We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why only 14th best?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa
Ranked #19 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2010

There are a large number of places to stay in Wilderness, with a choice of beach views, lagoon or in the village. Of the places we stayed in S Africa, this was certainly the best. The views are stunning, the setting serene and the service put many of the other places we stayed in to shame. Given the excellent reviews, I can't understand why it only comes in at number 14. Excellent value, very relaxing and very hard to fault.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonners77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 166 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2010

a tranquil lodge overlooking the lake island...

rooms - interesting use of mirrors to create light and space...
comfortbale bed...generous bottles of rooibos toiletries..
all appliances worked - was concerned about the fact they had no airconditioning but the over-head fan and open balcony worked very well!

ladies at reception were so warm and hospitable! thanks tracey & gabriella!

breakfast was served either inside or outside and a delicious continental cold spread and hot fry-ups were also available...the coffee was superb!

ambience was very comfortable and the decore was simple but yet there were interesting bits placed all over...
spa available too - with all wonderful sounding treatments but was too busy art shopping!

it was hard to imagine the ocean was just on the other side of the highway but the lake was tranquil to look at and enjoyed watching the water sports enthusiasts...and the dakness of the night was superb for star gazing!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

We had a wonderful week of honeymoon here. The hotel is well-located to explore the surrounding area. Tracy booked our dinner reservations on the night we arrived and made fantastic choices for us.

The spa was amazing, we had lovely massages and felt very relaxed afterwards.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saripop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

We've only stayed at the Lodge for a short night. And as we have been the only guests for this night we had the lodge for exclusive use.

The guesthouse is located in a quiet residential area approx. 2 km from the city centre. The rooms are designed like an modern, international chain hotel and each has some unique gimmicks. The bathroom has been open to the bed room but stylish equipped with bathtub and seperate shower.

All rooms as well as the beautiful pool and lounge are offering great views on lakes and mountains. The lodge also includes a nice spa with several kind of treatments. However due to our late arrival we haven't been able to make use of it. But everything looked quite good.

The service during check-in and breakfast has been attentive at any time and we felt very comfortable with their recommendations.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyBaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

The Lodge is a magnificent place with fantastic service and spa. The staff is very helpful and go the extra mile. That is what service industry is all about.
Our treatments in the spa were more than relaxing and totally recommendable. The rooms are luxurious and very stylish.
Thank you for making our 2. anniversary our best one yet!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christiena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2009

We arrived at the Lodge on the Lake expecting it to be first class in every aspect. Friends had stayed in November and had highly recommended it. On first impression it looked amazing. It couldn't be in a better location and the views of the lake from the entrance hall and from the rooms is fantastic. However, there was something missing! There were ants on the balcony and in the bedroom. My husband even found one in the bed! The room was superficially clean but when you looked in the corners it wasn't. A lot of money had obviously been spent on it but we felt the maintainance of this guest house generally hadn't been kept up. We are well travelled and have a lot to compare it with and overall we felt it was disappointing. It wouldn't take much to bring it back up to its original standard. There was chipped crockery at breakfast and the selection of food was medicocre. Compared to other breakfasts we had whilst travelling in South Africa it was pretty poor. The staff were friendly and helpful but it lacked an overall "boss", someone in charge to ensure the standards are kept up. I really hope someone there will read this and take note of my comments. To put it back into the five star bracket wouldn't take much, but it is not there at the moment..

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2009

We were at Lodge on the Lake in January. We are two adults and it was fantastic. It was so nice at this hotel, absolutly fantastic. The pool is something special. We had a view, it was unbelieveable and the Spa was out of this world. We had the feeling we were in a dream. The stuff is also wonderful. We have never experienced such incredible service before.
When we wanted to go out, we had a lot of possibilities to experience something. We saw the ostrichs in Oudtshoorn and the saturday market in Sedgefield. On Sunday is a market in WIlderness as well. It was also nice to enter the market. One day we visited Knysna and it was beautiful. Sometimes we only went to the beach, it was possible, too and very nice.
This hotel is an absolute must, when you want to visit South Africa and Wilderness.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LenaBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
3.4 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
679 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
2.1 mi away
Hilltop Country Lodge
Hilltop Country Lodge
#4 of 5 in Wilderness
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
347 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#2 of 57 in Wilderness
303 reviews
2.6 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#7 of 57 in Wilderness
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa

Address: 746 North Street, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $111 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Lodge on the Lake" is now under new Management !!!! Overview: Lodge on the Lake is built on the outskirts of Wilderness. Found on the world-renowned Garden Route, Wilderness is also known as the Eden of the southern coast of South Africa. The Lodge is an exclusive five star guesthouse nestled on the hillside overlooking the spectacular Island Lake and the mountains beyond. Nature and architecture blend seamlessly into a setting that surely must be among the most beautiful in the world. Guests are offered internationally competitive exclusivity in both the accommodation and the adjoining Wellness Spa. Relax in the lounge area and gaze out onto the rimflow pool and the expanse of lake beyond. Accommodation: The Lodge has 5 magnificently appointed rooms, each with full en-suite bathroom, private balcony and unsurpassed views over the lake below and the surrounding mountains. The rooms have been individually decorated in sophisticated style with earthy undertones. Not only honeymooners can indulge in the luxury and space of the Honeymoon Suite with its 4 poster bed and free-standing stone bath. Wellness Spa: Merely walking into the beautifully tranquil Wellness Spa is an exercise in relaxation. Leave your stress at the front door and allow yourself to sink into a truly sumptuous and restorative experience. The emphasis of the spa is on whole body wellness and the 2 treatment rooms are sure to leave you feeling revived and invigorated. There are Facial Treatments, Body Treatments, Massages and TheraVine & TheraNaka treatments to target stress, muscular strain, cellulite and detoxification, amongst others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Lodge On The Lake Hotel Wilderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing