We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, lovely, lovely.”
Review of Mes Amis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mes Amis
Ranked #17 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely, lovely, lovely.”
Reviewed November 16, 2010

I was very taken by this place. I stayed there for two nights with my partner, in a beautiful sea-front room just above the sand-dunes (so waves crashing) and with steps down to the beach. The beach itself is also very big and very beautiful. I absolutely loved this place - from our beautifully-decorated room (this place is surely thing of pleasure for its owners, who have put a lot of detail into finding lovely pottery and paintings for the walls, etc) and to the amazing several-course, fantastically-tasting and healthy (with just the right amount of decadence) breakfasts. The owners were also very hospitable and friendly, even despite our arriving two hours late into their own personal time in the evening. I couldn't have faulted it at all. Gorgeous.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    37
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
32
131
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

These lovely people were able to accommodate 5 of us at short notice when our booked hotel was closed down!! Nothing was too much trouble. The beds were clean & soft. The room had every possible convenience; we overlooked the beach & breakfast was superb. Individually served with personal service & a super 'news letter' each morning of current affairs. a comlete delight. We would recommend it to everyone. We wanted to stay longer that our 2 nights, but sadly had to move on

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvermaplelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2009

Stayed here for two nights on our recent trip to South Africa. Mes Amis is located just a short distance outside town opposite the Wilderness National Park. It is up on a hill with a stunning view of the ocean.

Was welcomed by the owner Gerhard, and shown to our room (no . 7), which like all the other rooms has a amazing view of the ocean. The room was simple yet elegantly decorated, everything spotlessly clean. Nice patio outside, where you could sit & relax with the incredible view & relaxing sounds of the ocean pounding the beach below.

The view was so good we decided to eat take away both nights we stayed, which we bought from "Pomodoro" & "Les Girls" in town. Just thought it would be nicer watching the sun set over the ocean, than sitting down in a packed restaurant. Great reviews of the local restaurants are provided by Gerhard. Minibar was very fairly priced as well which was a bonus!!

Breakfast was great on both days - tea, fresh juice, muffins & breads, a variety of cereals and a choice of hot breakfasts. Menu changed daily, and also had interesting historical facts of the day in question, quotes of the day & weather updates for the following 3 days. A thankyou must go to the friendly staff as well who made our stay so special.

One of the more expensive places we stayed on our trip, but well worth it!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2009

Mes amis is tucked up on a hill with a most amazing view out over the sea. We had a couple of lovely walks on the beach (morning and evening) and the steps back up take less than 5 mins if of reasonable fitness. We saw dolphins at breakfast one day and enjoyed really warm friendly hospitality from Gerhard and his team. The rooms were clean and simple and the view amazing (did I mention that already?!)
Definately recommend this place.
Only slight downside it is a bit of a drive or walk to get anywhere but really shouldn't put you off.

  • Liked — views and friendly service
  • Disliked — not walking distance to shop or bar
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

We stayed 2 nights here & just loved the location. The guest house is just outside Wilderness on the top of the hill looking out over the ocean.

There is a long wooden stair case down to the beach which was incredible - but it's a long way down, so take your time!

Rooms were clean & tidy with tea/coffee & a bottle of wine (which from memory was a reasonable price if you wanted to drink it!)

Bathrooms could have done with a little updating, but nothing you couldn't live with for a few days.

The owners were fantastic - very very helpful & friendly.
They have reviewed all the local restaurants & that helped massively in deciding where to eat.
1st night we went to this couple's house & had this incredible 5 course meal. Can't remember the name of the place, but it was amazing & well worth the money. The man recommends wine for each course you have & you just pay a price for the whole "experience!"

2nd night we ate at "The Girls" - great sea food restaurant & very reasonable indeed!

Would recommend Mes Amis - if just for the views out your bedroom patio doors! Incredible!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — bathrooms
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank latavernegiroise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2008

We thought that this was the best of all the places we stayed at in the Cape. They have redone the rooms and the bathrooms completely and our room was great with all the amenities I could have wished for. The view was great, the staff was helpful and friendly. Everything was crisp and clean. We will definitly return.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lelanimoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2008

Of all the places we visited, we loved Wilderness and, especially, Mes Amis the most. An absolutely stunning location, clean, uncluttered rooms with all the amenities one could wish for (this was the only place to have and espresso coffee machine in the room!). The host, Gerhard, and the staff were all simply outstanding and we were given many useful hints regarding the surrounding area, food and so on. Breakfast at Mes Amis was spectacular. I have never experienced so much thought given to what is normally just a quick bite before starting the day. Here breakfast was a proper meal that saw us through almost until dinner! The one morning we were in a hurry, we "made do" with fresh fruit, freshly baked break and a muesli and yoghurt smoothie! Highly recommended - we still recall watching the sunset on our patio, sipping a glass of wine. We will be back next year!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank laliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.5 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
#8 of 57 in Wilderness
240 reviews
1.6 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 57 in Wilderness
247 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 57 in Wilderness
286 reviews
0.7 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#6 of 57 in Wilderness
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mes Amis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mes Amis

Property: Mes Amis
Address: Buxton Close | P.O.Box 200, Wilderness 6065, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mes Amis 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mes Amis is located in Wilderness right on the Wilderness beach. Elegant accommodation in 6 en suite rooms with private entrances and unsurpassed views of the Indian ocean. Rooms are equipped with safes, beach chairs, beach umbrellas, beach towels, robes and slippers, coffee and tea making facilities and TV with satellite channels. Free Wi-Fi Internet access available in all rooms. A full service a la carte breakfast is served in our breakfast room overlooking the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Mes Amis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing