We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful place with breathtaking views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa
Ranked #19 of 58 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Wonderful little lodge, just 5 rooms - all with balcony and overlooking the lakes and mountains.
The room had a very high standard, it was comfortabel and clean and very quiet.
Very nice staff and the breakfast on the patio is the best start you can have in the morning.
Enjoy the little SPA and arrange a treatment, its so relaxing.
The village is just a 5 minute drive from the lodge and you will find some very nice restaurants there.
Dont' miss a walk on the magnificent Wilderness beach.

We highly recommend that wonderful place if you travel along the Garden Route.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SABerlin9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 168 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

Wilderness is one of the best places at the garden route and lies directly on the N2, ideal to stop and rest for a few days in between the travelling along the spectacular garden route.

The Lodge On The Lake is definitely a high quality small hotel with breathtaking views. Only 5 rooms, all different from each other, all facing the lakes and all are upstairs so its very private and quite.
The location of the hotel is beautiful, overlooking the lakes and with the forested mountain behind.

The rooms and the hotel were of a very high standard, comfortable, well equipped and clean. We promise you do not hear any traffic noise in the hotel area. Parking was safe and secure.

The staff and management were very helpful and friendly, breakfast was individualy and freshly prepared. You can arrange for treatments in the fantastic little SPA as well. The infinity swimming pool was refreshing and very clean, you should have a sundowner in the pool while looking out onto the lake and mountains.

The location is a couple of minutes drive from some very nice restaurants in village and it is extremely safe to walk around, even in the evenings. Don't miss the Wilderness Village Market friday night!

The Lodge is close to the magnificent beach which is just on the other side of the highway. You must go for a walk in the later afternoon and enjoy the sunset.

If you travel along the Garden Route you should stop here. The location is central to many areas and there seems to be endless things to go and do, and beautiful places in the area to see. You can do many nice Excursions around the place for families or even couples.

For us the best lodge we have ever been on the Garden Route. We sincerely hope to be back very soon!! ;-)

Room Tip: any room will be good choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claudini76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rory777, Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thanks Claudini76! You summed us up beautifully! I look forward to your next visit..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

From the minute you walked through the front door of this beautiful Lodge, you know it is going to be special....the infinity pool disappearing into the lake behind...I was lost for words.
And the view from the room...sublime...so clear in the afternoon and so mysterious on a misty morning...
Breakfast is just so enjoyable sitting out on the patio with that gorgeous view and interaction with the other guests most enjoyable.
And, then, many thanks to Rory (manager) for being so helpful and charming and making sure that everything runs smoothly.
A truly memorable last evening in South Africa before leaving for Australia the next day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rory777, Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Liz, having you was a pleasure! I was glad to remind you how great South Africa is, and hope that next time you visit you will stop over at our Lodge again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was the first night on my honeymoon and I was extremely impressed with the honemoon sweet. We arrived late in the evening and had a resevation at serendipidy which was also of a very high standard.

Once we woke up and I opened the curtains, my wife was blown away with the view and was disappointed to leave the next day.

I would stay there again at any opportunity and plan to stay there next time I visit South Africa. If anyone is thinking to stay there, MAKE SURE YOU DO. I also arranged a hot stone massage which was excellent.

Breakfast was of high standard as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rory777, Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Nick, thanks for the great review! Having couples on their Honeymoon is always special, and I wish you a long and happy marriage. Your review says it all, fortunately we are blessed with a spectacular view at Lodge on the Lake, but we realize that we cant count on that to be the only thing that makes our guesthouse special. The Wellness Spa, good service, a comfortable homely enviroment and a hearty breakfast in the morning are all those things that add to the experience and I'm so glad that you experienced that at its best! We look forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Not often in my 30 years of travel, i run into a place that is near to perfect.
A room with a view is to simple of a discription, it is breathtaking. The whole atmosphere in this wonderful B&B will stay in your mind for a long time. Nice breakfast in a photogenic setting.
The rooms all have a view over the lake. The pool is a dream and the location of the lodge is central for nice trips. The spa a joy and oasis of tranquillity. The staff, specially the manager,is making al that is perfect alreay even more delightfull.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronald k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rory777, Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you Ronald for such a lovely review! We continually strive to uphold the best standards at Lodge on the Lake, yet at the same time to provide a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere, and I'm so glad that that is what you expereinced. Patrick, Numsa and myself look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We went to the spa for a hot stone massage, which was very enjoyable. The staff were very attentive and everything was beautifully organised. When we booked, we enquired whether we could both have a massage at the same time - they specifically organised a second masseuse to come in to accommodate this. After the massage, we were offered a free coffee out on the deck next to the infinity pool overlooking Island Lake. Will definitely return next time I am in Wilderness.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
condor1709, Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

So glad that you enjoyed the treatment! We are striving to continually better the Spa and create a professional yet comfortable enviroment for our guests. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed for one night. The room was large and nice. Great view from the balcony. And lovely pool and breakfast spot. Breakfast was exactly what we where looking for; healthy and fresh. Charming and professional staff. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda031CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
condor1709, Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

So glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Lodge! We look forward to seeing you again in the future=)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
3.6 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
4.9 mi away
Hilltop Country Lodge
Hilltop Country Lodge
#4 of 5 in Wilderness
42 reviews
1.3 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 58 in Wilderness
312 reviews
3.6 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 58 in Wilderness
266 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 58 in Wilderness
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa

Address: 746 North Street, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $107 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Lodge on the Lake" is now under new Management !!!! Overview: Lodge on the Lake is built on the outskirts of Wilderness. Found on the world-renowned Garden Route, Wilderness is also known as the Eden of the southern coast of South Africa. The Lodge is an exclusive five star guesthouse nestled on the hillside overlooking the spectacular Island Lake and the mountains beyond. Nature and architecture blend seamlessly into a setting that surely must be among the most beautiful in the world. Guests are offered internationally competitive exclusivity in both the accommodation and the adjoining Wellness Spa. Relax in the lounge area and gaze out onto the rimflow pool and the expanse of lake beyond. Accommodation: The Lodge has 5 magnificently appointed rooms, each with full en-suite bathroom, private balcony and unsurpassed views over the lake below and the surrounding mountains. The rooms have been individually decorated in sophisticated style with earthy undertones. Not only honeymooners can indulge in the luxury and space of the Honeymoon Suite with its 4 poster bed and free-standing stone bath. Wellness Spa: Merely walking into the beautifully tranquil Wellness Spa is an exercise in relaxation. Leave your stress at the front door and allow yourself to sink into a truly sumptuous and restorative experience. The emphasis of the spa is on whole body wellness and the 2 treatment rooms are sure to leave you feeling revived and invigorated. There are Facial Treatments, Body Treatments, Massages and TheraVine & TheraNaka treatments to target stress, muscular strain, cellulite and detoxification, amongst others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Lodge On The Lake Hotel Wilderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing