booking was accepted.

I won't waste your time listing the problems we encountered, from no tv in the lounge, having to request a braai and then watch it disappear and have to ask for it again, the case of the tin opener not be available (as the unit was self catering)....there is actually not enough space to list our concerns and our frustrations.

But the clanger was our last night, the night before New Year's Eve. Watching football, after having to request the sports channels, our team scores their 3rd goal and my friend, his son and I celebrate, albeit quite loudly. The owner/manager bangs angrily on our door and waving his torch in my face demands that we pack our bags and leave (this at 11:30pm!). This before even bothering to ask us to keep the noise down?

Needless to say, the door was closed in his face when he threatened to call the police. This vindictive little man than switched the DSTV service off....excellent service indeed.

Don't bother taking your family to this guesthouse, you'll feel pretty unwelcome.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 253 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

My wife and I travelled to South Africa during November and stayed at many places during our stay.
We were impressed with the hospitality and service we received at all of the lovely places we stayed except for Dolphin Dunes.
We found Andre the owner to be rude and arrogant . He seemed more interested in having a holiday himself than helping his guests.
Many things in our room didn't work and when reported to Andre he didn't seem to care and did nothing about it . My wife commented that he seemed more interested in walking around all day shirtless trying to show his muscles to the world than helping his guests .
Clearly this man needs to go on a public relations course to help him understand the importance of his geust.
Overall we loved our stay in South Africa and will hopefully return later next year again .
Sadly though this is not the case for Dolphine dunes.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jmsap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Any visitor to Cape Town should take a trip up the garden route. I would recommend staying a few days in one place and Wilderness is the best, far nicer and hospitable than the very commercialised Knysna. And the Dolphin is the ideal place to stay. A place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We booked our family holiday with another family at dolphin Dunes for a week over the Christmas period . They were happy to take our booking and had the nerve to insist on 100 percent payment prior to arrival. if we didn't have to make full payment prior to arrival we would have left on the first day because of the facilitys and the owners attitude didnt meet expectations.


Dolphin dunes is not family friendly in anyway.In fact I must state that if you have children of any age this is simply not the place to go ever . AT the time of making the booking it was clearly explained to the The owner that we were two family's with two children each . After taking our money a month prior to arrival the owner had the audacity on arrival to tell us that they were not a children friendly resort.

The rooms didn't live up to expectation either . We took a self catering unit and there wasn't even a oven to cook in .There was no television in the lounge , no sports channels on the television .a number of the power plugs didnt work and the jacuzzi bath didn't work .
This is simply not something that is fitting or acceptable for any four star establishment .
Being a regular visitor to the area Dolphine dunes is simply not a place I'd ever visit or want to visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Likeitisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolphinWilderness, Owner at Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2012

Unfortunately Tripadvisor gives guests like you the platform to try and take revenge even if you were at fault.

I would hang my head in shame if I was you, why dont you write that we had to call the police on you because of noise, drunkenness and general disregard for other guests?

Kids are welcome, I told you it is unfortunately not a large property like a hotel or holiday resort where kids can run riot. I also asked you numerous times and in a decent manner to consider other guests.

Funny that we are not kid friendly according to you, but we have 2 families at the moment with 5 children between them. The one family visits us at leats twice a year. They are one of many that return year after year.

Please remeber that I called the cops while you were making a noise watching soccer, so how can you say that we do not have sport channels. You had no Tv in your lounge, but had 1 in each of 3 bedrooms. Why not move 1?

You were trouble from the day you arrived. I do not regret one thing I said or did. You will never be welcome at our Guesthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and had many plans for things to do in Wilderness but from the moment we arrived we skipped them all.Stunning views,right on the beach.
We were in Africa room and can recommend to everybody because you get the best off both.
Private sundeck seafront as the other rooms and private garden with thached roof with deckchairs and comfortable seats for windy days or if you just want to sit in the shadow.
Breakfast very good.
We regret we booked not more nights,the walks on the beach were great take the dog Trixie see will love it.
Great restaurant nearby called Serendipity,Gary will tell you more about it.

Room Tip: Africa room;garden/shadow seat and seafront seat same as the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Stayed here often during last couple of years. Will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1,744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Stayed here 3 nights when doing my "Tour de South Africa", used it as my local base.
This B&B is very nicely placed, on a hill overlooking the ocean, with stunning views. Room is big, clean, bright, bathtub veeeeery comfortable!
When staying here, I did trips to Mossel Bay (diving with sharks - haven't seen any as it was stormy weather), Knysna, local mountain hikes - there's generally lots of little things to do/see around, just perfect for relaxing.
For dinners, there's few places around - go for the town, 2-3 decent restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ISmackedTheLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
1.6 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
699 reviews
0.6 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 59 in Wilderness
322 reviews
1.6 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
1.0 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 59 in Wilderness
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse

Address: Buxton Close, Wilderness 6529, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $91 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on golden sand dunes, overlooking the unspoilt beaches of Wilderness, lies Dolphin Dunes - a charming beachfront guesthouse with luxurious and tasteful guest accommodation. Our casually elegant home is wonderfully comfortable. Relax on the sea facing sundeck and watch dolphins at play in the surf, take a stroll along the endless unspoilt beaches and forest, go canoeing on the lagoon. Come and enjoy the natural splendour of Wilderness - the Garden Route at its most captivating. Once you visit Dolphin Dunes, you'll find it very hard to leave¦ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing