We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lodge on the lake is superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa
Ranked #19 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Lodge on the lake is superb”
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Lodge on the lake was a fantastic experience all round. We spent our honeymoon there and the service was excellent. Corne in particular was really helpful and friendly and we got plenty of assistance locating things to do in the area. Wilderness is a beautiful and intimate little town less than 10min drive away from the hotel and has a vibrant night life.

Our room was spacious and well serviced for the two nights we stayed. We initially had a problem with a broken knob on our balcony door but this was fixed within a few hours. All in all it was a very pleasant experience and we would highly recommend a stay there!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LawrenceBb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    33
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
13
124
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Beautiful accommodation on stunning lakeside location but Wilderness is a very small town, albeit beautiful and the lodge is a 10 minute drive from the low key restaurants and nightlife of the town. A very peaceful romantic getaway but you'll need to drive into town

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djhlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

A Lodge on the Lake is an impressive building with nicely decorated rooms and a beautiful view on the lake. We intended to stay for two nights, but left after one night. The main reason was lack of service / hospitality.
The lodge has the reception of an impersonal hotel. The receptionist just asked to fill out a form and then showed us the room. No help with luggage, no proposal for making table booking in restaurant. When we were in the guest-lounge the receptionist chatted loudly for 20 minutes private affairs on the phone (reception is just in the guest-sitting area).
Breakfast buffet was average, no butter, no jam with toasts. Omelette was ok.
The few minor critics on room (dirty ashtray, no sanitary bag supply while obliged to use because of sceptic tank) become 'big' when service is cold ..... could do better...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j2sy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We highly recommend this spot! Our room was luxurious and the view simply breathtaking! Service at the lodge was good. Very peaceful location.
The rooms do not have aircon-our only gripe.
All in all-we would gladly return!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandoneisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2010

from the entry past the stairs throgh the comunal area and up from the rooms enjoy the
view down on the lake
designed in a very calm and taken back atmosphere with nice accents of south-african craft.
the room had a freestanding wall separating the bath, everything has an openness that is relief for citydwellers like me. nature all around, beautiful beaches and natureparks nearby.
you don´t get dinner in the lodge but there is plenty fresh fish within a few miles...
just ask the very helpful and friendly staff !

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laxrenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2010

A lovely view over a tranquil and peaceful lake and a convenient stop off on the garden route. Was really disappointed with the cleanliness and the service though - it was the worst we experienced in South Africa given the price. Towels were not changed, the bathroom/toilet was poorly cleaned and blinds were dusty. The service was disinterested and not welcoming. The guest house itself felt underfurnished and lacked warmth and welcome. It was a long way from any restaurant or bar - certainly not walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmania7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stormsriver
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

What a great place, very nice views of the lake and great sunrises. Good attention to detail and very large beds which makes the rooms extra special. The staff was always there and the lady at reception was very friendly and helpful. Having traveled a lot and managing similar properties i can highly recommend this lodge for a quiet breakaway with a partner.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcriller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
3.6 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
3.0 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
273 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Ocean View Luxury Guest House
3.6 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
230 reviews
1.3 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa

Property: Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa
Address: 746 North Street, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Lodge on the Lake" is now under new Management !!!! Overview: Lodge on the Lake is built on the outskirts of Wilderness. Found on the world-renowned Garden Route, Wilderness is also known as the Eden of the southern coast of South Africa. The Lodge is an exclusive five star guesthouse nestled on the hillside overlooking the spectacular Island Lake and the mountains beyond. Nature and architecture blend seamlessly into a setting that surely must be among the most beautiful in the world. Guests are offered internationally competitive exclusivity in both the accommodation and the adjoining Wellness Spa. Relax in the lounge area and gaze out onto the rimflow pool and the expanse of lake beyond. Accommodation: The Lodge has 5 magnificently appointed rooms, each with full en-suite bathroom, private balcony and unsurpassed views over the lake below and the surrounding mountains. The rooms have been individually decorated in sophisticated style with earthy undertones. Not only honeymooners can indulge in the luxury and space of the Honeymoon Suite with its 4 poster bed and free-standing stone bath. Wellness Spa: Merely walking into the beautifully tranquil Wellness Spa is an exercise in relaxation. Leave your stress at the front door and allow yourself to sink into a truly sumptuous and restorative experience. The emphasis of the spa is on whole body wellness and the 2 treatment rooms are sure to leave you feeling revived and invigorated. There are Facial Treatments, Body Treatments, Massages and TheraVine & TheraNaka treatments to target stress, muscular strain, cellulite and detoxification, amongst others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Lodge On The Lake Hotel Wilderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing