We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely stunning!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waterside Lodge B&B, Wilderness
Ranked #31 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Bristol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

We stopped in Wilderness for one night on our way along the Garden Route at the end of January and after looking at a number of other places we decided to stay at the Waterside Lodge... To say that we had a brilliant time would be an under statement!

We were kicking ourselves for only booking one night at this B&B and were considering phoning ahead to say that we had car trouble!! We decided to spoil ourselves and stay in their honeymoon suite which is absolutely breathtaking in the flesh! The photos on the internet do not do it justice!!

The owners are absolutely lovely people and we had a lot of fun fussing their Collie Bill!! We instantly felt at home and were very well looked after in the short time that we stayed there!!

Next time we will be staying for more than one night in Wilderness and will not hesitate to stay at the Wilderness Lodge!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vickyo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    13
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
45
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

My Wife and I stayed at the Waterside Lodge for 3 nights in Knysna whilst on a trip to SA.

I was surprised at how quiet the lodge was with it being so near to the N2 road to Cape Town. A good chance to see a bit of bird life at the waters edge at the bottom of the garden

The staff, family run business, were very friendly and helpful and advised us of all the good attractions and places to dine in the area.

A trip to Monkey Land, Birds of Eden and the craft market in Sedgefield (saturdays) are a must. Lots of other attractions in the area as well to get out and see.

Restaurants we found to be of exceptional value and standards were, JJ's down at the Knysna waterfront and Pembry's.

The Lodge will book tables (Pembry's is a must for booking) upon request

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivorbend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

We have visit this place for 3 nights. We can only say that is was not only a lovely space but also very great hosts. Nora and Bert are so very nice people. The rooms are very good, the breakfast is delicious and the servic is outstanding.
Book here and you will not regret it!!

Steven and Kristy

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

What a find. Great room. Great breakfast. Great hostess.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alleynboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
317 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

Going to Wilderness?
No need to look any further!
You just found what can only be described as "heaven sent!"
Amazing accomodation.
Fabulous hosts.
A breakfast to die for!

I could go on and on and.......but I won't.
Just take my word for it!

Cheers,

MandY Derby

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandY1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs U/K
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2010

we stayed over travelling on the garden route what a find so friendly and the breakfast was lovely,it overlooks the lagoon and close to the beach,wished we could have stayed longer,if time allows go to eden adventures and canoe up the river to the waterfall walk , try the Girls restraunt dont be put off by the location by the garage ,would definatly stay again at waterside lodge , thanks paul and dorothy

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank paul195067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2010

we spent only 1 night at this nice place. The room has everything you need, the bed was perfect, so was the fantastic breakfast in the garden. The hosts were very nice and helpful and from our terasse we had a nice view overlooking the lagoon.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mellicarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.4 mi away
The Tops Guesthouse
The Tops Guesthouse
#25 of 56 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kingfisher Country House
Kingfisher Country House
#13 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cloverleigh Guest House
Cloverleigh Guest House
#27 of 56 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wilderness on Sea B&B and Self Catering
2.7 mi away
Hildesheim Guest House
Hildesheim Guest House
#10 of 56 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
#8 of 56 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Lodge B&B, Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Lodge B&B, Wilderness

Property: Waterside Lodge B&B, Wilderness
Address: 377 Waterside Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterside Lodge B&B, Wilderness 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the backdrop of a leafy mountain forest and overlooking the Wilderness Lagoon, Waterside Lodge B&B welcomes its visitors to stylish, comfortable and well appointed rooms, each having a private entrance, en-suite bath room and wooden veranda or patio - all with in walking distance of the golden beach, the lagoon and the charming Wilderness Village with it’s variety of restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Waterside Lodge B&B, Wilderness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing