We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What I would expect from a Five star Lodge...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa
Ranked #19 of 58 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at Lodge on the lake for our 15th wedding anniversary. The Lodge is absolutely lovely. Not over-decorated, tastefully calm. Our room was clean and off course the view stunning. Rory the manager went out of his way to help us with dinner reservations and paragliding appointments, even handwriting the driving directions.

Spa visit was very pleasant and relaxing!

Our breakfast was nice, we didn't need anything. Nice that you get a key and remote so you can go and come back as you please. It was a wonderful visit and we will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoreenK98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rory777, Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Hi Noreen

Thanks for such a great review! We are always striving to up our standards, and expect nothing less than 5 star service and a 5 star experience.

We look forward to hosting you again (sometime soon!)

Kind regards,
Rory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 168 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at the lodge for 2 nights for my fathers birthday and we asked them to do something nice for him and they went out of their way to make it a special weekend for him. We enjoyed the beatiful view and relaxing atmosphere! Very friendly service and having breakfast on the deck was divine!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meriske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

What a lovely 3 night stay.Tranquil,beautiful views,peaceful,excellent service,friendly efficient staff and the perfect little spa.A pity I could not spend more time at the spa, but will definately be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rory777, Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Hi Rene

Thank you for such a lovely review! A little piece of heaven sure is a great comment=) We look forward to hosting yourself and your husband again, with great guests like you, it really does make our job so much easier.

Best regards,
Rory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I took my mom here for her 60th birthday, and what an amazing experience we had. This is a beautiful lodge overlooking the lake.
You can chill by the pool or book a massage at their lovely little spa.
They showed us the other rooms as well when they did not have any guests and all are beautiful! We stayed in the middle room which I guess is their honeymoon suite. This is a stunning spacious room with a beautiful bathroom.
The staff were very friendly and the breakfast included was great as well.

Room Tip: Check out the spa. There's loads to choose from. From a hot stone massage to eye brow tint. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johanniev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have been staying in wilderness a few times until we came across this majestic palace.Rory the manager blew us away with his attention to detail and superb friendliness. The wellness spa is of the best that I have experienced. A 5 star expierence at a good price. Rory you and your staff will be seeing us for many more visits to come. I recommend this too those looking for a a holiday with a finer touch.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marc3l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rory777, Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Marc, thanks for the great review! I look forward to hosting yourself and Jill at the Lodge again, it really was a pleasure having you both. See you next time=)

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

What a beautiful view!!! Friendly staff and great service. The rooms are lovely and the view from the balcony is fantastic! Only one point, the night we decided to stay in, only to discover there where only 5 channels one of which is SABC and 2 sport, bit disappointed but other than that the place was great. Defiantly Recommended

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrevlynRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We decided to stay here from internet searches and came across this beautiful place. Rory the manager was helpful, attentive an above all very knowledgable about the area, eateries, spas, entertainmant etc, as we had never stayed in this part of SA before. It was Rory and Linda's well deserved weekend off during the quiter season and we were left in the hands of a wonderful Zimbabwean pair in Patrick and Nomsa. They were front office, chef, waitron, housekeeping and more and our stay was comfortable, food was great, the view was amazing with fisheagles over the lake in the distance. Apart from a few minor visible goodies whish were brought to Rory's attention when her returned on Monday morning, our stay was just perfect as it was quiet, peaceful, cosy and the facility itself is grand but not overdone. Thank you to Rory, Linda, Patrick & Nomsa for a wonderful stay. Four days and 3 nights of bliss for our anniversary getaway. Peter & Jacqui

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite (3) is the largest room and very nicely decorated - unavailable for us when we a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mastermind-PE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rory777, Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Peter & Jaqui, thanks for a great review! It always makes our job so much easier having guests like to 2 of you. I look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
3.6 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
1.3 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
358 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 58 in Wilderness
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 58 in Wilderness
267 reviews
2.6 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#7 of 58 in Wilderness
364 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 58 in Wilderness
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa

Address: 746 North Street, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $107 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Lodge on the Lake" is now under new Management !!!! Overview: Lodge on the Lake is built on the outskirts of Wilderness. Found on the world-renowned Garden Route, Wilderness is also known as the Eden of the southern coast of South Africa. The Lodge is an exclusive five star guesthouse nestled on the hillside overlooking the spectacular Island Lake and the mountains beyond. Nature and architecture blend seamlessly into a setting that surely must be among the most beautiful in the world. Guests are offered internationally competitive exclusivity in both the accommodation and the adjoining Wellness Spa. Relax in the lounge area and gaze out onto the rimflow pool and the expanse of lake beyond. Accommodation: The Lodge has 5 magnificently appointed rooms, each with full en-suite bathroom, private balcony and unsurpassed views over the lake below and the surrounding mountains. The rooms have been individually decorated in sophisticated style with earthy undertones. Not only honeymooners can indulge in the luxury and space of the Honeymoon Suite with its 4 poster bed and free-standing stone bath. Wellness Spa: Merely walking into the beautifully tranquil Wellness Spa is an exercise in relaxation. Leave your stress at the front door and allow yourself to sink into a truly sumptuous and restorative experience. The emphasis of the spa is on whole body wellness and the 2 treatment rooms are sure to leave you feeling revived and invigorated. There are Facial Treatments, Body Treatments, Massages and TheraVine & TheraNaka treatments to target stress, muscular strain, cellulite and detoxification, amongst others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Lodge On The Lake Hotel Wilderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing